Ratings based on 26 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

In the heart of Gaslamp

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The hotel was amazing it was right where we wanted the staff and service was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Raleigh

Great Boutique Style Hotel in the Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Loved the location, the staff and the roof top pool and bar.
Cons: Be prepared to live out of your suitcase. The sleek modern designs of the rooms have little or no storage for unpacking. Roof top drinks were pricey.
Location: Everything is within a 10-15 minute walk except for the Zoo. There are a bunch of breweries, restaurants and bars close by.
Very nice place to stay in excellent walking distance to almost anything you would want to do in downtown San Diego. Rooms are very modern and sleek in their design. Bed was comfortable with lots of down pillows. The bathrooms felt extremely new with modern fixtures and tile. New HD flat screens and complimentary waters and some drinks and snacks. Every room had a small fridge and a safe. There was always someone at the front door to greet you and the front staff was excellent. The roof top is open to the public so be prepared for some extra noise on the weekend nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego, CA

Classy Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Great experience, 2 things it lacked. 1- no fan in bathroom or room, 2- parking is expensive. The staff was wonderful, the hotel was beautiful, food was great, and the bar was fun!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Great with one minor issue.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
I have stayed here twice and this is now my favorite place in San Diego! Located right in the Gaslamp District. Walking distance to the San Diego Convention Center and Padres Stadium. Nice roof pool and bar. The first time I stay was in a King Bed room and I really enjoyed it. Good size room with two dresser drawers at the base of the bed. The second time I visited was in a Queen Bed room. My only minor issue was the Queen room had no dresser drawers. So if your clothes couldn't be hung in the closet, you would have to leave it in your bag or laying on the floor. This is not a deal breaker and would book a Queen Bed room if available. Just something to consider if you pick this size room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
pleasing
4 out of 5
by Travlingman from Portland, Oregon

The hotel staff made my family of four feel welcome every time we entered the door.

Posted Sep 30, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, walking distance to most everything.
The only issue we had with the hotel was that we booked two rooms based on amenitities and photos shown. We recieved a room that was smaller than anticipated and did not have some of the amentities shown. Overall it was confortable but i believe more photos and details of the rooms should be shown. Example; if a room does not have a tub and only a shower it should be identified as such.
5 out of 5
by Ambiente101 from Minneapolis, MN

Perfect Getaway!

Posted Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
This hotel was such a gem. Nestled into the Gaslamp District made it convenient for shopping, dining and sight-seeing. Loved the roof-top bar and lounge area. This was a perfect getaway for girl's weekend and would be perfect as a romantic getaway, too!
2 out of 5
by Bosco10 from Arizona

Did not enjoy our experience this visit.

Posted Feb 5, 2011
Pros: very welcoming front desk
Cons: internet not available in our room
There was a party going on at the hotel and as a multi-day guest I felt slighted and not welcome upstairs at the bar and pool area.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Park City, Utah

Great location, outgoing staff

Posted Feb 3, 2011
We really enjoyed staying at this property. The concierge was amazing and helped us out a great deal and we enjoyed the roof-top pool and bar. Will definitely stay here again when I return to San Diego.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great boutique hotel - need to understand environment though

Posted May 26, 2010
I live in Newport Beach CA and when I go to San Diego for fun I stay at the Andaz (formerly Ivy Hotel). I have stayed there about 6-7 times. I love the modern decor and the overall environment. This hotel is for guests that want a lively environment with bar/club access. This is not the place for total peace at 10pm or for children (my opinion). The staff has always treated me well and welcomed me immediately. I wouldn't continue to stay at the Andaz if the experience as a whole wasn't a good one. I saw some of the reviews and its obvious they didn't adequately research hotels enough to understand what is offered and what they're looking for. Hotels and their overall appeal are very different unless you stay at a typical chain or lower end chain hotel. And in terms of charging for parking - I was shocked that someone expects free parking. I travel alot for business and I can't remember not having to pay for overnight parking. All high end hotels - especially downtown/busy areas - charge for parking. If you're looking for a hip, contempoary, fun, lively, very clean, good service, great location boutique hotel then I highly recommend the Andaz.