Ratings based on 29 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Bad Service no wifi in room

Posted Jan 6, 2017
I checked in late and was happy to go take a rest until I realized that the bed was very small, no towels in room, no wifi in room. Because we just had 4 days and I knew we would be on tour most of the day I told myself I would manage until I got attitude from front desk staff to book tour. I checked out after 1 night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

Gem of a find for one night in Cancun!!!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Great staff, clean rooms with great showers/beds. Great little pool and Jacuzzi (cold, but oddly refreshing). GREAT bargain in Cancun!
Location: Location not so interesting, but local rest just a quick taxi ride away. Good food or beach close by/taxi. For the price, it's a GREAT deal!
Just stopped in here on our way to Cuba (as Americans, need to get visas in MX). The hotel was SUCH a great value. We were amazed at this little gem on the corner with great beds, shower, and even a pool! After a long day of travel it was GREAT! Closer to the airport than most other hotels on the beach. The staff gave us a great rec for dinner, and hailed us a cheap(er) taxi. Breakfast was not gourmet, but a great start to another long day of travel, and suited our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Tekax, Yucatan

Hotel on corner of 2 main streets

Posted May 8, 2016
Cons: Water in hot tub & pool was dirty. Hot tub water was cold. People were smoking on balcony; not appreciated if its a Non-smoking hotel.
We stayed for a Thursday night. Stay was good. Breakfast was satisfying. It had 3 hot dishes, plus typical american breakfast. Was able to put a few important refrigerated items into their fridge for the night. Appreciated having main floor rooms. Paid great price for the quality of rooms, hotel and food. It was relaxing. We enjoyed eating supper around one of the tables on the main floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Genesis, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate it.
5 out of 5
by DavidThunderhead100 from Charlotte, NC

Clean, Great Value, Great Staff

Posted Nov 16, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, very clean, hotel shuttle to and from airport, gay friendly
Cons: english is not widely spoken
I was extremely happy with my stay here on my birthday in January of 2011. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly. Great swimming pool, Hot Tub water changed daily. Taxi rides are affordable from the hotel and the bus station and bus stop is in walking distance to the hotel. Gay Friendly, daily transportation to and from Beach Club in Hotel Zone. Restaurant in hotel serves breakfast only. This hotel is great for the budget minded traveler who is not afraid to venture out of the typical " tourist box". Here are some helping recommendations. - Only a small portion of the staff speak English so be prepared. -Tower rooms have spotty internet. Stay in the courtyard if you require internet 24/7. I still recommend the tower rooms. Views over the Pool and the Caribbean Sea and rooms are quieter. - Book ahead and pay the money for the hotel shuttle to pick you up form the airport. Cancun taxi drivers are quite aggressive and you will be overwhelmed when exiting the airport. - The hotel is located just inside of the Northern part of Downtown Cancun. The neighborhood around the hotel might seem a little rundown and dirty but it is a typical Mexican area outside of the plush resort area. Don't let this intimidate you. The hotel is safe and security is located at the door 24/7. - Several small local Mexican restaurants are located within 1-2 block radius. Enjoy your stay. David
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Pleasant enough

Posted Feb 15, 2011
This hotel is much nicer than the neighborhood it is in. The area is a little bit scary. But I parked a real nice rental car here two nights in a row with no problem. The staff was helpful. The safe in the room was broken, but nothing came up missing. The mattress was as hard as any I've ever slept on. I fully expected to wake up sore and tired, but I slept just fine. The cafe serves good food for a reasonable price. The wifi worked great. There is no elevator. The junior suites are all on the first floor. The pool was chilly. The hot tub was as cool as the pool. Everything was clean and looked new. The room was huge. No remote for the TV. Bathroom was a little cramped but good hot water and the nozzle was high enough for a tall guy. If this place was anywhere else in town, it would be twice as expensive. Way to nice for the area it is in.
3 out of 5
by DallasGal from Dallas, TX

Good for a night

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: Nothing close, located in a run down neighborhood
We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It was fairly priced for the accommodations provided. We got to stay in a room on the second floor of the tower (pictured). From what other guests told me, we were the lucky ones to be staying in the tower. The room was immaculate and very clean. The bed was hard, but I slept just fine. I brought my laptop and was able to connect to wifi in the hotel restaurant and outside on the patio. I wish I could have used the internet in my room! The hotel was very quiet and nice for a boutique. About the neighborhood. The hotel is located in a rough part of the city. It's about a 5 minute walk across the street to the bus stop that will take you where you want to go. Or you can hail a taxi by walking down the street a bit. I didn't feel comfortable walking around the town at all and we stuck out like sore thumbs. It's the real Cancun. Completely different from the beach resorts in the hotel zone. If we could do our trip over, we would have stayed in the hotel zone as that's where all the activities are! There's not much around Hotel Terracaribe.
5 out of 5
by Jeri from Lacey, WA

For the money Terracaribe is a great place to stay in Cancun.

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
It is close to the ferry to Isla. Our room did not come with breakfast but definitly worth the extra eat at the hotel. Close to main road road so a bit noisy. Not many places to keep a car secure. I wouldn't suggest staying there for a week but an overnighter or weekend is good.
2 out of 5
by mollymelanie from Cedar Hills, Utah

Good value, but not luxury

Posted Feb 4, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: Nothing close, Noisy
We stayed at this hotel in feb. 2010, for 2 nights at the end of a trip to Cozumel. We booked a suite, which was one room with 2 queens and a fold out couch. There was ample space, but the furniture is spartan, and the bathroom is tiny (no counter space). The toilet paper is scented, which I found hilarious (I do have a wierd sense of humor). Everything was clean, but the AC was very loud, and spewed water that we needed to mop up occasionaly. The courtyard is very nice, and refreshing. The pool was tiny and frigid, and the jacuzzi was tepid. It is in a scarier looking section of town, but we never felt unsafe. There is a convenience store right across the street which is, well, convenient, and the busy street in front, though causing some noise at night requiring us to shut the windows at night, does make it very easy to hail a cab. You can't beat the price, just remember that it is not even close to a luxury hotel. I would recommend it for a night before or after your stay at another locale, but if you stay your whole trip here, it will probably be disappointing.
5 out of 5
by MadameKelly from MN

Great place to stay

Posted Feb 4, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, close to bus station
Cons: location intimidating to nonexperienced travelers
Usually I'm cautious about staying downtown in areas I don't know well, but this find was a good one. Everyone who worked there was very helpful, the room was clean and inviting and the jacuzzi was much needed. The restaurant was a nice place to eat in the morning before heading out to the beach. The bus station was close and if people want to venture out downtown, some shops had great deals and food vendors had yummy treats. It was nice bumping into people from different countries who were visiting.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

My old review didnt post

Posted Dec 22, 2010
Located in a dumpy area near public transportation and a gas station at least those are the positives. The hotel room and hotel have been remodeled or portions may be newer however they have been done with the cheapest quality or care. The bed in the room we stayed had a concrete headboard... really! Although I wish it had been on a concrete frame ...in that case there would have been no chance of finding a dirty diaper underneath the bed as we did in my room The room was musty and the a/cs air smelled of wetness. bathroom was good size with shower window right into the hallway...and the shower doors still had some of the plastic that they were not careful to peel off when installing. The pool is nice and clean same for the hottub... and it was a nice area witht ables.. those seemed to be the only positives. The shuttle was ok fast on the way there but to pick us up from the airport we had to call several times even thought the hotel staff had noted the time and gate to be there.. and they assured they were.. no worries on that one.. both drivers were very nice and helpful The location is just not so great. near a busy highway and next to a vacant lot in a ghetto-ish area