Ratings based on 7 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Washington, USA

Favorite place we have stayed in Puerto Vallarta

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: The beach view and the staff. Osbaldo was our waiter almost every morning. We loved the 5 star treatment of just the american breakfast each morning.
Cons: Just please up keep the hotel as it is older. Rooms were roomy though.
Location: . The Zoo, Mismaloya, Zip lines, Botanical Garden, Los Arcos, The romantic Zone the Malecon. The system is easy. Just sometimes very busy.
This Hotel is right on the beach, Only 10 minute bus ride to downtown. Plenty of cool places to check out including lots of food. We like the food vendors on the Malecon. The Taste of Italy my favorite restaurant. and inexpensive. 15 pesos for Margaritas. Now we are middle lower class americans so we feel that this hotel and location was our speed, plus all rooms are facing the beach. The Botanical Garden is just a 20 peso, 30 minute drive. Amazing! The zoo was 15 minutes away and found an amazing family restaurant called Tony's. Good Tequila tour there too. But use bug spray for the zoo and garden. Many of the people of the Hotel have been coming back for years because it is affordable. The lagoon is amazing unless it is high tide. But the few days we got to swim in it was awesome. You can just watch the fish in the clear water. Thestaff was amazing Arturo, Osbaldo and the rest. Real friendly. We were not into their buffet meals. Some stuff good others not. Their presentation was great.We have stayed in Nuevo Vallarta and felt poor. We have stayed south of the marina and it was a little too hectic on the streets and noisy. Downtown and it was noisy fun. Costa Sur was the best location for us. We hope to go back there someday. Just wish the tide was not as high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Gelsey Fadul, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We hope you come back too! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from tx

beach of rocks

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: the view
Cons: price of food . staff attitude ,
Location: noting near by ,, nothing
way way over priced food ,a wave breaker that does work, beach full of rocks and staff with attitude. and only want to charge more , not interested in helping in any way . its a timeshare for old people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington State

Winter get away

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: old mexican charm, cleanliness of resort and friendlyness of staff
Cons: Poolside service was slow and they only had one waiter for pool and beach. Food quality could have been better for the price
Location: The location was south of Old Town, and a short bus ride to the little fishing village of Mismaloya where there is a nice beach, and a small zoo.
We stayed at Costa Sur for 7 days and were very comfertable. Our room was nice and big and the bed was very comfertable. the shower was huge and I loved the old Mexican charm of the painted tiles. As in other reviews our room needed a new fridge, but it worked and it kept things cold and we really didn't store much in it except things to drink. We didn't eat at the hotel much, mostly snacks, and what we did have was ok nothing spectacular. The drinks at the pool are very weak, and I thought they should have more then one waiter for the pool and beach because service was a bit slow. We never had any problems getting a lounge chair by the pool as other reviews had stated. We liked the location of the resort as it was just a little ways from the hussle and bustle of town and only a short bus ride or Taxi. We enjoyed going into town for Dinner and shopping but beware of timeshare sharks as they lurke at restaraunts and the tequila stores. If you are a person who likes night life and a lot of activities, then this hotel is not for you, this is a place to relax and get away not to party. We each got a massage at the hotel and they were amazing, price was good only $30.00 US each. the view from the room was amazing and we got to see whales, other people saw dolphins as well. All in all we had a very nice trip and came home very relaxed and rested.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Gelsey Fadul, Hotel Management
Dear Tara, Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review about your stay at Costa Sur. We hope you come back and visit us again very soon!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Colorado, USA

Dated hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We chose the hotel because of it's beach and lagoon but truthfully we could not use it most of the time due to high seas and because they have taken down some rocks at one end so now the current easily sweeps you out into the ocean. While we were there 2 people were sucked out to sea and washed up (thankfully ok) onto the very jagged rocks next door. You should note only level 8 has the fancy rooms you see on the website and the place is full of timeshares but at least the staff were not aggressive on the sales end. Our room was ok but dated. The hotel is a little dated and smaller than it seems on the website. Be prepared for all the smokers around the bar and pool which are close together. This really spoiled our time at the pool. The restaurant food leaves much to be desired and the daily bingo etc (again right at the pool area) might not be your thing. Thankfully the bus stops right outside and you can easily get into town which is where we ended up spending most of our time.
4 out of 5
by duque from Puerto Vallarta, México

beatiful views

Posted Sep 28, 2013
clean,quite,spacious, nice balcony,  a perfect hotel to kick back and spend time looking at the ocean from your room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Gelsey Fadul, Hotel Management
Dear Duque, Thank you so much for your comments about Costa Sur. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with the rest of the travel community. We hope you come back to visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
by BeachElena from Oregon

View is awesome!

Posted May 28, 2013
Older and a bit tired style Mexico. Rooms very clean. Bed was comfortable.Plenty of towels and a little mini kitchen in our studio was perfect. The kitchens need a counter update, lifting linoleum. All units have beautiful ocean views. We took our dining chairs out on our patio and watched the dolphins swim by every morning. The staff was exceptional. Every one was kind, friendly and helpful. The food was good. We sat at the buffett on a Saturday night for three hours at a ocean front table and grazed. It was not crowded and the wait staff was very accomidating with anything we needed. This is one thing about Mexico,they do not rush you in restaurants, you ask for the check when you are ready to leave. The swimming pool for kids was refreshing. But the adult pool was warm. Perfect if you have arthritis I suppose, but not good if you want to cool off away from kids. The beach is perfect for swimming and snorkelling. Clean and protected by a rock barrier.About 15 minute or less bus ride to town with just a couple stops, 70 pesos. Then Taxi back was $7.00 US dollars. We liked Costa Sur and will return and stay in a 1 bedroom with our timeshare exchange.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Gelsey Fadul, Hotel Management
Dear Elena, Thank you so much for your kind notes about Costa Sur. I am positive many they will be very helpful to future travelers. WE hope you come back to visit us again very soon!
5 out of 5
by Mydremcometrue from Mason City, IA 50401, USA

everyone mede me feel welcom

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, beach right outside
Good price, exelent location nice rooms, very nice people I recommend to my friends and I will back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Gelsey Fadul, Hotel Management
Thank you o much for your review. Hope you come back soon!