Ratings based on 158 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from montana

Nice hotel.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Nice hotel with courteous staff. Rooms small but efficient. Walk to harbor. Uber to balboa park and airport.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Lost and Found Doesn't Answer or Return the Call

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Charming and comfortable. Great for dogs as it's very close to lots of little parks and grassy areas.
Cons: Call your customers back!
I would have recommended this hotel if it weren't for the terrible after-check-out experience I had. The staff were lovely and very nice to my dog. I liked my room and the hotel. Great location as well. But, after leaving my iPhone charger, I called next day and spoke with someone who told me Housekeeping/Lost and Found was the department to talk with. I left a voice mail the morning after the day I checked out. No callback. Next day I spoke with someone who took a message. No callback. It is now one week from my check out and NO CALL BACK. There is no excuse for 2 unreturned calls after nearly a week. Very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from temecula

date night in the gaslamp

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: it is in a grand location to walk to gaslamp to all the many nice restaurants and music is everywhere.
Cons: nothing
Location: all of gaslamp and the midway all close and the hotel offers a walking tour in the morning which is free and a very nice thing to do
the bed is fresh and comfy and the pillows smell nice and are comfy. Happy hour is such a plus and a grand deal. the food is good and it is a nice place for a night cap as well. Parking is pricey and there are extra taxes and such so don't forget to add it in your total.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Quaint Hotel With Character

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The staff here are very friendly and accommodating.
Location: Within walking distance to many restaurants and Petco Park.
From check in to check out, dealt with very friendly, helpful, and competent staff. Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Wimberley, Texas

Very very comfortable

Posted May 9, 2017
I was not at this hotel long, but had wonderful accommodations. Old hotel which is beautifully decorated down to Orchid in th bathroom. Very cozy with luxurious bed and pillows!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

nice hotel good location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: great price relative to other hotels in area.
Cons: Make room up early sign was hidden with soaps; wish I had found it before checking out of room.
Location: easy to walk to downtown locations.
Hotel is in a good location downtown and had a great room rate. Room had no view at all--looked right into another room--but I was at a business meeting so it didn't matter. Wish there had not been an obligatory facilities/resort charge. Very convenient--15 min walk to hotels at harbor and convention center. Good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
The staff is the absolute best part of the Sofia hotel. Although the ambience is beautiful the staff really went out of their way to help in every situation to make us comfortable and to feel welcomed. Alex, Logan, Andrea, Joe (maintenance) Brian and Luis (Currant Restaurant) worked as a team to made the stay fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from orange county, california

Beautiful historic hotel in Gaslamp

Posted Feb 20, 2017
This hotel has many pros and no cons. We loved staying here and plan to come again! First, you have to keep in mind that it's a historic hotel. The rooms aren't going to be huge. However, a room with a queen bed was more than adequate for two people. The hotel is beautifully decorated. They had free Girl Scout cookies in the lounge. They had free yoga lessons in a studio within the hotel. They gave free guided walking tours. Their attached restaurant was very good. The hotel service was very good; they were very polite and seemed to enjoy working there. The Sofia Hotel is located in Gaslamp and a $5 Uber ride from the main area/Gaslamp sign. Honestly, we could have walked to the main area if it wasn't raining. Definitely worth the amount of money paid and was a great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Tiny rooms

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Unless youbget a suite these rooms a tiny and for a party of two i wouldn't recommend it. I moved to a suite and they are more c9mfortable. Friendly staff and good service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Columbus, OH

Super Location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: The rooms are so small.
Location: Within walking distance of Gaslight Quarter
The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Let me use their printer to print my airline boarding pass. Hailed a cab when none was available.