Ratings based on 125 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Augusta,GA

Great resort with excellent facilities

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The staff was excellent they were very helpful.The food at most location was very good
Cons: The KPC restaurant food and service was poor.Have the tram and boat run further and more frequently.
It was one of the best vacations we ever had at any hotel.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from B

Our Honeymoon

Posted Apr 25, 2016
We had a great time at the hotel! The private sand lagoon was awesome! We even saw a turtle! We did find that the pools were great and we loose the golf course as well! We dined at several places and although it was expensive we only had one complaint. The boat landing cantina food seemed pre-prepared but we understand that there can't always be a kitchen. All staff was friendly and helpful. We loved the tram and boat rides.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Seattle

Great family vacation!

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Beautiful ocean view from our balcony! Lots of variety with the lagoon, pools and mini golf!
Cons: the beds were terrible, and the parking pass never worked making it very inconvenient despite the crazy cost of $25/day!
Location: Hapuna State Park is a great beach if you have kids!
This was the best family vacation we have ever had. Staff was wonderful! There was plenty to do and lots of variety for the kids. The beds were terribly uncomfortable, unfortunately, and we had issues with our parking pass every single day despite having staff recode it multiple times. The extra parking AND resort fees were a bit shocking also at a total of $50 a day when the parking pass didn't even work.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from concord CA

Great hotel. Beautiful views, great water activity

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Fun for the kids, great pool and water slide, natural lagoon was awsome. Swam with a sea turtle. food wasnt that great at any tof the on site restaruants, all staff was very friendly. Room was great, bed was very comfortable. You can even rent free movies downstairs and watch in room dvd. Nice feature. dolphinquest was awsome as well, lil expencive but fun.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Mahwah, NJ

Excellent! But rooms needs renovations

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Our view of the ocean & golf course from our balcony.
Cons: Their rooms very old carpet, dated furnitures & very dusty.
Location: about half an hour from the airport. There is a shuttle available to get you to supermarkets & stores for $2.00 one way. There is a golf course.
The Hotel has a beautiful, big & gorgeous surroundings but the room I stayed in needs renovation, old dingy carpet, dated furnitures & dusty. The only consolation is the excellent view of the ocean & golf course from our balcony. Have I mention, prices in this facility are extravagant.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Mission Viejo, CA

Not Mobility Friendly

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: The view, the Kohola pool and especially the staff!!!!!
Cons: Upper management needs to be more in tune with disability issues and how they can improve on the hotel for those that suffer from mobility issues.
Location: The hotel is about 35 minutes north of Kona Airport. It is accessible to all parts of the island and the roads are very well maintained.
The property is huge!!!! Anyone with mobility issues will find it quite difficult to get around especially in rainy weather when the boats and tram aren't working. The quickest way from point "A" to point "B" usually requires navigating a flight of stairs which may be impossible or certainly difficult for mobility challenged persons. There are plenty of elevators, however, they are typically at the other end, away from where you are going. The property is beautiful, with awesome views of the ocean and while there is not a swim beach on the property there are some beautiful ones about 20 miles both north and south of the hotel. The hotel does have three pools, two larger pools that are family friendly and one in the Ocean Tower that is adult only. Several restaurants are on the property, food is pretty good and prices are in line with high end hotels. Most, if not all, of the restaurants close by 9:00 pm. Room service is good but pricey. The rooms are a very nice size and the beds are extremely comfortable, we had no trouble going from our latex mattress to the one at the hotel. The staff is very accommodating and always willing to go the extra step to please!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointing repeat experience

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Very pretty resort views and nice pools.
Cons: The train system needs to be more frequent because the resort is so spread out and the long walk to the pools takes a long time with young kids.
Location: Lots of fun day trips to the macadamia farm, seahorse farm Royal palace, petroglyphs, coral beach.
We came back a second year in a row because our children insisted, but had the same experience which I now don't think was a coincidence. Last year we were given the most shabby room I have ever seen in a hotel, much less a Hilton. Torn carpet, torn bedding, missing tiles in the bathroom and the smell of damp and mold that was awful. We got moved to a small, but better room. When management sent one of those "hope everything is great" emails, I wrote back and told them what happened and was it because we didn't book through them directly, but through Travelocity? He claimed it was not, and said that those rooms "should never have been sold" and he was sorry. That was the total of recourse through management! This year on check in, I asked if we had a quiet decent room and explained what happened last year and the woman immediately changed her attitude and told me that our room was fine, but that "when you book through third party vendors" you have limited choices and then tried selling me a nicer room! The room seemed fine......until about 5 pm when literally hundreds of screeching birds started congregating outside. When I called I was told that yes they are very loud and start very early in the morning and a lot of people complain and ask to be moved. So we moved rooms. I have no doubt that when you don't book with Hilton they give you the worst selection. Won't be going back.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Colorado Spring,CO

Expansive Resort

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Expansive resort, well maintained, clean rooms and friendly staff
Cons: Don't charge $25 a day for self parking and the resort fee of $25 a day is money out the window.
Location: The Big Island offers many hiking possibilities, Hapuna Beach/Beach 69, Waimai, Hawi, Akaka Falls, Pololu Valley, Kona-Kailua, Lili`uokalani Botanical
The resort is expansive, pleasant to walk around, evening can be pleasantly spent walking around the expansive well landscaped and maintained grounds. There is no sandy shore beach but the lagoon is adequate for beach lounging and the cove is OK for snorkeling. You will have to get use to the native birds making a racket early morning and evenings depending on hotel and room location
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Hilton Waikoloa Village

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Cons: I wasn't aware of the $25 per day resort fee that was tacked onto my bill at checkout. For 13 days, it was a significant charge at $325.
It was an excellent stay with plenty of activities for everyone.
5 out of 5
by CFedS from The Big Island

Spacious!

Posted Oct 28, 2013
What a great bit of Island paradise. The room was great and the property was spread out and extravagant. A very relaxing place to stay.