Ratings based on 82 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Location to Lake was nice

Posted Mar 15, 2017
When we first checked in Saturday at about 10:30 it was like a disco was going on in the lobby area loud music I could barely hear the check-in staff over the noise. The security staff was rude to me said I was in a restricted area and it was not marked restricted at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Beautiful hotel, excellent staff!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
We stayed for 2 nights. Very friendly and helpful staff at check in, great room. Room service food was delivered warm and fresh and staff were very prompt and professional. Very highly recommend!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from New York

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Reserved room with breakfast but only tiny part was covered..like croissants and yogurt.. paid extra for eggs.charge more but offer decent food. I visit Chicago 3-4 times per year and always had nice experience. Never come back W lakeshore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Beautiful hotel, perfect location!

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: The view, the staff, the convenience of location!
Cons: The toilet needs fixed, not just patched.
Location: On Lakeshore Drive, across from the beach! Very close to the Navy Pier, shopping and restaurants!
The hotel was very impressive! The staff was very friendly and helpful! It was a perfect location; close to everything we needed! We had a beautiful view from our window! We could see Lake Michigan, with the boats and skiers, the beach and Navy Pier; including the fireworks! The only problem we had was the toilet. They had to come plunger it when we firtst got there. Someone before had turned off the water to it because when you turned on the water, it just overflowed. They fixed that. Later that same day, they had to come use the snake on it. From thereon, we just had to baby it to keep it from clogging again. One minor setback in an otherwise perfect hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Nice hotel, good location for Navy Pier. Nice rooms.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

disappointing

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: comfy bed
Cons: The dining , room up-keep,modernization -or at least Iphone 5/6 adapters . Reading lights on both sides of the bed. Coffee maker in the room.
The standards at this The W were not what I normally experience at other W's . The room was clean but very basic and the upkeep was lacking- dirty walls , missing trim , chipped paint , mould in the shower grout. The 'free' breakfast was actually two $20.00 coupons that could be used on any meal . We chose breakfast , it was not good-cold food , stale croissants , cold coffee . All in all very disappointing when we had splashed out for a swankier hotel ! The motel that I stayed in the night before for $130.00 less was actually a better experience. When I complained they were very apologetic and offered me 1500 starwood award points which I think values at $3.40 !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Ecclectic stay with small rooms and a beautiful view of the city or pier, depending on the side of the building. As a vacationer, we were disappointed to have missed (?) the valet parking requirement. $300 were weren't planning to spend.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from indiana

Where hipsters reign and every one else is in pain

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Too bad they spent so much on decor and didn't think to insulate walls so people could actually sleep.
Cons: When you have a complaint management might step up.
Placed in a room on the 33rd floor, two floors under the ballroom. A wedding reception was in progress until midnight. I knew when it was over because that was when my room stopped vibrating. Was able to hear every word of conversation in room next door. Neighbors were not too loud, walls were thin as rice paper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

Modern Look on the Lake

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Went on weekend trip with wife, daughter and niece. Very updated hotel with modern look and vibe. Convenient location. Valet parking was easy. Walk to Starbucks. Short cab ride to Miracle Mile shopping.
3 out of 5
by Spicyee

Not satisfied

Posted Mar 23, 2013
I had booked in advance for a 2 queen bed when I had 2 other friends with me and when I checked in I only got 1 king size bed instead. So they told me that it was based on check in time first come first serve. I'm from Michigan and we drove 4 hours to Chicago. So my buddy didnt have a pleasant night sleeping on the couch.