Ratings based on 2,770 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Nicehotel close to beach

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: The location is the best and the lay out of the hotels is fabulous. Many great views from this location.
Cons: More restaurant choices and some updating in the rooms.
Location: I love the location on Kaanapali. I would recommend this resort based on the location.
This was my third visit to this hotel. My first visit was when it was built and then my second visit was in 1997. I read the reviews before booking and many reviews mentioned the condition of the property as being worn. I was reluctant to stay at the Hyatt on this visit because of these reviews but I know this is a great facility in a great location so I gave it a third try. The reviews are correct and for a first class resort the condition of the rooms are average at best. The positives are the location and overall for the price it was still a great vacation. We had one bad experience when we were checking out. The check out time on the door and on our itinerary was 12 noon. Since we had a late flight we wanted to stay as long as possible. The front desk insisted the checkout was 11am and they made us feel they were doing us a favor to allow a 12 pm checkout. They told us they had a guest coming in at 12 pm. We'll check in is 4 pm. If you ever tried to check in early at a resort you know how hard it is to get in before check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Pa

Awesome location, right on the beach.

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: The views were spectacular. Very clean and beautiful. Location was perfect
Cons: The pool area could use more chairs. If you find/claim a chair early in the morning, you were out of luck for the day.
Location: Great shopping in town 2 miles away. We swam with sea turtles right in front of the hotel.
Great stay. The stay at the hotel was paradise. The place looked like something out of a post card.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your 5-star review, Aaron! We're honored you thought our resort looked like something our of a post card, and we're so glad you had a great stay with us. Come back and see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Hampshire, England

Stunning outdoor areas, but outdated rooms.

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Expedia
We've stayed at Hyatt hotels all around the world and like what they offer. This hotel is in a prime location and our first impression at check in were that we could expect the same quality as usual. We were then disappointed when we saw our room, as although large and clean the decor was very old fashioned and the bathroom was very small and dated. However the next morning when exploring the pool area and gardens all was forgotten, as they are stunningly kept and the scenery is beautiful. The service was given with a smile every day. My only other criticism was that we could not arrange a late check out, even though we were willing to pay for it. Their only suggestion was to pay for spa passes so that we could shower there before heading to the airport. Be pregnant meant this was wasted on me, and seemed a ridiculously expensive way of having a shower!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. We're thrilled you had a great stay with us and that you found our grounds and the views beautiful. We've shared your comment regarding the late check-out with our management team. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope you'll come back and visit us again. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice location; worn facilities

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Location; beach; grand lobby
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms; supervisory spot checks on vacuuming; ensure safes are working properly before guest arrivals; breakfast area cleaning
Location: Wonderful beach and pool areas; lovely views
Great beach location and views; pricey for cafeteria style breakfasts; worn facilities; not as clean as should be
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're delighted you had a great stay and that you liked our pool and beautiful views. We've shared your specific comments with our Housekeeping team. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Dallas, Texas

Air Conditioning Price of Food & Drinks

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Expedia
Air conditioning was sub par. The hotel uses a chilled water system that did not keep the room cool. I am not certain why hotel would use a system such as this. We had to contact maintenance on 2 occasions to override a motion sensor that cut off the ac when no motion was detected in room. Room temperature was not as cool as it should be. Prices were extreme on food and drink. I understand the need to cover cost and make a profit but even a simple breakfast or lunch was unreasonably expensive as well as the price of parking. My fiancée and I quickly learned to drive into Lahaina where we could enjoy a nice dinner at a fraction of the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Keith and thank you for reviewing your recent Maui vacation. We're sorry to hear we did not exceed all of your expectations during your stay. Your specific comments regarding the air conditioning and our food have been shared with the management staff. We hope you'll consider visiting us again and allow us another opportunity to impress you. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Expedia
Beautiful hotel with great amenities. Shops, dining, activities, and a 24 he pool. We will visit again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your 5-star review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our many resort amenities. Come back and see us again soon! Mahalo.
4 out of 5
by Balbir

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you for your review, Balbir! We're thrilled you had an amazing time! Come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
by Jacey Shumaker

Amazing resort - would stay again in a snap

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great 2 night stay in Maui at the Hyatt. Great unit, beautiful views, amazing pool, spectacular beach, nice restaurants, all around great place to stay for a family of 4 (2 teenage daughters). We would return in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review, Jacey! It's wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a great stay and that you thought our views were beautiful. We're thrilled you liked our pools and our restaurants. We can't wait to welcome you back. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from michigan

August 13-21 stay at Maui Hyatt.

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: pool, layout
Cons: better breakfast options
Location: Snorkel and shop. time on the beach!
Wonderful pool and great snorkeling not far down the beach! Lots of fish and turtles. Food options pricey. Great location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Don, and thank you for your 5-star review! We're delighted you enjoyed our pools and had a good time snorkeling. We've shared your comment regarding better breakfast options with our Culinary team. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from ramcho mirage ca

Beautiful grounds and greet location

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Expedia
Views were excellent and staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean but could use a bit of a facelift. A little outdated (bathrooms) Didn't want to leave when it was time to go. Would return to this property !
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Jayne and thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Maui. We're delighted you had a great stay and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. Come back and visit us again soon! Mahalo.