Ratings based on 1,941 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel- but under construction with no warning

Posted Aug 20, 2016
We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and loved it until the most recent stay when the hotel began renovations without any notification or warnings. Getting woken up by tiles being drilled off of the bathroom in the units on the floors above is not what I would expect from a Marriott. We were not given any warning or notification of the construction until it woke us up. The staff was apologetic and compensated us in various ways, but I still feel that we were mislead and inconvenienced by the construction. I highly suggest that you stay elsewhere until they are finished with renovations (if we had known, we would have booked on a different property). Supposedly the hotel is shutting down in November some time to complete the renovations (probably because so many people complained about the noise) and reopening after January 1st when most of the remodel is complete. It will surely be beautiful when it's finished... But I wouldn't book here until the work is COMPLETELY FINISHED.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Japan,niigata

大げさなサービスなく快適に過ごせました。

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: お風呂のシャワーの調節がわかりやすく、シャワーも3段階の切替ができ便利でした。カーテンも二重になっていて安心して浴びれます。洗面とも独立してるので便利です。
Cons: 特になし。
Location: コナ空港から30分くらいでした。レンタカーがおすすめです。
プールもプライベートビーチも過ごしやすく、いい設備でした。 ショッピングも徒歩圏内ででき、長期滞在も次回はしたいと思いました。 日本語サービスの方もおかあさんのように親切でした。 朝食時に人がいないと鳥がテーブルにむらがるので注意が必要でした。
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Pensacola, Florida

Thr Best Hawaii Resort

Posted May 31, 2016 on Expedia
We did not have the pleasure of staying here. Due to a mechanical problem with our flight, we had to cancel our trip. The administration at Waikoloa Beach Marriott was understanding and extremely assistive. We will stay here when we re-schedule.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Stevenson Ranch, California

You Get What You Pay For

Posted May 28, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Location! There’s tons of shopping and restaurants adjacent to the hotel. The beach is absolutely wonderful.
Cons: Rooms and the entire hotel need to be seriously updated!!!! Avoid the hotel until their construction is over.
Location: Snorkeling, helicopter rides, hikes, bicycling, swimming, volcano tours, and relaxing near the pool areas or on the beach.
We selected the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary on the Big Island of Hawaii. If we had to do it all over again, we would have spent the extra money and stayed at the Fairmont Orchid instead. The Marriott is a great location with two shopping malls (Kings Shops and Queens' Marketplace) within walking distance. The beach (Anaeho omalu) access is wonderful and the entire facility is only about 30 minutes away from downtown Kona. As for the entire staff at the Marriott, they were pleasant. Unfortunately, that’s where the positives end. The hotel is comprised of the main building (i.e., reception area, restaurant, lobby, gift shop, etc.) and two separate buildings for the hotel accommodations (i.e., left and right wings). When we arrived, we were told the left wing was entirely shut down for construction (THIS WAS NEVER MENTIONED WHEN WE BOOKED THROUGH EXPEDIA), which limited room availability. Marriott has decided to convert the left wing into timeshare accommodations. Sadly, the left wing is where the guest laundry services were located. Therefore, my wife and I had to drive to a laundromat in Kona (28 miles away) on a few occasions during our 10-day stay to do wash our clothes. Secondly, you had to deal with the noisy construction whenever you walked through the main building, or used the restaurant. Overall, our room was average, but in serious need of remodeling as with the entire property (i.e., Not four star quality!).
5 out of 5
by A traveler

First destination wedding

Posted May 24, 2016 on Expedia
destination wedding in HI. Second time I've been to a "resort". The pools were nice, the beach also. But I guess I'm not the sit around the pool kind of person.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Ótimo custo/benefício

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Muito agradável. Hotel nem muito pequeno nem muito grande, aconchegante.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from TOKYO

プールとビーチが融合したホテル

Posted May 23, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: 部屋からのプール・オーシャンビュー。
Cons: 所々古さも感じるので、リニューアルが必要。
Location: 目の前が大型ショッピングセンターで、レンタカー無くても外出が可能です。 ハワイ島全般ですが、目の前のショッピングセンター以外に行くには車が必要です。
3泊しました。到着が11:30amでしたが追加費用無しでチェックインさせてくれました。 部屋はプール・オーシャンビューとマウンテンビューがありますが、プール・オーシャンビューがお勧めです。 プールは大きく複数あり、ジャグジーもあります。その先にビーチがあり、部屋からその2つを見るのがとても素晴らしいです。 朝食はとってないので分かりません。
5 out of 5
by Lianne from Sydney

Wonderful stay...

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Cannot wait to go back. It was just lovely the staff are kind, friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a beautiful location and we cannot wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted May 18, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The staff and the location of the hotel.
Location: Excellent location. 25 minutes from the international airport and Kona for easy access, but remote enough for a very relaxing vacation.
An excellent location for a relaxing, family vacation. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful, competent. The facilities/rooms were more than adequate--excellent pool facilities. The food on-site was exceptional. The concierge crew was top notch - very helpful in assisting in the planning of activities. Wife and daughters had a wonderful experience in the spa. Absolutely no issues or downside for us. The location of the hotel was perfect for us. Away from the hustle but within a short drive (25 minutes) of Kona. Numerous restaurants, stores, and shops are within easy walking distance. While a car is not essential, we appreciated having one to do a little exploring on our own. Early May was 'the perfect time', as we experienced no problems with crowds, availability of reservations for activities, etc. A wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great place

Posted May 12, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: nice pool and close to beach
Location: Kings and Queens shopping centers
pleasant staff, room was very clean and updated. Pools are amazing and right on the beach.