Ratings based on 2,804 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Saginaw, Michigan

One of the best hotels that I've ever stayed in!

Posted Aug 7, 2015
The staff was always kind and courteous. Great food at the restaurants. In walking distance from the magnificent mile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great Chicago Hotel.....Right by the Miracle Mile

Posted May 30, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Friendly staff, very clean, modern furniture, comfortable bed, quiet at night (sirens can be a real problem in Chicago), great location.
Cons: There could be more 'pizzaz" to the place....but you'd pay a lot more for this....Like at a Ritz Carlton.
Location: Right downtown, walking distance to the shopping, restaurants, and Art Museum. I also ran along the Lake front park, great scenery of the downtown.
Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. I've been to Chicago a dozen times, and have to say this was one of the nicest hotels I have ever been to. It is located downtown, right off N. Michigan Ave, a major street. It is very close to the John Hancock building. I walked to the Art Museum.....It's about a mile walk through the center of Chicago. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I need a mini-fridge, and it was delivered in less than 5 minutes. The bar was clean and active, with a fireplace to warm you. I did not eat there, but wish I had to try it. It was not the perfect place....but it came very close. Would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Newark, NJ

Great location just off Michigan Ave.

Posted May 28, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Funky European feel.
Location: Near shopping, dining, and not far from the business district.
Staff were very helpful and attentive. Free coffee all morning was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Carlsbad, CA

French experience in Chicago!

Posted May 27, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Room, Staff, Restaurant, View, Location, Amenities (the beds were amazing!), Croissants (real French ones from a local bakery), Four star feel!
Cons: the stay was perfect
Location: Water Tower campus of Loyola Chicago, the El Train, Magnificent Mile, local restaurants, friendly cab drivers,etc.
From the moment we walked in, the hotel staff was friendly, greeting everyone with Bonjour! The room was clean, had a view of part of downtown Chicago, and we felt we were in a four star hotel (which is what we bid for). The Hotel is exactly where they said it was: Water Tower district of Chicago. This was important to us because we were there to look at Loyola Chicago's Water Tower Campus, and it was only a three minute walk. We were also a two to three minute walk to the subway and getting around was very easy. They offered umbrellas every time it rained, were helpful with getting cabs, and each afternoon after a busy day in the city, we were excited about heading back to the Sofitel to relax and regroup. The food at the Sofitel is amazing, from the complimentary croissant and strong coffee they offer every morning for early birds, to the lunch and dinner in their dining room. Their lobby is inviting; they have several areas in the lobby for guest to interact outside of the room, and the staff serving drinks downstairs is friendly. What else can I say? We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon to The Sofitel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Great location for the hotel.

Posted May 26, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The location of the Sofitel is perfect. Great shopping and could catch a train or bus to other parts of Chicago.
Cons: It's pricey, but it's all about the location and the excellent customer service, and the cleanliness of the property.
Location: Shopping is surrounding the hotel. Easy to get to other locations.
Loved the hotel and especially the staff. The restaurant employees were very friendly and always had a smile for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from miami

Great hotel and location

Posted May 26, 2015 on Expedia
This was the most amazing trip ever. The hotel is minutes from everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Beautiful Hotel in a great location

Posted May 26, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Location, room size and d├ęcor, comfortable beds
Cons: Bathroom - per comments.
Location: Tons of activities, restaurants, and shopping in walking distance. This also feels like a very safe and active area.
We spent two nights at this hotel in May, 2015. We were traveling with our 11 and 8 year old sons and stayed in one of the Premier Suites. The room was the perfect size for our family- they had the living / sitting area with a sofa bed and separate couch, so they each had their own place to sleep and were separated from the bedroom by a large bathroom. This was a beautiful hotel. Staff was very friendly and check-in / check-out were a breeze. We didn't eat at the hotel at all, because there are so many options nearby. The only negative comment I have at all (and it's very minor) is that there is no lock on the bathroom door and the toilet closet area is just a clear glass door - so it's a little awkward when traveling with older kids. Otherwise this was a great hotel, perfect sized room for us, and we would stay here again or recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dawson from Royal oak

Memorial Weekend Visit

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very please. Can't think of anything I would have changed. Beautiful hotel. Great location. Very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Emily from chicago

great hotel with superb service!

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
we stayed for a bachelorette party! Loved everything about it! Suite was spacious and clean! Very comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great location, close to all sightseeing areas.

Posted May 26, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Chicago was great, the hotel was in the perfect location, close to all the major tourist attractions and close to all transportation.