Ratings based on 120 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Beautiful Location at Waikolo

Posted Jun 18, 2017
The old Royal Waikoloan has been updated throughout. The pool area is really nice with both warm and cold pools, a slide for the kids and 3 hot tubs. The poolside drink service was terrible though. They seemed chronically understaffed. It took 45 minutes for me to get a beer when it wasn't even that crowded. The room we stayed in was newly renovated but the design was poor. It had pictures on the wall where a mirror would have been more useful. A sheer wall between bedroom and bathroom was likely a nod to Hawaiian style but impractical since every time someone put on the bathroom light, it lit the bedroom too. The sliding door for the bathroom was beautiful, but it meant you could only get in the closet with the bathroom door slid shut. These are all minor things of course, but they start to add up. If I return to the area, I'd probably look at other options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Utah

Beautiful resort, excellent location

Posted May 28, 2017
We loved our trip to Waikoloa Beach Marriott! The staff were all accommodating and professional, our ocean view room was beautiful and the location was outstanding. Even though there were some renovations going on, we were never disturbed. The pool, grounds and beach were all so lovely! Great access to the King's and Queen's shopping centers so it's very convenient. We stayed in a newly renovated King room which was quiet and had a great view of the pool and bay. Perfect vacation!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel- but under construction with no warning

Posted Aug 20, 2016
We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and loved it until the most recent stay when the hotel began renovations without any notification or warnings. Getting woken up by tiles being drilled off of the bathroom in the units on the floors above is not what I would expect from a Marriott. We were not given any warning or notification of the construction until it woke us up. The staff was apologetic and compensated us in various ways, but I still feel that we were mislead and inconvenienced by the construction. I highly suggest that you stay elsewhere until they are finished with renovations (if we had known, we would have booked on a different property). Supposedly the hotel is shutting down in November some time to complete the renovations (probably because so many people complained about the noise) and reopening after January 1st when most of the remodel is complete. It will surely be beautiful when it's finished... But I wouldn't book here until the work is COMPLETELY FINISHED.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Washington State

Not what we expect from a Marriott.

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Queens and King's Markets. Proximity to, and availability, of Ocean Sports recreations. Variety of pools/depths for kids. Friendly staff.
Cons: Comfort of flooring, size of beds, clarity of "adult" ages and prices of breakfast. What "breakfast included" really means. A microwave in the room.
Location: Hapuna Beach. Queen's and King's Market. Ocean Sports recreation. Everything else is a 45+ minute drive. Refuge City and Painted Church, 45 minutes.
The amenities were not bad. The beach and Ocean Sport that are with the resort are nice. The luau was fun but pretty pricey and our daughter fell asleep after dinner so it was a pricey dinner for her. The "breakfast included" doesn't tell you that it's two breakfasts per room that are included. Our reservation stated that there were two adults and two children in the room and that breakfast was included (which I paid extra for), so I was quite surprised to get a bill on the first day. The second day they realized that our daughter was only 5 and shouldn't have been charged for on day one, so the bill for day two was smaller. Day 3 they tried to charge us for everybody and I had to send the bill back explaining that we had the breakfast included and our daughter is 5, they decided that our son is an adult (he's 14, but he'd been charged as a kid the two prior days) and then we were charged for him as an adult on the fourth day as well. So yes, a different bill every day when we expected the breakfast to be included. And the breakfast buffet is very nice but not nice enough for the price that is charged. The pool slide was closed for all but one day of our visit. The room floors are very very hard. I'm sure it's to make it easier to clean with sand and what not but it's basically indoor/outdoor carpeting on concrete, very uncomfortable to walk on. I guess we're used to rooms being either 1 King bed or 2 Queens, but this hotel is 2 "double" beds, which are full size.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Disappointing

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Unfortunately, not much. However, we did utilize and like the beach yoga class (not free, but part of the resort fee charged).
Cons: Overall upgrade of the hotel and cleanliness
The rooms are more utilitarian than tropical paradise. The first room we were assigned was a "pool view", the way the room was situated, we had a better view of the lobby/restaurant roof and the tower across from us. The walls and ceilings had cobwebs and dirt engrained in the wallpaper. As mentioned, our room was situated over the restaurant, which ended up being noisy at 6am, which wasn't even the problem having lived in Manhattan for a few years. The final nail for that room after two nights, was a smoker who thought it was acceptable to smoke on his balcony at all hours. We had only two alternatives - either wait around and call security to try and catch the smoker or move to a different room. We moved one floor higher in a different tower and with a view that actually included the pool. The room was identical to the first, only, if possible, dirtier. We found a half-eaten brownie under the chair and the rug was stained in several spots, lastly the room came with coffee and a refrigerator along with small white and black bugs for us to kill daily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego

Friendly, open hotel with amenities within walking

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere - it was quiet without being boring. We needed to relax and recharge. This resort was perfect for that.
Cons: Coffee - waiting until 6 am for the coffee shop was inconvenient. Our time zone is 3 hours ahead. Coffee in the room needed MORE cream available.
Location: This location is FAR from town but, the shopping nearby helped with the simple necessities.
We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott even though we didn't use many of the services. The food was excellent and the wide open environment was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from M

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Loved the location, staff and amenities. Hotel is modern. Recently refurbished and staff is eager to assist
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Satisfying Stay!

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Very clean and not too big.
Location: Shopping centers across the street for shopping and dining. Also airport is 15-20 minutes away.
This hotel is awesome compare to the Hilton, which is way too big and outdated when I stayed in 01/15. It has everything you need from an awesome beach with rentals to various pools depending what you are looking for. Its great if you have kids since it has a water slide, a beach pool and a kids pool. Also has an infinity pool for adults with hot tubs around. Rooms are modern and very clean. During my stay i seen people cleaning things I've never seen cleaned at other locations. Your able to walk to the shops across the street or they also have a ferry. They have one restaurant on premises which is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New Jersey

Great location!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Beautiful location in Waikaloa.
Cons: Updating of rooms are due. But are still nice and clean.
Location: You can choose to roam the entire island, or stay right in the village. They created a nice shopping/restaurant area.
Had just a wonderful time. A wonderful location on the Bay. Our Cabana had wonderful views. The restaurant as the hotel is so good that locals all come by on Saturday night. Staff was very nice. I stayed at this location before it was a Marriott property and will say the changes were lovely. I highly reccommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Relaxing Hotel

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: The room was nice but the pools were simply perfect.
Cons: Reduce the price of merchandise in the store inside the hotel.
Location: King's Shops and Queen's Shops are close by and make it easy to obtain just about anything needed.
Check-in, the stay, and the check-out was totally painless. This was our second time at this hotel. The location was perfect if you want very little rain and consistantly comfortable temperatures.