Ratings based on 1,386 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Kingsley, IA

Excellent resort

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The amenities are second to none.
Cons: The room service could have been better, our room was only cleaned 2 times in our 7 day stay. And we had to ask for fresh towels a couple times
Location: It is located very close to kapalua bay (our favorite beach and where we got married) Also very close to the historic Lahaina district.
Honua Kai is an amazing resort. This is the second time we have stayed here. We plan on coming back here in another 5 years and plan on brining our kids. This is a very family friendly resort
5 out of 5
by kathleen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Great location for swimming.

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Expedia
Great location for swimming and snorkling. Dukes restaurant on site. Bbq on premises. Full kitchen. Can get 2 king size beds. Staff-ok. Grocery store in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Francisco

Comforts of home with an amazing view

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Location, clean and comforable.
Location: Beach, restaurants, ease to travel all parts of the island.
This resorts offers the comforts of home with an amazing view and location. No need to travel far to a pool, restaurant or beach. Perfect for family, singles and couples. Enjoy!
3 out of 5
by Patrick

Id give it a 4 but..

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
Id give it a 4 but for the price only a 3. When we were there 2 pools were closed. So only pool was over loaded with kids. Then when we get the bill on top of the taxes, there is a 29$ per day hotel fee. For what? Why not just include it in price. They say it's for parking, internet use, gym, etc. Thats BS, again why not just include it in price? Then with pool closures why not waive that fee? Other than that room was A1 very nice with nice kitchen, balcony and nice shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Fantastic solo Maui getaway

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Expedia
This hotel was right on the beach in a beautiful, convenient, and quiet area. The hotel amenities were great: general store and the spa in the Konea building (my building), Duke’s restaurant and bar right on the property, and a stand to get snorkel gear and towels. The room was more than spacious, especially for one person, and had everything I wanted: fully equipped kitchen, but no spices or staples like cooking oil. There was a washer and dryer that I was happy to have but did not use. The location was very convenient as I stayed on the west and north west side of the island for most of my trip. But I do recommend renting a car to get around. Overall, this hotel had everything I wanted and more. My spa Hawaiian Lomi lomi massage by Caitlyn was fantastic. So relaxing but therapeutic as well. There was great snorkeling in the ocean right outside the hotel property and a little further south as well. I rented a surfboard just on the other side of the highway at Maui Surfboards. And Times supermarket was within a short walk from my building. The only two tiny complaints I have: 1) checkin was supposed to be 3pm according to Expedia, but they told me 4pm and then my room wasn’t actually ready until about 4:15pm. 2) when I returned to my room, air from the AC smelled a little like cigarette smoke. But after being in the room for a bit, I didn’t notice it anymore. All in all, this hotel was great and I would love to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Large 2 bed/2bath suite, very nice. Fully equipped. Quiet. Friendly staff.
Cons: The only negative was the maintenance being done on the pools. It took away from what is otherwise a beautiful property. But that's temporary.
Location: Location was ok. Small sloped, narrow beach. Can walk to grocery store and strip mall but if you want shopping and restaurants you need a car.
Great place for a quiet relaxing vacation. Duke's was a nice place for happy hour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice Hotel, bad timing

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: General look and on the beach
Cons: Cleaning service and another restaurant
It was a very nice hotel. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Our timing ended up not being the best. Only because a week or two before we were leaving, we received an email that three of the four pools were going to be closed. The pools were one of the deciding factors in our hotel choice, so that was a little disappointing. I wasn't very impressed with the cleaning service. I knew it would be every other day, however, we never received new towels. We used the coffee and laundry detergent and it wasn't replaced. Our service was missed on one of the days and we had to call the front desk to have them come up. I don't know if they were upset with us or what, but all they did was make the bed poorly and nothing else. Besides, the cleaning service, we were very impressed with the looks of the hotel and the staff. Food was wonderful but expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from irvine CA

I like the suite very comfortable I like Duke

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Expedia
The swimming pool wasn't available which was very disappointing because of construction The front desk lady wasn't friendly and giving directions and information very quickly and wasn't smiling Difficult to make reservations at Dukes restaurants for dinner