Ratings based on 1,286 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.1 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by brian

Location location location

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
Location location location. Older hotel, a little dated and rough around the edges, but great location in the heart of things. Staff was really nice, clean. I'd stay again for the price and location with free parking. 3rd and 4th floor can see the ocean over the roofs across the way.
4 out of 5
by Kathi

close and fun

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
Located right in downtown Kona with a very nice restaurant across the street on the bay. We needed a place not far from the Kona Airport and this truly fit the bill
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Expedia
It was good for crazy expensive Kona. I liked the pool. Breakfast was nothing special but very nice to have. Room also good, I liked how the hotel is set so all rooms face the ocean or garden up front.
1 out of 5
by Joseph

Beautiful hotel, good location but very dirty.

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
From outside, the hotel is gorgeous. In the room, I never saw a room as dirty as that. I went to the receptionist to tell her to come and see the dirty. She believed us right away. She gave us another room. It was a little bit less dirty that the other.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017 on Expedia
Wonderful staff, the fridge didn't work, but overall clean and good for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Expedia
Basic hotel for 1 night w/ free breakfast. Th S was our hotel for 1 night b4 we move to our condo for a week. Staff was great!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from San Diego

Disappointing hotel close to beach

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Expedia
Dirty used towels upon arriving, cockroaches, and other people's belongings on floor, dirty curtains. Staff were great, actual facilities were disgusting. Only stayed one night.
4 out of 5
by Anne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from texas

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Update rooms and furnishings
Location: Fishing, shopping, touristy stuff
A one night stay, beds good, bathroom small, good breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha and Mahalo for staying with us at Kona Bay Hotel. We are also very happy to note that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, and appreciate your understanding at this time. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again, and look forward to that time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from OAHU

walking distance to restaurants and /eating places

Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: early breakfast with fresh island fruits
Cons: better WIFI an INTERNET
Location: NICE BEACHES/WALKING DISTANCE
safe family LACATION/BEACHES SAFE FOR KIDS/SWIMMING POOL CLEAN
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us! We take pride in showing each and every one of our guest's the best time possible. We look forward to your next visit! Mahalo