Ratings based on 2,618 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from california

Good location, hotel needs renovations

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Location, farewell ceremony, bell staff
Cons: Guest room renovations
Location: Excellent location, snorkeling, shopping w/in walking distance
Upon check in the lady said she didn't have a reservation under my name & grilled me about which Kaanapali hotel I'm staying at. I showed her my printed itinerary & she said, well you are at the right hotel, let me look again. Miraculously this time she did find my reservation. She then asked for the other adults ID in addition to mine but printed out some paperwork w/a completely different first name for the other adult. So odd. She then asked who where the kids & proceeded to ask my children for their names & how old they are. The whole checkin was incredibly frustrating & odd. So much for first impressions. The room smelled funny, was tiny w/a postage size toilet & standup shower w/a pocket door that kept sliding itself open. No privacy in there. Thin walls so you can hear your neighbors conversations, squishy uncomfortable beds. Minimal pillows & towels given, I needed to request more as they had only given us 2 for a party of 4. We didn't eat onsite as every time I walked by there it smelled like something rotting, Pros: the location is great, bell staff is very helpful, free live music, nice farewell ceremony.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Manager at KBH, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We apologize for the frustration and disappointment you experienced. Guest feedback is something that we value and take very seriously. We are working continuously to improve and enhance the guest experience and are committed to investing in improvements to our property. We appreciate your comments regarding the Aloha of our staff and the beautiful location of our hotel. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Expedia
Excellent price, old hawaiiana charm. Staff was excellent. Electric car charge station available. Pool area is spacious and the Tiki Bar and Tiki Grill have good service. Get the onion rings!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Seattle

Disappointed

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: close to beach, restaurants, Whaler's village
Cons: Renovate rooms, don't nickel and dime people
I'd like to start by saying my wife and I stayed on Kauai during our last visit to the Islands, so we already had a certain expectation in mind, which is why we were a little disappointed. For the price, it was cheaper than most hotels on Kaanapali Beach but I'm sure it's like anything; you get what you pay for. It wasn't a horrible hotel, but little things started to add up and eventually led me to this somewhat negative review. Examples: Room was in need of renovation (peeling wallpaper in numerous locations, outdated), small cockroaches in bathroom area, bathroom layout was frustrating to say the least (shower and toilet in same extremely cramped little room about 6'x3' with only a pocket door that didn't lock and had a 1" opening to see through), view from patio was of a cyclone fence. Do not let the "No Resort" fee fool you... You will pay for everything! Parking- $12/day, make a local phone call- $.75, your wife and son just open the safe to look at it on two separate occasions- $3.00, want a chair for the beach- $30/day. Like I said, I guess we were spoiled at our last resort, as all of these were included. On a positive note, the beach was excellent. There are multiple restaurants within walking distance. Whaler's village is close. Staff was friendly and grounds were well maintained. Pool was a little small, but the ocean is right there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Manager at KBH, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Guest feedback is vitally important to us. Our goal is to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations, and it seems we did not accomplish this goal. We will share your feedback with the management staff. We believe our commitment to continuously invest in improvements to our property will enhance our guest's experience. We do appreciate your comments regarding the Aloha of our staff and the beautiful location of our hotel. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
5 out of 5
by Maureen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New Zealand

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Expedia
Great location to beach. Rooms probably need an update but are ok
5 out of 5
by Kathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Oakland California

My Bucket List.

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Happy and polite staff, a great little outdoor bar and snack shack, pool, garden, and convenience to the beach and everything!
Cons: Better WiFi connection out in the lobby area, where the bell men are, and you wait to pick up drop off service........
Location: Black Rock for diving, and snorkeling just to the right of the KBH, The Whalers Village and beach side restaurants to the left of KBH! Just Awesome!
This was the best experience I have ever had! The Hotel was the most comfortable and convenient to all! The beach, The Black Rock for diving, snorkeling, The Whalers Village, and not to mention the dining restaurants that were on the beach! As well as the conveniences of activities on the beach! Parasailing, Catamaran sailing...... And the best sandy beach!........ If you are not looking for big expensive resorts, since all you are going to do is sleep in the room; the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel is the best hotel with the included sources of a restaurant, and outdoor 'snack shack', and bar by the pool; This is the hotel for you! I loved it! I was not overcrowded like the big resorts could be! This is my new dream 'resort' hotel!.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Manager at KBH, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking a moment to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and took full advantage of our premier location right on Ka’anapali Beach. Our goal is to make your vacation a lifelong memory full of Aloha and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
5 out of 5
by Barbara

canoes in Ka`anapali

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
an absolutely gorgeous and convenient location, lovely grounds and simple, local service and amenities made for a great paddling race weekend in Ka`anapali
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Very nice, reasonably priced hotel.

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Expedia
Stayed for only two days but the room was comfortable, clean and the grounds were well kept. Lots of restaurants and shopping within walking distance at Whalers Village.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Incline Village

Family welcoming total Hawaiian resort

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Location, friendly staff, Hawaiian atomosphere
Cons: Upgrade Molokai wing
Location: Snorkeling, shopping, golf, trail walking/jogging,
Friendly accommodating staff. Large uncrowded grass area for lounging. Wide beach with snorkeling area nearby. Easy access to beach walk and shopping area with great restaurants. Best value on Kaanapali area..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Manager at KBH, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking a moment to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our beautiful location on Ka'anapali Beach. We pride ourselves on value and our goal is to make your vacation a lifelong memory full of Aloha. We look forward to welcoming you back again!