Ratings based on 4,459 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago

Very close to water tower area

Posted Jan 27, 2016
I saw this hotel from the secret hotel deals for $63/night, very good value for my money. I had no idea what this secret hotel will be like until I was done booking. Be careful because booking a secret hotel is not cancellable. This is a botique hotel so expect small lobby. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room is clean with good vintage interior design and has a decent size. My room has 2 connecting rooms, very convenient for families but I can hear conversations from the adjacent room. They have this automated mini bars, you have to call the receptionist to unlock the refrigerator if you like something from it. Unfortunately, I can't use it to store my yogurt but they sent an ice bucket instead . It is a short walk to the water tower area/magnificient mile from the hotel. The hotel has Chinese and Italian restaurant onsite. Chinese food was pretty good, has small portions. It's decent place to stay to relax at night after a busy day in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Peachtree City, GA

Great hotel, great value, in the heart of the City

Posted Nov 20, 2015
The Whitehall Hotel took me by surprise, and exceeded my expectations. A quiet, but elegant North Lake hotel. Directly across the street from The Four Seasons. Walking distance to everything. My only issue was a distinct lack of outlets to plug in devices, a common issue in older buildings. Overall - a great choice in Chicago!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deidra from Chicago

Don't pay with debit .

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
I still haven't received my deposit back after it took less than 2 seconds to be deducted from my account , however it takes over a week to be returned ? Terrible .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tori

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Chicago Whitehall Hotel - nice place

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Close to shops, restaurants and the Magnificent mile. Just around the corner from the famous Water Works building.
Cons: Early noise in the morning. I would suggest that you request a room away from any potential noise.
Location: Just around the corner from the famous water work building.
Very nice hotel, clean and friendly staff. This is an easy walk to many restaurants and also retail stores on the magnificent mile. Transportation such as city bus and subway are also very close as well. If you are spending most of the time downtown you can take the subway in from the airport quite easily and you will not require a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James from Calgary

Old but Nice

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Hotels.com did a great job in getting me this hotel at the last second. This hotel was actually quite nice, in an old and charming sort of way, and was in a good location. Although the hotel seems very old, everything was clean and nicely taken care of. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I will not be hesitant to book with this hotel again and to do so through hotels.com given the great service I received this past trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Katheryn from Chicago

Can't wait to go back

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
First time using hotel.com. Received great follow-up and confirmation status. Hotel staff generous and very pleasing. I got upgraded to a jr. suite. What a nice surprise and this was a much needed get away. Showers had great pressure and bed was super comfortable. I will be back again as soon as I can thru hotel.com!