Ratings based on 133 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Michigan

Amazing Resort for Honeymoon

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful everywhere we went. They truly treated us as our guests. Find a dark area of the resort to view the stars.
Location: The Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour was a great experience to view the island. The pilot was very informative about the history of the island.
The Hilton Waikoloa Village was paradise for our Honeymoon. We stayed in the Makai tower. The resort has so many different activities and food options to offer. We tried just about all of the restaurants in the resort. KPC is a must, the food is delicious, plan to eat around sunset and try to get ocean side seating. The luau was very entertaining and again the food was delicious. On days of a luau, you can watch them prepare the pig for the roast early in the morning. The resort has a salt water lagoon that is connected to the ocean that allows tropical fish and turtles to come into the lagoon. You can rent snorkeling gear at the resort, this experience is a must. We tried taking pictures with a cheap disposable waterproof camera but they did not turn out very well. Depending on your plans, you do not need a rental car for your entire stay. You can shuttle to the resort from the airport and rent a car from the resort on any day you plan to venture out on the island. There is shuttles that will take you to nearby shops. I would not recommend renting a compact car, they struggled to cruise up the steep/curvy roads. For daily rates, it was not much more to rent a convertible sports car. I highly recommend driving across the island to Hawaii National Park for a chance to see an active volcano. It was cold and raining when we went, bring warm clothes and ponchos just in case. They do sell ponchos at the welcome center. Some trails are muddy as well so keep that in mind.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Beautiful resort, but expensive...

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds
Cons: Maybe change the wheels on the hotel staff carts to something that won't make as much noise going down the hallways.
This resort was beautiful. The room was nice, the grounds were nice, dolphins onsite, good food... only a few problems noticed. 1: Pricing...They had a wonderful breakfast spread. When we went down for breakfast, the waitress just asked if we wanted the buffet. We said ok and proceeded to eat whatever we wanted. When we got the bill we were floored! It was sixty eight dollars for just the two of us! They do have a slightly cheaper option which is to get the continental breakfast only, but it is still really expensive. The server did not mention this option to us. You have to ask. (Probably because if your bill is higher they tend to get a higher tip.) Also they charge a hefty amount for parking and resort fees so pay attention when booking to what the actual price will be. 2: One other thing we noticed was that the hallway floor outside our room was made of brick. Anytime someone with a cart went by, or someone with a wheeling suitcase all you hear is a loud ka-thunk ka-thunk ka-thunk going by. Woke my boyfriend up numerous times. (I am hearing impaired and do not wear my hearing aids while sleeping, so I did not notice this. LOL) Other than that, I can say it was a good stay. Would I stay there again though? No.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Wilsonville, Oregon

Spectacular vacation:)

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: We loved the adult pool, the lounge chairs near the ocean and gold course. The staff are fabulous, kind and helpful.
Cons: My only problem was the bed was too soft for me, that is not a complaint a personal preference.
Location: See Volcano lava flows, drive around the Island in each direction from the Hilton for great day excursions. Go to Black sands beach & see turtles.
I cannot ay enough about the fabulous quality of this Hilton Hotel's surrounds & the staff. We read reviews before our stay and read that some had complaints that I consider unworthy of this Hotel. Complaints were made in regard to waiting to long for the tram which takes guests to their rooms. If those same people took the time to look at their surroundings they would have been consumed with the Islands beauty and wonderful people and would have forgotten about the 5 -7 minutes the tram took to take them to their stay. The Hilton Hotel offers a wonderful environment for kids (which ours are grown, but still a great place to swim), from pools to lagoons to cafes for lunch and adult beverages poolside. There is also an adult pool next to the Ocean Tower which was our choice. Don't miss the lounge chairs near the ocean and gold course. The winds blow the island breeze softly over you as you soak up the sunshine. When we arrived, Edward changed our room 3 times because of a small amount of construction near the gold course. He did not have to do this, but he did! Thank you Edward. There is also a great showing of the Han Dynasty Art from China with approximately 2000 pieces allowing a self guided walking tour in the walkways throughout each tower. The landscape is spectacular with native plants abundant. We cannot say enough about the staff and the entire Hilton Hotel. Thank you for a wonderful 10 days vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angels

It's ok

Posted Mar 1, 2017
It's decent. The grounds are pretty but they nickel and dime you for EVERYTHING. The bathrooms are moldy. A hamburger is $17 to 20 dollars therefore very expensive. If you go to the stores they charge you $2 dollars for the shuttle. May not sound like a lot but when staying at the hotel you will see. Here are some pictures of the grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Huge hotel!

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: It was clean and well serviced.
Cons: More walking paths.
Location: This is one resort in a multi-resort complex. Most non-resort (ie cheaper) things to do where at least a 30 min drive away.
This was a good hotel if you are looking for the "never leave the resort" experience. It is on a huge property, there is even a mono-rail to get you from building to building. Naturally all the dining options on the property are very expensive and somewhat limited. The spa was top notch. Everything seemed clean and well cared for. I biggest complaint I had was that the property was designed around the mono-rail, that in my opinion was slow and cumbersome. However it took a good 15 minutes to walk anywhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Good hotel location

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Hotel lacked food choices (due to limited opening times), but other options were close by. Beach close, within few miles walking distance, dolphin encounter on site, activities were close. Not good accommodations for handicap, things were spread out. Fun artwork along paths and walking areas.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

More than I bargained for

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: It was clean and we had an ocean view.
Cons: The check-in staff were a bit weird and mechanical and didn't explain how to get in an out of the parking lot using of room keys.
Location: There are a variety of shops and restaurants nearby and a few other beaches but the best snorkeling is in Kona and at Captain Cooks Monument.
This place is huge and was way more than I cared for. I pretty much only wanted a nice room with a view and a parking lot so I could easily go snorkeling everyday. It literally took 15-20 mins to get from parking lot to my room. The resort is nice and has lots of interesting decor and amenities but it's really more for people who don't want to leave the resort. This was also the first time I have bundled a room with my plane fare through travelocity and I wasn't didn't expect to be paying $25 a day plus another $30 a day resort fee on top of what I paid Travelocity so the savings dwindled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016
The hotel was beautiful, but keep in mind the package price did not include the resort fee of $30/day. There is also a parking fee of $25/day for self park. Still, I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Augusta,GA

Great resort with excellent facilities

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The staff was excellent they were very helpful.The food at most location was very good
Cons: The KPC restaurant food and service was poor.Have the tram and boat run further and more frequently.
It was one of the best vacations we ever had at any hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from B

Our Honeymoon

Posted Apr 25, 2016
We had a great time at the hotel! The private sand lagoon was awesome! We even saw a turtle! We did find that the pools were great and we loose the golf course as well! We dined at several places and although it was expensive we only had one complaint. The boat landing cantina food seemed pre-prepared but we understand that there can't always be a kitchen. All staff was friendly and helpful. We loved the tram and boat rides.