Ratings based on 4,828 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler from K. Florida

Can't go wrong

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Very comfortable room, coffee downstairs , umbrellas available, superb location, very capable staff, our second stay here.. Good value. Many restaurants, cafes, and shopping just minutes away.. A CTA pass and a Uber app on your phone is all you need to explore Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
by The Whitehall Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from New York

Great bed & location, clean & quiet room but dark

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Location, bedding, cleanliness, quiet
Cons: Lighting was poor and view was terrible
Location: Near magnificent mile shopping and the Hancock tower.
We stayed in room 1213, which has a single, king size bed. The room is nicely furnished, but the décor is dark and lighting was limited. Keeping the window shades up for light wasn't a great option because the room opens to an air shaft and there are rooms directly opposite. On the bright side, the hotel is very nicely situated near magnificent mile shopping and a block from the Hancock tower. The bed and bedding were excellent and the room was very quiet. If you are looking for a clean, convenient place to sleep and you aren't planning to hang out in the hotel, this could be a good hotel choice for you.
1 out of 5
by Tara

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was just okay. When dealing with the staff they all seemed to not genuinely care about the issues we were having. We were told to take some things out of our mini bar so we could put our leftover pizza in it, however they ended up charging us for the items we removed even though they told us to and when we brought it to their attention the next morning they said they would take inventory and email us a new bill, to date they still have not done this. When we called again to discuss they were rude and just transferred us to a voicemail without telling us they were. We are extremely frustrated because it is a $70 bill that we should not have to pay. We were in room 703 on 5/25/16.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great location

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was in a great location. Nice historic hotel. Some updates have been done, but the fixtures are out of date and hard to use for any abilities, and harder for those with any hand/arthritis issues. Otherwise very nice lobby/bar area.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

find another place!!

Posted May 25, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: location
Cons: complete makeover
It was not the greatest experience.No fridge in the room you have to pay $10 to get one!! ,no coffee in the room .they tell there is free coffee in lobby you go you find coffee in lobby is out you ask hotel people nobody cares!! room is ugly looking and not properly cleaned.curtains not working!!
4 out of 5
by Michiel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Whitehall before and will probably stay there again. The staff in the lobby were all very pleasant and helpful. Hotel location is excellent, public transportation is readily available and shopping and urban scenery are excellent. Two quite good restaurants are in the hotel and numerous others are just a few minutes walk away. Our stay was, however, made less pleasant by the quality of work done by people who make up the room. In our four day stay we needed to make several requests for towels, soap, TV remote control, and on the final night our alarm clock went off at 2 AM. We hadn't set or turned it on. Apparently that was done, probably unintentionally, by the person that made up our room.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Amazing time in Chicago

Posted May 21, 2016 on Expedia
Great hotel.. Great location.. Would definitely stay there again. Staff was great as well... Sargon was great with recommendations... And was very entertaining.
4 out of 5
by Masaaki from 神戸

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
早めについたのですが、追加料金(25ドル)で入室でき、よかったです。