Ratings based on 1,606 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A traveler from Mission Viejo, CA

Not Mobility Friendly

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: The view, the Kohola pool and especially the staff!!!!!
Cons: Upper management needs to be more in tune with disability issues and how they can improve on the hotel for those that suffer from mobility issues.
Location: The hotel is about 35 minutes north of Kona Airport. It is accessible to all parts of the island and the roads are very well maintained.
The property is huge!!!! Anyone with mobility issues will find it quite difficult to get around especially in rainy weather when the boats and tram aren't working. The quickest way from point "A" to point "B" usually requires navigating a flight of stairs which may be impossible or certainly difficult for mobility challenged persons. There are plenty of elevators, however, they are typically at the other end, away from where you are going. The property is beautiful, with awesome views of the ocean and while there is not a swim beach on the property there are some beautiful ones about 20 miles both north and south of the hotel. The hotel does have three pools, two larger pools that are family friendly and one in the Ocean Tower that is adult only. Several restaurants are on the property, food is pretty good and prices are in line with high end hotels. Most, if not all, of the restaurants close by 9:00 pm. Room service is good but pricey. The rooms are a very nice size and the beds are extremely comfortable, we had no trouble going from our latex mattress to the one at the hotel. The staff is very accommodating and always willing to go the extra step to please!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointing repeat experience

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Very pretty resort views and nice pools.
Cons: The train system needs to be more frequent because the resort is so spread out and the long walk to the pools takes a long time with young kids.
Location: Lots of fun day trips to the macadamia farm, seahorse farm Royal palace, petroglyphs, coral beach.
We came back a second year in a row because our children insisted, but had the same experience which I now don't think was a coincidence. Last year we were given the most shabby room I have ever seen in a hotel, much less a Hilton. Torn carpet, torn bedding, missing tiles in the bathroom and the smell of damp and mold that was awful. We got moved to a small, but better room. When management sent one of those "hope everything is great" emails, I wrote back and told them what happened and was it because we didn't book through them directly, but through Travelocity? He claimed it was not, and said that those rooms "should never have been sold" and he was sorry. That was the total of recourse through management! This year on check in, I asked if we had a quiet decent room and explained what happened last year and the woman immediately changed her attitude and told me that our room was fine, but that "when you book through third party vendors" you have limited choices and then tried selling me a nicer room! The room seemed fine......until about 5 pm when literally hundreds of screeching birds started congregating outside. When I called I was told that yes they are very loud and start very early in the morning and a lot of people complain and ask to be moved. So we moved rooms. I have no doubt that when you don't book with Hilton they give you the worst selection. Won't be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from scottsdale, az

Our room location

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Expedia
Room balcony had fantastic view of dolphin lagoon and the ocean. Rm 2317 great grounds and pools also. Would definitely come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Better than the Fairmont Orchid :)

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Lots of options for everything-food, swimming, walking, running, transportation (you can chose between a boat ride or a tram ride inside the property)
Cons: Food prices were atrocious but I guess that's the same everywhere on the island :( Bring lots of money.
Location: There is nothing to do 'nearby' unless you want to drive and drive and drive. Better to stay in the resort and relax and enjoy.
I really enjoyed staying at this resort with so much to see and do. I had been deciding between this hotel and the Fairmont Orchid and I'm really glad I chose this hotel because of all the on-property activities and scenery. Both hotels are at least 30-45 min away from Kona (and anything else) so staying on a resort and not having to drive to have a different experience was perfect. The resort pool was ginormous and the waterfall features along with a "hidden hot tub" were a nice touch. The surrounding area was much nicer too compared to the Fairmont if you like the outdoors - the paths close to the resort were gorgeous for walking or cycling (if you brought your bike).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted May 31, 2015 on Expedia
Beautiful, well-maintained facilities with good recreational opportunities and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

久しぶりのワイコロアでした。

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
10年ぶりのヒルトンワイコロアでした。60歳でもプールのすべり台を何度もトライ出来ました、とても満足でした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Ok, clean,

Posted May 30, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Very like it
Very comfortable , space, enjoyable, it is fun to family, especially small kids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nanci from Denver

Fun pool complex

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Pool complex and lagoon are wonderful!!! Just have to walk a long way from room over to pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Los angeles, CA

Perfect location with lots of variety

Posted May 27, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Grounds, Staff, Cleanliness, Comfort of beds, DVD rentals, Boat rides, dolphins, beaches, waterslide, view from room.
Cons: The bike rentals. We rented them for one day and the they were not really maintained for rental use. Especially the kids bikes.
Location: Fabulous location, minutes to Hapuna Beach, Hawi town, close to ATV adventures and hiking to waterfalls in Kohala.
I just got back from a 6 day trip here with my 6 year old son. It was perfect. The hotel, the Makai room in Lagoon tower, the amenities, the weather, the staff, everything was top notch. We couldn't have had a better time! There is plenty to do here for kids and adults. We had no problem catching a boat to the other side of the resort when needed and my son thought it was really neat that we could do that. The KPC restaurant was spectacular and so was the breakfast in the mornings. I found the whole resort to be very accommodating to my gluten free diet and my son's nut allergy. We loved exploring the tide pools on the beaches and going down the waterslides. We had fun at the Luau as well. My son also loved his Dolphin Quest experience. Definitly worth it to have an ocean view room in the Lagoon tower, not only for the view but for the location to everything on resort. If I had to say anything negative it would be the pools are kept waaaaaaay too cold to be comfortable or enjoyable and the restaurants range from poor to mediocore to excellent. It would be nice if they were all good across the board. The chinese restaurant and japanese restaurant for the price was not worth it. But the Lagoon Grill and KPC were fantastic. I didn't see the need for the $25 per day resort fee on top of all that we pay in hotel rooms and spending money at the resort all week at restaurants and extras. It seems excessive and it would be nice to see that do away with that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels