Avoid at all Costs
Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Expedia
Owner "Mr. Ken" refused to offer us a refund for our stay. We asked to leave the moment we arrived at Costa Sur, due to the horrific state of this so-called "resort". This is barley a hostel. Just a dump that even the best room in the place is sub-par for the cost. You can go to many real resorts in Jamaica Dominican Curacao Turks Aruba etc for a fair price. Anyway, after contacted Expedia, which was worthless, the hotel manager Fernando tried his best to accommodate us with a better room-which he said was the best in the place but to us was barley acceptable. He said the owner an American "Mr. Ken" does not offer refunds so if you book a two week stay in this dump you are stuck here-what a piece of work this "Mr. Ken" is. If you have customers who want to leave the moment they show up (thats not a good sign #1) but you should probably let them not force them to stay in your sewage smelling place. The smell was constant in the room and throughout the hotel. The concierge insulted us by saying my wife was old! Unbelievable!! What trash! Bugs in the sheets would wake up every night, we had itchy bites everywhere. There is 20ft of sand at their "beach" the rest is rock so everyone is packed elbow to elbow-the pictures are very very deceiving. Its also right on the road so dont expect to get any sleep with honking taxis, yelling, bus brakes, and big rigs driving all day and night. There was a hurricane in 2005 and this place has not been fixed since.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Gerardo Cilveti, Hotel Management
Dear sirs we are very sorry to read the comments you left us regarding your recent stay as, from the beginning of your stay, as soon as we received word from our reservations offices in Sta. Rosa, CA. Fernando FO Mgr. got in touch with you to try and work the situation out.
The room you were assigned upon arrival is the one you had reserved and paid for but, in order to resolve the situation, you were offered an upgrade free of charge to either a 1Bdrm. Suite or a Honeymoon Suite. You took a look at both of them and decided to go for the Honeymoon suite. Fernando made sure everything was in order, confirmed with you that we were offering a continental breakfast with the Honeymoon Suite and programmed its delivery as of next day, sent a special VIP amenity and sat down with you reviewing all the options for tours, activities, shopping, etc. available in Puerto Vallarta. He even went above and beyond taking care of delivering some items you had not found at the super market. As well, the concierges supervisor was advised of the incommodity suffered upon arrival and asked to not bother you during the stay, making sure everything would go smoothly.
We are very disappointed to not having been able to deliver the kind of service and stay you were expecting, especially since upon departure you thanked Fernando for his courtesy and the service provided during the stay.