Ratings based on 351 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Good hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The hotel had a convenient store.
Cons: Hotel needs new air filtration.
Location: Rio hotel was close to the new strip. I prefer the old strip (Golden Nugget).
I like the hotel. I didn't like the overwhelming smell of cigarettes.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Miami

Terrible Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Needs a lot of improvement
Location: Not really
It is nothing like the room showed in the picture at the time of the reservation, I Choose a King size with a view, I was put on a 4Th Floor (Animal Floor). A dog was barking all night, The bed was terrible not confortable, the bed sheets were dirty, the bathtub drain clogged, smoking floor. The personal of the hotel were not friendly. Las Vegas is a really nice city but the Rio Hotel really bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Clermont, FL

Loved the rooms, but...

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: I absolutely loved the quiet rooms and the view.
Cons: Offer more less-expensive food options. Sometimes, we're on the move and don't want to sit down and dine.
Location: There aren't many options available in the immediate walking area. If you stay here, plan on renting a car.
The room was great. We had an amazing view of the mountains North of Las Vegas, as well as the north end of the Strip. The reason I'm marking it down a notch is the limited food options. Everything is extremely expensive in the resort. There are not any fast food options. The shuttles are nice to get back and forth to the strip, but they can be a nuisance and waste a lot of valuable time. I would definitely return here, but would rent a car to do so.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from State College,PA

Old hotel, little away from Strip, but nice room

Posted Mar 18, 2017
It is an old hotel. Huge but old. Room was very nice( pretty large and clean). If you will spend your time on the strip, you should consider transportation( they have shuttle till 1am) I don't think I will repeat again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from MD

So VERY worth it!!!!

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: What didn't we like is more the question. No real negatives.
Cons: Ventilation on the Casino floor could be improved. It was okay but could be improved for non smoking visitors.
Location: Off the strip location.
Hubby & I have just returned from Vegas and our stay at the Rio! This is our 2nd stay there in two years. Having stayed at other hotels we can now compare. LOCATION....Yes, the Rio is off the the Strip but that is the reason it is so nice. None of the hustle and bustle, just a relaxed, fun atmosphere. ROOMS: The rooms/suites are large at 600 sq. feet.....giving you the feeling of a large condo. Plus, they are quiet. No hallway noise at all. CASINO: There is nothing lacking here either. Every game of chance is there including table games and slots. The only negatives...more ventilation needed for non-smoking patrons and missing the show that used to be up "in the sky" of the Casino years ago. Mardi Gras was all year long. Especially missed it this year as we were there during the time that the real Mardi Gras was going on in NOLA. RESTAURANTS etc: A place for any taste...the massive Buffet, the Sit Down Dinner and various dining options, Bars to watch sports and classy restaurants for those who want to dress to the nines and dance into the night. SERVICES: Self Parking is plentiful, Valet Parking is offered, Uber pickup location is offered and plenty of taxis, Free Shuttle Bus to Caesars and Harrahs. STAFF:the staff throughout the RIO is helpful, friendly and always happy. Consider the RIO next time you are coming to Vegas. You will not be sorry. We are looking forward to our next stay @ the RIO. Thanks for a great vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Bakersfield Ca.

Great Stay

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The shuttle over to the strip was very convenient with very good drivers.
Cons: Speed of checkout. Kiosk did not work for us because of deposit so we waited in line for 30 minutes.
Location: Shuttle opens up all your options
The room was great and the staff was very helpful. Great view and good accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Las Vegas NV

Hidden fees

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The room was gorgeous. It was listed as a mountain view but we had a view of half of the strip too which made for beautiful scenery. The resort has self check in via a kiosk which is confusing but a lot quicker than waiting in the long line at the desk. They said it's something new. When we checked out there was a hidden fee by the hotel. We were charged a Resort fee of around $65. I don't think that's legal so we're looking into it.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Terrible resaurants

Posted Feb 11, 2017
I expect expensive but when you combine awful with expensive, it ruins the whole stay. If the guy from Dinners, Driveins and Dives thinks his puke joint serves good food, I will never eat at a place he recommends. I rate this low based on the dining.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Indiana

Getting stale

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Large room was nice and
Cons: Mini bar in the room and a better smoke removal system.
Location: decent location but you really need to cab or uber anywhere. trips were quick and cheap.
The hotel is OK but everything is very dated and does not seem to be maintained well. I didn't hate it but it just feels worn and I will not go back. The bars were almost always full and it was hard to get a drink at times. On one occasion, I ended up going to the connivance store bought a few beers and came back before the line had moved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from IL

"Off" the strip.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Ease of getting from one end to the other
Cons: Housekeeping. One day 4 towels, next day 2. Had an issue with the closet door coming off track, told 2 people, and nothing was done.
Location: Off the strip, to us too far to walk. Had a car, but really no place to park. Need to take taxi or the hotel shuttle and then WALK
Very nice hotel...huge casino. Very nice restaurants. Room was great, although housekeeping could use a little improvement