Ratings based on 396 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Portland, Oregon

We love Costa Sur!

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: The staff, the proximity to the ocean and beach, the quietness.
Location: You can take the 8 peso bus ride into downtown, takes less than 15 minutes.
This is my second trip to Costa Sur. It is comfortable, welcoming, and you cannot beat the private beach and the sound of waves crashing and lulling you into relaxation. If you want to relax, read books, drink pina coladas by the ocean, this is your place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2017 by Nancy / Reservations , Hotel Management
Dear Kelsey. Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Merry Christmas from the Costa Sur Resort and Spa Family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Nice Hotel. Beach is more of a lagon.

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: The water temperature in the Adult pool.
Cons: Having more elevators and bigger. More privacy on the balcony. I did't like the fact that I could be seen by my neighbors from left and right.
Location: Close to Old Downtown about 10 minute drive.
I was placed on the other tower not the main tower Hotel. The other tower is just a few steps from the main tower. I was shocked when I saw my room, actually it was Not a room it was like an apartment. It had a living room, dinning room, kitchen a Master bedroom and a 1/2 bathroom. I only stayed there 3 nights then I moved to another Hotel in Playa de Los Muertos because I needed more of a real beach. The beach at Costa Sur Spa and Resort is more like a lagon with little sand lots of gravel and little waves at some point I felt I needed some more action . Dont get me wrong the lagon is very nice too specially for snorkeling. Another thing I liked alot was the Adult pool it was always warm. One thing I didnt like was that since I was placed on the other Tower at 11pm the main door for that tower is locked. If you need to go out you call 0 from the Hotel phone and Hotel Staff will come and open the door for you. That was one thing I didn't like.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Nancy / Reservations , Hotel Management
Hi Ociel. Thank you for contact us and for choosing to stay with us, we are glad for your comments and We will work so that the door is not closed at 11:00 I hope see you soon. If there’s anything else we can do for you let us know Best regards,
4 out of 5
by Benjamin Gerardo

Nice

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Its a good pkace to stay. Nice view in frontnof the sea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017
Dear Guest Thank you for contact us and your cute comments, we hope see you soon. Best regards!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Cozy hotel right on the beach

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Expedia
Costa sur is well kept and comfortable. They work hard to make sure your stay is wonderful. It is quiet, but has become one of our most favorite hotels in PV.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Nancy , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for contact us and your cute comments, we hope see you soon. Best regards!!!
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Hotel review

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very outdated. We had small ants in our room
1 out of 5
by Sergio

Unprofessional

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
They kept pushing us to talk about a time share and after we told them we were there only for vacation they got upset and gave us bad service!! Never will I stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego Ca.

great birthday at Costa Sur!!!...

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Location food and the staff my room is always very clean she even folded my dirty clothes and stacked them for me!
Cons: nothing I can think of But some whinny people might think of one!!! LoL Lol !!!..
Location: In Mismaloya I recommend Tony's hideway and the restaurant El Hoklito right across the bridge at the bus stop by Mislaloya. and Ramada Coral great foo
I come down a few times a year and have fallen in love with the resort great food and the personel are top shelf! they will help with any problems you may encounter and can get any thing you need or any info on the area and surrounding area I prefer this part of Puerto Vallarta , I look on the west side all ocean not someone looking back at me. to the east nothing but forest and a few stately mansions up in the hills the breakwater helps the swimmers and snorkelers and there are lots of fish to see and photograph. and no laud dance music all day and half the night, just great people ready to help you...
1 out of 5
by A traveler from USA

Avoid at all Costs

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Fernando the Manager is good, genuine and the best thing going for this place. The little reef/beach is also cool.
Cons: Full refund if a customer requests to leave! Sewage smell, plumbing, hotel is in shambles, food is horrible, wall for street noise, & much more.
Location: Dont come to Puerto Vallarta-mexico is trash go to curacao, Dominican, fiji, anyplace but Mexcio nothing but a trap for gringo $$ with poor service
Owner "Mr. Ken" refused to offer us a refund for our stay. We asked to leave the moment we arrived at Costa Sur, due to the horrific state of this so-called "resort". This is barley a hostel. Just a dump that even the best room in the place is sub-par for the cost. You can go to many real resorts in Jamaica Dominican Curacao Turks Aruba etc for a fair price. Anyway, after contacted Expedia, which was worthless, the hotel manager Fernando tried his best to accommodate us with a better room-which he said was the best in the place but to us was barley acceptable. He said the owner an American "Mr. Ken" does not offer refunds so if you book a two week stay in this dump you are stuck here-what a piece of work this "Mr. Ken" is. If you have customers who want to leave the moment they show up (thats not a good sign #1) but you should probably let them not force them to stay in your sewage smelling place. The smell was constant in the room and throughout the hotel. The concierge insulted us by saying my wife was old! Unbelievable!! What trash! Bugs in the sheets would wake up every night, we had itchy bites everywhere. There is 20ft of sand at their "beach" the rest is rock so everyone is packed elbow to elbow-the pictures are very very deceiving. Its also right on the road so dont expect to get any sleep with honking taxis, yelling, bus brakes, and big rigs driving all day and night. There was a hurricane in 2005 and this place has not been fixed since.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Gerardo Cilveti, Hotel Management
Dear sirs we are very sorry to read the comments you left us regarding your recent stay as, from the beginning of your stay, as soon as we received word from our reservations offices in Sta. Rosa, CA. Fernando FO Mgr. got in touch with you to try and work the situation out. The room you were assigned upon arrival is the one you had reserved and paid for but, in order to resolve the situation, you were offered an upgrade free of charge to either a 1Bdrm. Suite or a Honeymoon Suite. You took a look at both of them and decided to go for the Honeymoon suite. Fernando made sure everything was in order, confirmed with you that we were offering a continental breakfast with the Honeymoon Suite and programmed its delivery as of next day, sent a special VIP amenity and sat down with you reviewing all the options for tours, activities, shopping, etc. available in Puerto Vallarta. He even went above and beyond taking care of delivering some items you had not found at the super market. As well, the concierges supervisor was advised of the incommodity suffered upon arrival and asked to not bother you during the stay, making sure everything would go smoothly. We are very disappointed to not having been able to deliver the kind of service and stay you were expecting, especially since upon departure you thanked Fernando for his courtesy and the service provided during the stay. Sincerely
5 out of 5
by Albert

family vacation

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
it was an amaizing experiance all the rooms had view of the ocean
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel need an up grade in the bathroom and the ascensor, Nice service, but not a place to stay again THanks