Ratings based on 21 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from ft Lauderdale

Nice hotel to stay

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Lobby is beautiful,love the custom sinks in rooms,great hotel reasonable quiet ,would recommend that you stay when on town
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2015 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Looking forward to seeing you again in Fort Lauderdale!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A traveler from New York

My stay at Universal palms Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: N/A
Location: On business
House Keeping DID NOT change the bed sheets nor the pillow cases until i asked to do so... Towels were not replaced ..All they did was made the bed over... Had to ask for cups as well. The pool was dirty..in the 10 days i stayed i haven't smelled chlorine and the water was slimy. VERY DISAPPOINTING !
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from pennsylvania

very disappointed

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: the sign in area , reception are very clean pool was clean also
Cons: costumer service needs to improve
our first night their we used up all towels and the following day we went out enjoyed the sites to come back to no towels in our room , called room service and never got towels hand to use medium towels and wash cloths , the tv remote was not working did not change or turn on or off the tv , again called room service and no one came to fix the remote , had 2 small kids and was un able to watch cartoons the 2 nights we spent their
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A traveler from Carlson

5 days at Universal Palms in Oakland, Florida

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Every thing that worked was very good, couple small issues like my requesting service on the safe in my room, and apparently that request was ignored.
Cons: better mechanical service person or persons
Location: Attended a wedding on the beach at Ft Lauderdale...this location was perfect for me...breakfast available on site and the north beach not far away...
very pleasant room ..#502...nice older furnishings...view of pool and atria...parking was abundant, but not always close to door...elevator closest to area of bldg my room was, out of service most of my stay...safe in room didnt work...asked twice for repairs...finally gave up..and when i left it still didnt work..room cleaning staff was great..fast..effective and nice to talkl to...I would stay there again and recommend it to others..desk staff was between great and nonfunctional , depending on who was on duty..day shift was great...cant say that for night desk staff....over all..90 %..thanks for your hospitality..
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Tampa Bay, FL

Plan on NO SLEEP!!!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Checking out!!!
Cons: Open the restaurant for breakfast. They have 180 rooms, a fairly nice facility but no breakfast or Continental Breakfast!!! Lost Revenues!!!
Location: Very industrial/commercial area convenient to local business
AS I walked into the hotel I was impressed as things looked to be in pretty OK order. The seats at the entrance were a bit worn but everything was clean and presentable. SO...HERE IS THE PART THAT BITES THE BULLET!!! THE hotel is located DIRECTLY NEXT TO THE TRI_RAIL COMMUTER TRAIN RAIL. No, I dont mean it is up the street or around the block. IT IS DIRECTLY NEXT TO THE RAIL TRACKS!!! Worse yet, the train passes by EVERY 30 MINUTES, and BLASTS ITS HORN 4 TIMES EVERY TIME IT CROSSES THE INTERSECTION. THIS TRAIN RUNS THROUGH THE EVENING UNTILL 12:00AM and RESTARTS AT AROUND 5:00AM...GET THE MESSAGE!!! When checking in I thought I was checking into a POW camp as the first thing that was discussed with me is damaging the room and the cost of such damages. Fine, I got to my room and it looked pretty good until I sat on the bed as the room has no comfortable chair to relax in. The bed was like a brick with springs sticking out at the most uncomfortable areas of the body. I will say however that the bathroom and shower-head was very nice!!! When I got out of bed the next morning (notice I didn't say woke up) I called the front desk to ask when the restaurant opened for breakfast and I was dully informed that they do not have breakfast. Why...why would you have a restaurant and not open to your 180 room for breakfast??? Mr. Manager, lease the space out to somebody who is going to HELP YOU increase revenue, not lose it.
3 out of 5
by Khokan from Saskatoon, Sask.

Posted Jan 15, 2014
We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Staff were courteous and helpful. Rooms and beds were comfortable and clean. However, the hotel is quite old and is not as beautiful as it shows in the promotional pictures. There are no good restaurants other than fast food ones within walking distance of the hotel.Rooms and beds were good.
1 out of 5
by Artis from Atlanta, GA

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Did not like it at all, this is not a 3 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Davie88 from Bahamas

Posted Sep 6, 2013
The rooms were clean and nice, the pool was good and the staff are nice and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mich2013 from Michigan

Our stay was pleasant

Posted Jul 12, 2013
The staff was friendly, the buffet was delicious, with the exception they were closed one day of our stay which was a Monday. The rooms were decent and clean, the lobby was beautiful made you feel you were staying at a 4 star hotel. Don't be detoured by the exterior front thou, Once you enter you will be relieved
3 out of 5
Recommended
by wdr08 from Yacolt, WA

get what you pay for

Posted May 1, 2013
Inexpensive. Looks like an old motel that has done some cheap refurbishing. Everything looks nice from a distance. Beds not so comfy. Only stayed one night.