Ratings based on 2,460 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice complex, with some drawbacks

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Complex is expansive; tram and boat service are useful but slow to get around the grounds. Rooms are good sized and relatively modern. Beds/furnishings were average. Kona pool was nice, Kohala pool was small; both are unheated so were cold on windy days. Grounds were well-tended and clean. Restaurant options were very limited for such a big hotel. Close to King's Shops and Queen's Marketplace for eating/shopping options. No sandy beach, other than the small lagoon, onsite, but nice beaches are close by. Was quite fun to see the dolphins as part of DolphinQuest program in the hotel lagoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Damascus, OR

Excellent !!!!

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Me and my wife had a amazing time ! This place is a dream come true. It has all the amenities that you can ask for, beautiful sunsets, great atmosphere, and a very memorable place to visit !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Southern Oregon

Probably the nicest LARGE resort on the Big Island

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: The friendly staff, the beautiful gardens and lagoons.
Cons: Don;t change a thing.
Location: The resort is located in a "cluster" of a few other resorts , about 20 miles from the Kona Airport, surrounded by lava fields. Drive out and explore!
The Hilton Waikoloa Village presents a good compromise between a large "family-oriented resort" (noisy and crowded with youngsters) and a smaller, "boutique hotel/resort" for couples looking for peace and quiet, but with the many choices for dining as well as activities, all in one place. The Waikoloa Village is HUGE, but with the quiet, on-site electric tram running frequently from one end of the resort to the other in addition to the passenger boats, there is no real transportation problem getting from one place to another, even for older vacationers who prefer to walk as little as possible. The dining choices vary from super-casual "coffee and croissant" nooks to the magnificent Kamuela Provision Company "steak house" that rivals the quality of any on the island, including a world-famous one in Kona. Our room on this stay was in the Ocean Tower, which we have always felt was the quietest of the three towers. A wonderful stay as usual. I may not be a Kamaaina yet, but I have been coming to Hawaii since 1957. Yes, 60 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Hotel and amenities were superb.

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Just a well maintained property which offers so much.
Cons: Nothing really comes to mind.
Location: Location is far enough removed from "town" yet all parts of the Island are easily accessible from the property with a significant amount of driving.
My wife who is ill thoroughly enjoyed the dolphin experience and the people associated with it. They were kind, understanding, and totally committed to her having the best experience possible. She has continually commented "one of the best experiences of her life". We were also extremely pleased with the amenities of the property, dining, activities etc. which pretty much indicate one does not have to leave the property and still have a wonderful time, although we did leave to see Kilauea, the farmers market in Hilo and several other interesting aspects of the Big Island. Although I have personally visited the Big Island several times, it was my wife's first visit and she is now convinced this island is her favorite of all the Hawaiian Islands.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from san francisco

Nice Resort for couples

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Expedia
It's a great place for couples to vacation but not good for families using strollers or elderly for accessibility. Most places have stairs difficult for elderly and families to use with strollers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Betehsda, MD

Fun for the kids

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: The lagoon, swimming pools and hot tubs were all great places to relax. The burgers and pizza at the hotel were delicious.
Cons: Hard to find towels after 6:30pm even though the pool is open until 10pm. Rooms could be updated and modernized.
Location: Great location, amazing sunsets and shops and nice beaches nearby.
Last stayed at this hotel 14 years ago and it is pretty much the same. Still beautiful grounds and artwork, but the rooms need updating. The lagoon is great and the kids had fun swimming with the sea turtles. Wonderful sunsets as well from the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Atlanta

For the price they could update the rooms and faci

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Expedia
For what I paid things could have been a little more up to date and the tram takes way to long. Food is way way over priced. Only good thing I found with the food service was the ladies at the Kona Tap Co they were friendly and made a great drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Oak Harbor, WA

Luxury

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Expedia
We loved our stay! We felt so honored and welcomed! Very nice rooms, views, amenities and dining
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Boston, MA

Large, family friendly resort

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Location was good. Pool and waterslide were great for kids. Lots of restaurant options and activities.
Cons: Prices were high, even for Hawaii. Resort fee doesn't cover parking, which is another $27/day. 15% service charge added for take out pizza.
Location: About a 35 min drive from Kona airport. There are 2 malls close to the hotel with restaurants and shops. Short drive to other nearby resorts.
We stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa Village for six nights in August. Second trip to the Big Island, but first time at the Hilton. The hotel is very large and spread out over multiple buildings. Our room was in the Palace Tower, which is a 7-10 min walk from the lobby and 10-15 mins from the main pool. The hotel has a tram and boats to get you between the buildings, but they are pretty slow and the waits can be long. We used them when we were checking in and out with luggage or when we could catch them, but it's usually faster to walk. One downside to the Palace tower is that there are no restaurants/shops in the tower. The nearest coffee shop is in the Ocean tower, a 5 min walk. There's an Italian/pizza restaurant fairly close (maybe a 2 minute walk). Our room was nice, fairly spacious and looked to have been updated recently. There was a small lanai overlooking the golf course with a partial view of the ocean. We spent most of our time at the Kona pool which is near the Lagoon Tower. Very large pool with a lot of lounge chairs but almost no shade at all. To get any shade you have to rent a cabana, which are very expensive and seat only two people. A few umbrellas would have been nice, since it got very hot on the pool deck in the afternoon. We at at the Lagoon Grill most afternoons. Service was quick and the food was decent. But everything is a la carte, so you're paying $2 extra for fries on top of an already expensive burger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Room needs to be updated.

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Expedia
Overall stay was great. Excellent staff!!!! Rooms need to be updated re: popcorn ceilings! Thank you.