Ratings based on 13 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Service, and snow play area.
Cons: Include a microwave would be great.
Location: Great location. Indoor Ice Skating Rink nearby. 10 minutes to Heavenly (snow traffic is why it took so long), casinos, or snowmobile.
There was a massive snow storm when we got there. The area by the beach had a huge snow playground for the kids. So this review is a bit biased because we were able to let the kids spend hours upon hours of playing in the snow while watching them from the balcony with a glass of wine. This hotel is average. The fireplace was a nice touch. It would have been better if there was a microwave, but that is really the only think that I could nit-pick on for the price. There were not enough towels when we first got there. We had four people but only two towels. I quick call to the front desk sourced an additional 6 towels for us, and they delivered it to us in 10 minutes. So service was great. The restaurant is closed at 11 am. My family moves slow, and we usually arrived at 10:55. They still served us with a smile. In fact some other families were later than us, and though they were supposed to close they stayed open for us. Carpet was a bit old and dingy. Probably not the highest grade carpet either. However it was relatively clean. Overall, I was happy with the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Sacramento

Beach Retreat

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Everything was great except front desk/housekeeping never answer their phones and when they did i was on hold for 30 minutes. Requested fresh towels and was told 2 different times they were on their way and we never received them. Pillows are like rocks. We ended up sleeping with no pillows because no pillows were better than theirs. But like i said everything else was absolutely great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Jose, CA

Room with a view and beach access

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Pros: View of the lake. Beach access. Shuttle to Heavenly. Great value.
Cons: Walking noise from the room above. Synthetic linens instead of 100% cotton. Room is a bit small. Skip the restaurant. Novelty hooks / coat hangers
Location: Heavenly shuttle Safeway + gas station with the cheapest gas around Pier Gambling Natural beaches Bike rental
We stayed before in this hotel. This time, it was in winter. We liked that it comes with a view of the lake and beach access while still being close to restaurants and Heavenly shuttle stop. The room is a bit small but OK. It has a gas fireplace and balcony to the lake. The bed had a duvet + 2 flat sheets and no cover. It was synthetic, not 100% cotton, which reduced our sleep comfort. At night, we used the A/C for heat. Its control was skewed so we needed to set it ~5 F below what the temperature we wanted. Novelty hooks / coat hangers, which look like what you tie a boat to, were inconvenient, as stuff would fall off and there were only 3. Strangely positioned incandescent light bulb was on the wall, part of the strange decor of the room. At odd hours of the night and very early morning, we could hear footsteps through the ceiling from the room upstairs, which made it harder to sleep well. We ate breakfast once at the restaurant and did not like the price nor the food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

Good and Bad

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The view and the walking distance to the pier.
Cons: Customer service. Although they were very friendly, they could do better.
Location: You can do water ski, boat pedal, paraglide or rent a boat. Prices are very reasonable compare to other places.
The view is wonderful. The food is good. There are a lot of things to do by the beach. Good for a family with small children. The rooms were very small and I was a little disappointed that they did not clean our room until very late.
2 out of 5
by hburke from La Habra CA

Terrible Service, nice location

Posted Aug 28, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, lake front
Cons: incompetent staff, lost reservations, small bathrooms
I stayed at the Best Western Timber Cove for my wedding. We had a group of approx 17 rooms for the weekend. First, the good: the location is to die for. Right on the lake, convenient to a lot of the things you want to do in the area. The first floor rooms have lovely sliding doors that open to great views and grassy areas. The bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately, these are the ONLY good things about it. Let's start with the room itself - pretty small, way too much furniture. We finally asked that the maintenance people take out the table because we could not move around. The bathroom is laughably small. No tub, just a small shower in a poorly lit stall. There was an odd smell when we arrived - we opened the sliding door most of the time, so it was ok, but my guess is it was from a dog (this is a dog friendly hotel), and if it was winter, or your were sensitive, it would be a problem. Now for the reservations. My wedding was in AUGUST. I contacted the hotel in March to arrange. I requested 20 rooms to be held. Tina (who is no longer with the hotel) informed me of the group rate, the complimentary breakfast, that my guests would be booked in the same "building" near each other, and that my rooms would be held until 30 days before my wedding - all my guests needed to do was mention our names and the wedding to be booked appropriately and have the correct rate. Sounds easy, right? nope... My guests had multiple problems booking rooms. Some were told that rooms were not available YET. Others that they were all taken. I was on the phone with Tina at least once every two weeks trying to get things taken care of for my guests. Tina was extremely hard to get in touch with. She did not return calls. However, I was able to confirm thing with her. She could not clarify why the front desk was having such a tough time with reservations, only that some people were "new". ok.... Anywhoo, being the detailed control freak I am, I called and emailed Tina 2 weeks before the wedding. We confirmed each of my guests reservations and special requests/room types (some needed first floor rooms). We went through the names on the list together, and we were all set. So, imagine my surprise when I arrived on the Wed prior to the wedding and asked if anyone was due in today. They told me three of my guests were due in, and then checking out on Friday .... um, the wedding is on Saturday. Nope, not correct. Two friends and my aunt's reservations were "mixed up". I asked to speak with Tina - oh, she is no longer employed here. ?!?!? Thanks for letting me know. Who is taking over? Lisa. Is Lisa available? No. Great ... The woman at the front was not able to fix the reservations, but told us to get settled and come back while they "figured it out"... ok.... back in an hour - oh, all figured out! Nope. It was terrible and embarrassing. They "lost" 4 additional guest reservations by the time people arrived, despite my standing at the front desk comparing my list to theirs. One was my aunt. They then stated that the room requested was not available. Then tried to up-charge her. Another guest was also informed that they would need to pay more for the room they booked 2 months before. I am so embarrassed that the hotel I picked would try to fleece my family and friends! To top it off: the "complimentary breakfast" is discontinued - they gave us vouchers, but not for the people whose reservations disappeared. They let someone charge a meal to my aunt's room by saying they were "with the wedding" though they were not. My parents had a problem with the sink. It rendered their room unusable and no one could fix it. All my guests were scattered throughout the hotel, despite multiple assurances that they would all be in the same area. Not one person from the staff checked on our party despite many problems, and no apologies were forthcoming. I wrote to the hotel, whose GM Peter responded with an odd letter about our stay, and saying we should have used is catering staff. Um, we had our wedding and reception somewhere else. And thank goodness! These people could not handle a wedding - they cannot even handle running a hotel! In summary: If not for the location, they would have been out of business LONG ago. Ridiculous. Do not trust them with any groups, special events, or anything!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Tahoe Presidents Weekend

Posted Feb 27, 2011
Enjoyed the stay at Timber Cove Lodge..... Nice room, great service ie: had a prob with TV and they came to the room and corrected it like immediately ! ! ! Breakfast each morning as stated .... They had eggs, bacon, baggels, coffee, tea, rolls, oatmeal, cereal ect Will recommend and would stay again !.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

good

Posted Jan 2, 2010
good service. reasonable prices. good location. well furnished rooms.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Lake Tahoe view

Posted Sep 29, 2009
We stayed one night at Lake Tahoe. The lobby was okay. The staff was friendly but not real helpful when asked about somewhere to eat. The place they reccommended was not what we asked for. The room we were given was 217, which anywhere else would have been on the second floor, however the numbering system at this location is terrible. We were actually in building two and on the third floor. The room was big and had a fireplace. The balconey was nice and had a great view overlooking the lake and the pier. We had a king size room and there was plenty of space. The room was clean but the building itself was old. The stairs were a little uneven and there was a terrible odor outside when we got up the next morning. It smelled like mold and sewage mixed. They did have nice breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Locale but comfort of beds bad

Posted Aug 20, 2009
This hotel on a public beach on the lake is great for access to the water. The rental boats are higher than the marina located ten minutes away on foot. Downside to this place is the little things: chaeap linens, too few blankets and too thin, thin towels and not enough. The biggest problem is the ""Queen" beds are very small for two adults. The mattresses are hard and the overall sleeping was difficutl and painful to awken to. Invest in some decent beds. This place is 1.6 miles from Stateline and it's a bit of a walk. Safeway across the street is nice but rooms have no microwave nor refrigerator. If the beds were comfortable I'd give the place a real better rating. Oh and please stop shillingfor a time share right n the lobby at arrival. The Welcome package is nothnig mroe than going to some crappy 90 minute presentation for "gifts" that are not worth it.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

would not recommend

Posted Jan 12, 2008
Upon or arrival we were told our room was not ready, asked if we could come back in 45 min. yet they were letting other people check in. when we came back 90 min later, room still not ready. When we finally got our room, we got a room with very little view of the lake even though we were told we have a view. Also room next door, could come right in if you left your window open at night. Wedding going on both nights and very noisy, did not tell us this was going on. $ pricy for the service we got, would not stay again nor would I recommend. Complained to manager and nothing was done.