Ratings based on 1,217 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler from brisbane

Don't stay here !!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I have been to cheap old hotels here and there however this would have to be one of the top 3 worst hotels ever. Location is great , that's it!!! Rooms are disgustingly old and dirty or simply worn, carpet smells, bathroom can't tell if they are clean or not and nothing works. We were changed three times with air conditioning problems but that is not the reason for a bad review, it can happen. It's simply too old and in desperate need of a renovation. It had mini cockroaches in the room. If you can stay elsewhere do it.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from San Diego

Average

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: price
Cons: better room selection. Reservations were made 3-5 days in advance
Location: ok
We reserved 2 superior rooms. Unfortunately they were on the 3d floor and no elevator, my uncle who is 80 had a very difficult time climbing the stairs. The management didn't seem to care,
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kona Bay Hotel. Any review we receive are read and discussed to ensure all issues are addressed through the proper channels. It is very important to us that our staff exude the essence of aloha to each and every one of our guests, and we are disappointed that your staff experience was less than the standards expected of our Kona Bay Hotel employees. We truly believe in giving the guest the most wonderfully memorable experience possible, and consistently refresh our staff on this golden rule. We sincerely apologize for any confusion regarding the location of the elevator, as we do have one that can access all levels of the hotel. If you would like to speak to other management regarding this issue, please feel free to contact us. . We are very happy to note that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, and appreciate your understanding at this time. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again, and look forward to that time. Mahalo for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Expedia
Close to everything and airport is only 10-15 minutes away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Mahalo for the review! We always loving hearing from our guests. We hope to see you again soon at Kona Bay Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Uncle Billy's is always the first hotel I choose
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017
Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at Kona Bay Hotel. We always strive to give our guests the best and most memorable experience possible, and we are so pleased we were able to make your stay excellent. Thank you, and we hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Disappointing Stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Wotif
The room was serviced daily but overall cleaness of the room was dirty - dont look under the beds or in the cupboards. When checking out 3 staff were dealing wirh a complaint from 1 perdon in the end i had to be asked to be served so i could get to the airport this also was a shambles. I would mot stsy here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha, We are very sorry to hear your stay with us was less than the standards we expect at Kona Bay Hotel. Any and all complaints are directed to the proper department, and I can assure you this issue will be addressed promptly. I would like to add that we are currently undergoing renovations, and appreciate your understanding at this time. Mahalo
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Great location but

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Expedia
Run down. Excellent staff! Very polite and professional. Poor breakfast. Ant issue in our room. Horrible wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Kona Bay Hotel. We are terribly sorry to hear that your experience was less than the standards we expect, and will address the issue directly. We are currently renovating our hotel wifi, and I do apologize if during your stay you experienced a lapse in service. We are constantly trying to give each and every one of our guests the most pleasant experience possible, and we are sorry that you had a less than desirable stay. I can assure you that these concerns will be addressed promptly by the supervising department. Thank you, and we do hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Irvine, CA

Location is good, but hotel is old and dirty

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Expedia
The location of the hotel is close to beach and shopping area. But the hotel is so outdated, room is dusty, dirty and very outdated. I wash all my clothes after staying at this hotel. Kids got multiple inset bites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha, We are so thankful you booked your stay with us at Kona Bay Hotel. We are constantly trying to improve the experience of our guests, and ensure that all guest's concerns, requests, and comments are addressed promptly. It is important to us that our staff exude the essence of aloha to each and every one of our guests, and it is wonderful to hear that those efforts have paid off. We sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations on this visit regarding your room, and do hope that the front desk was able to help you regarding your concerns. We are also very happy to note that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, and appreciate your understanding at this time. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again, and look forward to that time. Mahalo for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by James

Facility needs renovating, water turned off

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Reserved a king room but got 2 doubles but didn't go back to the desk, we were tired and only staying one night. Asked for and given a late check out, 2 pm, but all the water was turned off at 1 pm. Water in our daughters room also went off at 1 pm. Facility serviceable but old and tired, needs a major overhaul.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Vancouver, BC

Convenient location but some amenities lacking

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: location, price
Cons: service, wifi, AC
Hotel is right in the middle of the main Kona drag so everything is within walking distance: shops, waterfront, restaurants, bars, etc. Room was clean but quite outdated. Lots of available parking but it is extra ($5+tax per day!). Hotel staff were not well trained or not too attentive to their tasks. Information we gave to the afternoon shift staff was not related to the morning shift staff so things got chaotic and confused. Wifi was VERY spotty. We had to hang out by the lobby just to be able to read emails and text messages! Even though we booked 4 adults to a room, only 2 sets of towels were provided and we had to walk to the lobby to get additional towels. If a hotel charges extra for each guest beyond 2 per room, then we expect proper service! Only 2 settings worked on the AC thermostat: OFF and LOW. The low setting made such a racket it was difficult to sleep through it. But then, the room was too hot without the AC!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha, we are very sorry to hear that your experience was less than what we strive for at Kona Bay Hotel. We completely agree with you regarding your number of guests and the room being properly supplied. Your concern has been addressed with hotel management to ensure this does not happen again, and we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience. I do hope that any other concerns were addressed at front desk, and they were able to ameliorate the issue for you. I am happy to note that both the wifi and rooms are undergoing renovations, and we appreciate your understanding at this time. Thank you for your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Uncle Billy's was awesome, the room was fantastic and staff was great ,'I will definitely stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017
Aloha and thank you so much for your kind words. We at Kona Bay Hotel strive to give each and every guest the best and most memorable experience possible, and it is lovely to see we shined for you. Thank you, and we hope to see you again soon!