Ratings based on 1,063 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Definitely not good.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Noisy ac. Dirty tile grout. Paint peeling on ceiling and walls. Large Water stain on ceiling. No hot water. Partying next door till 3 am. Train horn. Need I say more?
1 out of 5
by A traveler

A hotel not to stay

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Upgrade the rooms, change the mattresses and clean/washdown and paint the corridors
Location: Not much to do.
I have stayed in many hotel across the world and this was my worse experience so much so I had to leave the hotel earlier than place. The corridors were dirty the bed wear old and uncomfortable, two beds were in the room and none of them were comfortable the mattress was worn out and needs replacement. The staff was not friendly. May I suggest Travelocity do mystery visits to ensure these hotels are being keep up to standard.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Appearances can be deceiving

Posted Jan 8, 2016
I'm a frequent traveler. Would not stay in this hotel. Very uncomfortable. No table, no chair, sink not in bathroom. Mold in bathroom tiles. Noisy at night. Would rate this not more than one star.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Don't know how it got the rating it did.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
The room smell like mildew there's a train that comes by every half an hour there's no iron in the room the shower is lukewarm at best The TV is very bad pictures on all channels no breakfast just not a very good hotel at all never would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ri

Nice Hotel for Price

Posted Nov 16, 2015
The hotel is beautiful. When I first walked in I was immediatlucky impressed. When I went to check in they asked my age I told them 24 and I was told you have to be 25 to check in. I told them that this information was not stated anywhere when I looked at the hotel and prepaid. I told them the only thing about age that wad written on their site was that during Spring Break you had to be 25 to check into the hotel, other than that the minimize age to check in was 21.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Been there 3-4 ago after renovation. Hotel was great but no longer recommandable due to lack of maintenance. Many things broken and no clean as it was before.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Tennessee

Nice hotel close within 10 minutes to beach

Posted Nov 13, 2015
We had a great experience. We LOVED the on site restaurant bar/lounge. The pool area was great. My only complaint was there was no complimentary breakfast and no mini-fridge or microwave in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2015 by Christen Guest Relations, Hotel Management
So glad you had a wonderful time at our hotel! Unfortunately we do not offer breakfast during the off season. The restaurant will begin serving breakfast in January through the summer. Our suites come with refrigerator and microwave, if you booked a standard room there is a charge of $10 a day for microwave and/or refrigerator. Thank you for your kind words, and taking the time to submit a review. We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Safe Travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Expedia
3 days of staying, the only problem is that you don't have any breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2015 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Unfortunately we only offer breakfast during hotel season, which begins in December. Thank you for choosing the Universal Palms Hotel, we hope to see you soon!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Demetrious from Atlanta

It was OK!!

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Location was good as far as having access to shopping, airport, and beach but the neighborhood was not that great. Train track runs directly behind the hotel so if your a light sleeper!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by eloy from miami

nice room, exterior need TLC.

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
hotel is a low budget one. not ugly neither nice. staff is very gentle. no complains. room is pretty decent for the price. evermore, the room is well over the average of a hotel that price range. room is fine and clean. train line 1500 ft away (personally i don't mine). good parking. A good exterior cleaning and TLC would make a LOT for this hotel .... i repeat, the room was pretty decent and comfortable to me.