Ratings based on 1,396 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Vancouver, BC Canada

Great hotel, facilities and room

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Most of all we liked the room and the pools. Also enjoyed the walkway connecting the resorts along the water
Cons: More restaurants? I liked the hot dog stand I saw at other hotels
Location: Close to both Lahaina and other beaches like Napili.
I have travelled a lot and have high expectations and yet was very impressed with the Honua Kai. I loved the room, the comfortable furniture, spacious and beautifully appointed bathroom and the wide opening sliding doors to the deck with a screen. Most of all I appreciated the bed that was so comfortable, Usually, I find my back is sore with most hotel beds but both my wife and I loved it. The pools, including a great quiet pool, were fantastic. We went to various restaurants around town but found that the meals we had at Duke's on the site of the Honua Kai to be one of the best places to eat. The staff were genuine and the location was ideal for our needs. The only imperfection is the beach that does have a fair number of rocks in the water and has a drop off soon into the water. However, I know this is totally out of their control. We will return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from SF, CA

the beach is in front & lots of fishs to see.

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Grate place for Kids 2 to 14
Cons: Clean the carpets in hallways and some of rooms
The check in was very late, we waited 4 hrs. before we had our room, with 4 year old, but we use the pool as we waited but still was long wait. It is very nice place for Kids. Specially the unites are suites and just not a room. The beach is in front of the resort, for snorkeling and summing the left side of the hotel between the two resorts was better place more visibility more sands. Having the Kitchen was good to keep you cold drinks in your room and sank or cook . Also close to local places to eat out. There is everything within 10 mints. I would not stay there for honey moon, maybe after you have Kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from boston

Great family hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Expedia
Nice Hotel for families. Beach is a bit rocky in front of the hotel, but just walk a minute to the left and the beach is clear! Pools are nice and Snorkeling is great. Family had a blast! Even saw turtles! Great hotel!
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Honua Kai OK for families and last minute booking.

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient area. The first room was terrible for the price: no ensuite bathroom, one sink, broken light, mildewy shower curtain. On the 3rd night, we were accomommodated to another suite. Much better bathroom, dual sink, separate shower. Breakfast at Duke's was underwhelming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Milwaukee

Best hotel I have ever stayed at.

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: The rooms were contemporary, spacious, had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
Location: Location was great, near shopping area but away from the crowds.
The room and comfort of this place was magnificent. It had all the amenities for us to buy grocery and cook vs. eating out. Love the glass doors and screens of the rooms. Pools and beach was great! Love it and totally recommend this for your stay in Maui!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great hotel for families

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Pools. Beach, Room
Cons: Only thing this place needs is organized activities for the kids
Location: Location is perfect, walking distance to markets and local stores, as well as other resorts
This place is great for a relaxing vacation, was not over crowded ( we went in August), 4 different pools, beautiful calm beach 2 min walk, with lots of fish ( great for snorkal) Service is great around the pool. Bbq to use and full kitchen makes this ideal for eating in and out at will. Dukes restaurant is a bit pricey but food is good and fresh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Redwood City, CA

Great stay, as always

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Pools and beach are great!
Cons: Additional kitchen utensils and dishes would be helpful to have
This is our 5th time at Honua Kai, and we loved it as always. Location can't be beat, and amenities are excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from prescott, az

Luxury at a reasonable price.

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Expedia
First visited in 2015, returned August 2017. Perfect place to relax!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Expedia
paying $1600 for 3 days was not worth it-Mountain-view was not of mountains it was a shopping center and a dry field. Not maid service for 3 days/Maids did come in a took our only clean towel.