Ratings based on 43 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
2.4 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Terrible avoid at all cost

Posted May 23, 2017
The hotel was a mess & not safe. Never will stay ever again
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Indiana

Active crime scene?

Posted May 10, 2017
Aside from the police and crime scene tape, no microwave, grumpy staff and loud pool parties, it wasn't horrible. But I will definitely not be staying again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by joel niedle, assistant general manager, Hotel Management
I'm terribly sorry you were here at the time a personal incident took place between these people. While I do not excuse it, these occurrences happens at all venues. There is no excuse for a "grumpy staff" and rest assured, I will address your concerns to them. Should you be planning a return to our area, please call me personally and I will handle your arrangements myself. Again accept our sincere apologies. Joel Niedle, Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A traveler from wash state

Lots of character

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location near restaurants and I-95 and airport and business in Delray Beach. Dilapidated charm.
Cons: Include breakfast and accommodate early swimming in pool
Location: Big selection of restaurants, gas stations, beach about a mile away
Statues, masonry railings, palm frond roofs, cockatoo cage, colorful guests, Waffle House next door. All fixtures working, beds comfortable, good coffee. Breakfast not included, working on pool at 8 am, so swim not possible.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Not good

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Location: Location was close to highways but not close to where we needed to be.
Did not stay! Walked into lobby all looked ok staff at desk was polite but I could see room. Spoke to someone who was leaving and looked into their room was not at all depicted on site! Did not stay and was to late to get refund had to try & get another room quickly was not happy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Marion T., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Expedia. We are truly sorry to see that our rooms did not meet your standards. We are also really disappointed to read that the only solution you found was to leave. For future notice, instead of leaving, do not hesitate to address your concerns to our front desk employees, they will be happy to improve your stay in any way possible. We hope that we will see you back in our hotel and that you will choose to stay, in order to show you the real Universal Palms experience, which we are sure you will appreciate! Best regards, Marion T.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from L New York

It was a bad impression coming in to the hotel.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The people try to be nice , but it was not wifi in the room , we has to be in the lobby to used the wifi, they keep saying it will be fixed, 3 days and nothing happened. I miss jet blue emails that the time of our trip changed, I can recommend this hotel to anybody, outside it was garbage it was not clean at all, the rooms they try to clean I left notes to change the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Marie-Pier R.D., Hotel Management
First, we would like to take you for bringing to our attention via Expedia the problems you had during your stay. We appreciated our visitors’ feedback as they help us to know what we do right and what we could improve. We are truly sorry to read about your dissatisfaction regarding your room. It is not in our habits to provide such an experience to our guests. We take note of your comments and will address the issues immediately. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your time. Best regards, Marie-Pier R.D.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Ohio

Disappointing

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: EVERYTHING
The hotel had terrible beds, all the furniture except the lobby was old and dingy. The restaurant server was very unfriendly and slow and she wasn't even busy. Most of the chairs in the pool area were ripped. Had to ask the front desk for bath towels because there weren't any in the room. The shower gel and shampoo were the same.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Marion T. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your last experience in our establishment with us on Expedia. We are really sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked you to. The experience you describe is not the one that we are used to provide to our guests, we are sorry for any inconvenience encountered during your stay. As for the restaurant, we are sorry to see that you were unsatisfied about the service offered. Unfortunately, we do not manage it, but it would be our pleasure to pass your comment to the restaurant’s management team to assure a strict follow-up. We would be happy to welcome you again for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale in order to show you the real Universal Palms experience. Best regards, Marion T.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Florida

I will not return, EVER.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: just bulldoze the hotel and build a new one.
Location: they didn't have breakfast- it was close to shopping.
I would not return to this room even if they paid me to stay. If the room was free for a week, I still will not stay. The lobby looks good, but once you get pass the lobby, it goes downhill. They claim they are renovating, but this hotel just needs to be bulldozed and built back again. The ceiling has water marks, and is tearing up. I saw 3 roaches. I had to purchase my own roach spray and spray the roaches. The bathroom door wouldn't close with the toilet seat down, so we had to lift the toilet seat up to close the door. I had to purchase my own wash cloth and towel, because the ones at the hotel were dirty. If they weren't dirty they looked dirty. The pillow cases and sheets had stains on them. This just was all wrong; I will NEVER go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Marion T. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us, our visitors’ opinion is really important for us. We are really disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We are sorry if our hotel did not meet your expectations, it is not in our habits and certainly not in our wishes to provide that kind of experience to our clients. We duly take note of all your comments and will address the issues immediately. We thank you for taking the time to bring them to our attention. On another note, we do not have breakfast in our establishment, but we are located only a few steps away from the Waffle house, a charming place where they make the most wonderful waffles. All of our clients really appreciate it! Best regards.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from nj

Dissatisfied customer

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Loud train. Used condoms on the steps mold in the bathroom nasty stains all over carpet toilet made a loud trumpet sound all night. Pool are was nice bar was nice lobby was nice. Wisj H they put more money into the rooms cause thats what the people pay for. Pictures on site was nice nothing like what the rooms really are like. Never again will i stay there
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Peter Pappas, General Manager. , Hotel Management
We would first like to thank you for taking a few minutes to share your comments with us. It is really important for us to know about our guests’ experience. We are astounded and really disappointed by the experience you are describing, since it is not in our habits, nor in our wishes, to provide that kind of experience. We duly take note of all your comments and will address these concerns immediately. As for the train, there is indeed one running behind the hotel, some of our guests do not mind the noise and some others find it more disturbing, we are sorry for the inconvenience it may have caused you. However, we are glad to see that you enjoyed our pool, bar and lobby. We hope to have a second chance from you to show you the real Universal Palms experience, one that will meet your expectations. Best regards.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from l

unsecured the door that conect the two was unluck,

Posted Feb 16, 2017
no soap no shampoo,the worse and I travel a lot for my business never ever.used them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Peter Pappas, Hotel Management
First of all, it is really disappointing to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are truly sorry that our establishment and amenities did not meet your expectations. Our customer comments are important for us as they help us improve our service. We thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Best regards, Peter Pappas, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A traveler

not what I expected

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
well the first room they gave me the door was broke and I had to move for security reasons.the second room they had to break into the safe in order for me to use it,the wifi was almost non existant,the shower water pressure continued to change from very strong to non existant,when I told them all I got was thanks for letting us know.never stay there againl