Ratings based on 168 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Minneapolis

Great hotel close to theaters and lake

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: The location was great but what we liked best was the staff. Everyone we dealt with was courteous and friendly. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: The only suggestion that I would make would be to have softer pillows or at least a selection. My husband liked the hard pillows but I don't.
Location: Theaters, The Navy Pier, Miracle Mile shopping and many restaurants in walking distance.
We went to Chicago for our anniversary and to see Hamilton. This hotel met all of our expectations and more. We had a great view of Lake Michigan plus we could walk to shopping, restaurants and theaters. We felt so comfortable at the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Conjunctivitis at its best.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Extremely hard to locate when entering downtown Chicago. Hotel staff (valet personnel) and atmosphere were decent. Room was spacious. However, contracted PINK EYE from bed linens (that were clearly not cleaned properly) and front desk staff waves it off as nothing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Lovely view in the center of all the attractions

Posted Dec 5, 2016
I loved our stay at the hotel, we were surrounded with a beautiful view and in the center of all our planned activities. You can take the blue line from Ohare airport practically straight to the hotel, with just a few blocks to walk from the exit of the train. The bed was very comfortable with a cozy feel to it. The overall stay was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Brittany , Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room and the location of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best, Brittany Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from C

A Thanksgiving getaway

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The price was very reasonable. ....and then they added the tax. Over $50 in taxes per day plus $37 per day for parking. That made the two day trip more expensive than I originally planned. I have to say it was worth it though. The location was perfect. The weather was gorgeous and we fell in love with the city all over again. I only live an hour away but hadn't been downtown in two years. We had a view of the river and the pier and the lights at night were spectacular. It was a great way to kick off the holidays. I would do it again. Only concern was that the concierge did not know anything about buses and advised us to take a cab. We asked the concierge at the Drake and he told us what buses to take and that was easier than cabs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Brittany , Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience while staying at Swissotel Chicago. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best, Brittany Marketing Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Beautiful Views!!!

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Hotel was conveniently located. Close to Millenium Park, at the end of the Magnificent Mile and across the river. Rooms were ok. Bed was uncomfortable but view made it a little better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Brittany , Hotel Management
Dear guest, I would like to apologize for the lack of experience you had during your stay. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Best, Brittany
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

This hotel is close to everything! Beautiful view!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff, convenience, location, room cleanliness, spectacular views
Cons: Nothing
Location: It's close to Riverwalk, Navy Pier, Millenium Park, and many great restaurants.
Swissotel is located on the river (river walk) and is very close to Navy Pier and Millenium Park. We saw the sunrise every morning on Lake Michigan looking out at Navy Pier. We certainly would stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from St. Charles, IL

Great location, room was not worth the money.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
We stayed for one night, 29th floor. The location was ideal but our room needed some serious attention. We were not able to shower without the bathroom flooding since the door /seals leaked. The swimming pool area needed maintenance too. After splashing around for an hour my family lost all sense of smell for a day due to the level of chlorine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Madison, WI

Sightseeing Weekend

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Very nicely appointed. Comfortable bed, large bathrooms, robes provided, etc. Very clean and up to date. Obviously well maintained.
Location: Did a walking tour with Walk Chicago. Fabulous! Saw things most people in Chicago never see or are unaware of. 1 guide, 3 people, 3 hours, 90 bucks
Chose this hotel for its proximity to what we wanted to see in Chicago as we were playing tourist with a relative visiting for his first time. It was a good choice...convenient plus clean, very well appointed, etc. We wanted to experience the city, however, so did not do any of our eating/drinking at the hotel. The exercise is impressive with a terrific view. Two negatives: there was a bar charge to our tab that was not ours; the desk clerk said that it would take a few days for her to be able to discuss it with the bar manager and then she would address the issue. We declined and asked that it be deleted immediately since we had never patronized their bar. I asked a bartender what their procedure was for allowing guests to charge to their rooms. Clearly they did not follow procedure in this particular case. The second negative was that we discovered two 100 dollar charges to our credit card after we returned home (we had two separate rooms). We called and were told that these charges were for incidentals and would be removed in five business days. No one told us either verbally or in writing that these charges would be made. We will be checking our accounts in a few days to see if they follow through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice View Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: It is a very nice Hotel, elegant, and clean
Cons: They could improve some of the items that need updating
Location: Nearby is millenium park and all kinds of fun things to do Downtown, though we went to the Mexican Villita to eat!
A very beautiful hotel, the staff was very nice, around the corner there is a park and stay parking for #36 you can pull up and leave the car in the garage if you do not want a valet. But was very satisfied. No microwave in the rooms, the fridge does not get the items cold. So to sleep and to order it works. I would definitely visit again however. Their elevators have to be selected before you get on the elevators, and then it will tell you what elevator to get on. The pool is small and seems bigger in the pictures, lodged between 2 fitness centers which look out, the pool does not really have a outside view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Brittany , Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review based on your past stay at Swissotel Chicago. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and our location. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Best, Brittany
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Family Treat.

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: 42nd floor. Pool, weight/exercise area and hot tub....awesome. Room on 25th floor had a great view. Nice place!!
Cons: Heads up about parking....we parked in garage at the SE corner of the property. Saved some money.
Location: Shedds and Science Museums. Walked to Giordanos for pizza. Many stores just a short walk to the west.
Father took two kids(12 and 16) to museums. No complaints about our one night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by Brittany , Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! Best, Brittany