Ratings based on 13 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.1 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler from brisbane

Don't stay here !!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I have been to cheap old hotels here and there however this would have to be one of the top 3 worst hotels ever. Location is great , that's it!!! Rooms are disgustingly old and dirty or simply worn, carpet smells, bathroom can't tell if they are clean or not and nothing works. We were changed three times with air conditioning problems but that is not the reason for a bad review, it can happen. It's simply too old and in desperate need of a renovation. It had mini cockroaches in the room. If you can stay elsewhere do it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from lakeland fl

Love the location

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The hotel needs some updates and fixing but it was not a bad experience love the location and had a great services there
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha, We are so thankful you booked your stay with us at Kona Bay Hotel. We are constantly trying to improve the experience of our guests, and ensure that all guest's concerns, requests, and comments are addressed promptly. We are currently in the process of renovations, and appreciate your understanding at this time. Mahalo for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to see you again soon
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Louisiana

Great location but need easy/minor things repaired

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location GREAT!!!
Cons: INTERNET FIXED!! Bathroom door repair-just painted over, Main door bottom gap ,Curtains not attached at top, Shower head replace, Patio door scratches
Location: Right in middle of all the shops/restaurants on Ali Drive. Small beach areas within walking distance. 1-2 excursions leave from boat dock close by.
Late arrival Sat night. .Clock missing power cord, bathroom not cleaned, curtains unattached at top and wouldnt fully close. Alternate room offered no better. Front desk girl came up and cleaned bathroom and changed clock out. Internet was unable to be accessed the MAJORITY of the time. Wound up having to go to front desk and lady using her own phone internet to check us in for our return flight home. Luckily we only required bed to sleep few hours a day and shower to bathe so we dealt with issues but for the price, felt it should have been in better condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from LA

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Can't ask for a better location. Clean room, comfortable beds. Close to food, shopping and excursions. Will absolutely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Nc

Close to all activity

Posted May 19, 2016
Family urged us to change hotels, but we did not,due to reservation. Outside appearance, and people hanging around, gave us pause. Elevator was extremely dirty, another pause. Security personnel said it was ok. So, I checked the room and it was lovely, clean, offered all of the amenities, and a king sized bed. All was good. Front desk was very pleasant. Some friends would not appreciate the recommendation,due to outside appearances!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from usa

looked better in daylight

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: roach infestation needs to be addressed
I really wanted to like this place. Hotel seemed fine when we checked in. Room appeared basic but adequate for our purposes. Woke in the night to find roaches crawling on the walls, killed 2-3 . Again woke in the am more roaches crawling in the room. Told the front desk person as I checked out. The only, entire response was ok I can write a work order. No apology or surprise about the conditions.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago

Good location and most of the staff was nice.

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything needs to be improved!
In a good location and most of the staff was pleasant and helpful other than that Uncle Billy’s has nothing going for it. In most budget hotels you’ll find mix n match furniture, outdated décor, and few amenities. I’m fine with that but this place is a DUMP. Dirty and in disrepair, wouldn’t stay there again if they paid me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A traveler from Austin, tx

Uncle billie and Kona

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: The staff aim hard to please. The are warm and want to be helpful. Very much appreciated.
Cons: For the price, I don't think they need to do anything. Think of it as a weird hotel 6 plunked down in a great location. It is kind of seedy but clean.
Location: great restaurants, bars and dive shops.
pretty much central to the kona beach area and mostly European visitors. I was there during Ironman and so hotel rooms were scarce. I had two bags and had a dive trip planned and instead of putting my bags in storage (they don't appear to have any) they checked me into a room 4 hours early. Very nice of them. This hotel is near great bars and restaurants. Pretty much anything worth doing in the city of Kona is within walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from South Carolina

Old and musty

Posted Oct 2, 2015
The room smelled musty and the sheets felt damp even though air conditioning was running. Lamp did not work and there was no remote for the TV. Someone did come right away to remedy situation. Some of the woodwork was warped from moisture. Big fee for Internet. Older TV where color was mostly green.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Eugene, Oregon

A good location for a place to stay in a pinch.

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly, it was close to the beach and shops and had a continental breakfast.
Cons: A cleaner bathroom and get ride of the mildew smell.
Location: The hotel is walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops.
The rug in the room was damp and the room smelt heavily of mildew. I hoped I would not feel sick. Also, the bathroom was not clean. My reservation got messed up and now I have to deal with Travelocity to hopefully not get charged twice. It was a nice location and had a nice pool. The grounds are attractive and it's close to the beach.