Ratings based on 5,121 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Almost

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: Better beds and pillows and lose the umbrella charge---the umbrella could not be worth more than $3-to add a $30 room charge seems unfriendly at best.
Location: perfect location restaurants off all types nearby and the same for shopping.
The hotel is perfectly located, charming and small-coffee available in the lounge each morning and a nice bar restaurant in the back. The hotel is bustling and thus there are a fair amount of people and luggage lingering in the lobby area throughout the day, which for me takes away from the aesthetic and charm of the hotel. The beds are hard as a brick and we woke up stiff and sore every morning. The shower which was not producing hot water when we first arrived, turned out to be a nice strong shower later on- though my husband 6'1" found the showerhead to be way too low and had to duck a fair amount to shampoo his hair. I asked for an umbrella the night before a rainy day---since the lobby is swarming with people not just checking in and out but just hanging around-I thought I would secure an umbrella and avoid standing in line the next morning. I was told by the women at the desk (who reluctantly gave me the umbrella) the night before that $30 would be charged to our room bill for the umbrella and only removed once it was retuned by the end of the day. I would not describe her as especially pleasant nor have I EVER experienced a charge for an umbrella while a guest in a hotel. All and all, would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great value at excellent location

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
perfect hotel for a Chicago visit
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your FIVE STAR REVIEW!!!
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Expedia
The help at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The restaurants had good food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by The Whitehall Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Houston TX

Awesome gem of a find!

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Incredible value in one of Chicago''s most upscale areas...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your FIVE STAR REVIEW!!!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Manhattan

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Expedia
we were upgraded - for no particular reason - to their most luxurious room, which has a balcony overlooking the magnificent mile and the hancock tower, an amazingly comfortable bed, two bathrooms, and a fully equipped living room, all with a mid-20th century style that is unique these days and made our experience special and memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by The Whitehall Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad that our team went above and beyond for you. We will see you next time!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Paris

Chambre sombre et bruyante.

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Expedia
Chambre vetuste et loin du niveau de prestation attendu pour ce type d'hôtel.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Denham springs, La

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel exceeded expectations.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very good value for money and a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your FIVE STAR REVIEW!!!!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Elgin, ILLINOIS

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Anniversary stay in Chicago. One minor complaint: It seemed like there was a refrigerator missing in the dresser. The large empty space with a hole in the bottom shelf was of NO use. (The fridge would have been nice to have.) Funny how just one thing can prevent a perfect stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your FIVE STAR REVIEW!!!!
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response!