Ratings based on 136 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from CA

Rip Off

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: The beach, which was provided by nature, not the hotel.
Cons: Renovate the whole property. Even our sliding door would not close all the way. The furniture was beat up
Location: Kaanapalli Beach is great, but not the Hayatt.
The entire property needs renovation. It is falling apart. The food was average at best and very expensive. Should have eaten at Cheese Burgers in Paradise and Denny's instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

awesome hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Great experience! Staff are wonderful!!! Though there was a Kia every night right outside our window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your 5-star review! We're thrilled you had a great experience and found our staff wonderful. Come back and visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Ground are nice. Right on the beach.

Posted May 5, 2017
The hotel is older could use some updates. The included breakfast option not worth it, the food is so so. Go somewhere else to eat. The pools are nice and they were updating get a slide during our stay. They do allow you to use the pools next door at their timeshare property as well. Pools are open 24 hours. They try to sell you too. Staff was nice and professional. The concierge was very helpful setting up things to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Anna! Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our concierge was able to assist you in setting up activities during your visit. We consistently focus on preventative maintenance in all of our guest rooms to ensure our room product stays in the best shape possible. With that being said, we do have rooms that wear quicker than others which we are always working to stay ahead of with our housekeeping and engineering teams. We have shared your comment regarding the buffet breakfast with our culinary team. Thank you for taking the time to bring it to our attention. Come back soon and try our slide. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Francisco

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location, ambience, oppulence, proximity to the beach, brach access, breakfast, wi-fi
Cons: The sales tactics for "selling" Hyatt Residence Club felt a little uncomfortable and these people were strategically placed and hard to avoid.
Location: Location on Kaanapali Beach so beach access was excellent as was "black rock" for snorkeling. Nearby restaurants in Lahaina was an easy 10 min drive
The hotel ambience was excellent and of a very high quality and opulence. However, I wish that that would translate to the rooms themselves. The rooms were good but did not match the ambience of the lobby. Pool facilities were excellent with plenty of towels available. Breakfast in the "swan" restaurant was pricey but very good with plenty of options and one would not go hungry guaranteed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Raju! Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good time at our pool. We are delighted you had a good breakfast experience in Swan Court and liked the food options. Come back and visit us again soon! Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Staff was friendly, close to the beach and ocean, clean, beautiful lookouts to the ocean, and just an overall great resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location and grounds beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from illinois

Great location and property

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The property is very nice-well kept and staff is always pitching in to make it looks nice. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. Food is pretty good throughout. The staff is more than accommodating and very friendly. In other reviews the residence membership pitches weee pushy- we did not find that at all. The penquins in the main atrium are cute and not to be misssed. The pools are nice but crowded- they could do something about towel saving chairs as that is hard for other guests and chairs are covered sometimes for hours with others having to go to the beach or split up. overall a great stay. The greeting with leis is very nice too! Only one of three hotel stays that provided that Hawaiian touch!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Renee! Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and our many resort amenities. We are delighted you found our staff friendly and very accommodating. We have shared your comment regarding the towel saving chairs at the pool with our resort team for further review. Come back and visit us soon! Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
The hotel is one of the best anywhere. After a long day traveling, the easy-going manner of desk staff helped transition us to vacation mode. The rooms are large and bright, beds are very comfortable and facilities are clean. The hotel boasts many interesting architectural features and well-placed art objects; the lobby includes a penguin den. The breakfast at the Sonz restaurant is outstanding, with a great variety of fruits, egg dishes, meats, salmon, breads and even soup. The beachfront location is great and a pathway is well-situated for strolling along the shore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Benjamin P., Hotel Management
Aloha, and thank you for your five-star review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant check-in experience. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our decor and the cuisine at Son'z. We hope to welcome you back again, soon. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington, DC

Still nice, but a step down from previous stays

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location on Kaanapali Beach
This is the fourth time we have stayed here since 2009 (2013 was the last time) and although it was very nice, it was far below previous experiences. Our room with a king bed and pull out sofa was perfect for two adults and a child, but the common facilities did not live up to our expectations. Several parts were under renovation, including Sonz, which used to be the breakfast restaurant. The new breakfast area was much more crowded and breakfast was not as good (no omelette station.) The whole place felt much more crowded, almost no seats at the pool if you come in the afternoon, very very few seats with any shade at all. Practically anywhere I tried to sit was next to a construction site, including the main open area next to lobbby, side area overlooking garden. Not sure if it has anything to do with the new timeshare, which was not there the last time we visited, but it seemed like there were about 30% more people than was appropriate for the facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Benjamin P. , Hotel Management
Aloha Grace, thank you for your review. As a frequent guest, your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We're sorry to hear we did not meet all of your expectations during your stay. We are currently undergoing renovations in an effort to be the prestigious property you remember. We hope to welcome you back once our remodel is complete to enjoy our newly upgraded facilities. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Chicago

This hotel has it all

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The slide in the pool, the beach, the penguins, the fitness center.
Cons: The pool was definitely too deep in most places, so it made it hard to hang out in it. Also, housekeeping came too late in the day.
Location: The location was great. Front Street is a fun area to shop and go out to eat.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt. It was definitely a high end hotel in terms of amenities. We enjoyed having the pool right by the beach, and the workout facility was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Benjamin P., Hotel Management
Aloha Kathy! Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax by the beach. We look forward to your next stay. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Melbourne Beach, Fl

Hyatt no service

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: The pool size and design.
Cons: Staff could be much friendlier, prices could be reduced, the assignment of larger rooms for four people.
Location: Had to take the trolley or bus to reach most shopping areas which tend to be in Lahinia
Service was minimal, room size for 4 persons was ridiculously small, and there was a $50 per person per night charge by the hotel for additional 2 persons. Drinks and food were very expensive. It was very difficult to have your own drink by the pool or on the beach! The size of the pool and the outdoor bar were nice but could get really crowded at sports event times. Overall, I would find a condo to rent the next trip as this hotel is aging and the times and wishes of travelers have out grown its facilities. The emphasis is on their Hyatt Residence timeshare facility next door.