Ratings based on 17 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Visiting new grandchild

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Publics Hotel offered a nice room at a great price. Excellent staff help. Good coffee bar reasonably priced considering the free refills all day. Within walking distance to public transportation. Hotel restaurant was over priced for our budget, but other restaurants in the area were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great value. Good location

Posted Dec 17, 2016
One block off Rush Street. Hall ways need new carpet, they seem to be 20 yes old. Room was great!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Nice boutique hotel near lincoln park

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: It was unique
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms!!!
Overall very nice boutique hotel with a great coffee shop. Our room was in DESPERATE need of a deep clean. There were mystery stains on the carpet and the walls and baseboards were scuffed up (and that is not something I would usually even notice- this was very obvious).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice, Quiet and convenient

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Quiet hotel and neighborhood.
Cons: Coffee in the room would be nice.
Location: Quiet residential neighborhood close to Magnificent Mile and less than 2 blocks from the lake.
Hotel was very clean and quiet. I will try to stay at the Public Chicago on my next stay if I am able.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Salt LAke City Utah

Boutique hotel with a great staff!

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: The staff was very personable and friendly. Décor and public spaces were inviting and comfortable. Great location in a beautiful neighborhood
Cons: More plugs, bigger bathroom.
Location: Beautiful residential neighborhood within walking distance to Lincoln Park and Zoo, Lake Michigan and amazing shopping.
We stayed in a loft room for an extended weekend. The bed and bedding were comfortable and great, even the sofa bed which is hardly ever the case! Our only complaint was that the bathroom was small for 4 people and there was a shortage of plugs. Other than that, it was a perfect stay!!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Lisle, IL

Great location - Room ok

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The lobby and location were very nice.
Cons: The room needs work. The carpet worn, light switches didn't function well, the pictures on the wall were 3x5. Not seen that before.
Location: 2 blocks from lake-shore drive and a close walk to the north side of the loop. The homes in that area are outstanding.
The location was great and close to where we wanted to be. The room was not what we expected for the price.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
I wasn't really impressed. It may be fine for some, but I thought they went overboard with trying to look and be eclectic. Yet, it just kind of made things somewhat uncomfortable. Some people may like that feeling of disconnect. I just didn't care for it. The staff was helpful, and attentive. The hotel was clean and well kept. I may have just expected more from the rating. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of PUBLIC Chicago. We understand that gracious, candid feedback drives success. We are delighted to read that you found our staff helpful and attentive and your accommodations clean and well kept. We do hope that you’ll give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from K

Great stay!!!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We stayed in the one bedroom suite for a friends wedding. The room was beautiful and staff were very accommodating. The morning coffee bar and fireplace was perfect for a cold weekend. The Gold Coast area is perfect walking distance to Michigan Ave shopping and nearby restaurants within walking distance made the location perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Dear Kim K, Thank you for your wonderful review of PUBLIC Hotel Chicago. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room, our coffee bar with its fireplace setting, and the service provided by our staff. Our location in the Gold Coast area is indeed perfect for nearby shopping on Michigan Avenue and we are glad you were able to take advantage of this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nice but could be better

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: A nice, modern feeling hotel. The staff was gracious.
Cons: Terrible wi-fi. Free for 1 mbps or $20/day for 4 mbps (too slow) No vent in a small bathroom No refill of toiletries; emptied 1 or 2 wastebaskets
Location: More of a residential neighborhood. Restaurants were a few blocks away.
The Public is a nice, modern feeling hotel with room for improvement. Clearly you could see bones of the former Ambassador East which was what this property used to be known as. The Public did keep the name of their well-known restaurant, Pump Room. We went to the Library and Coffee Bar on a Saturday night. We are in our mid-50’s and felt a bit out of place so took our drinks back to our room. It was loud and crowded with young, stylish professionals. We found out the next day that there were two parties going on in the bar which is why it was so crowded and boisterous. We called down to the front desk on Saturday evening because our neighbor’s TV was so loud we could hear it in our room. I think it was a combination of their TV being turned up as well as the walls being thin. Security did come up and asked them to turn their TV down (and they did.) We could even hear our neighbor’s phone when it rang. Sunday morning I went to the front desk and received a complimentary Chicago Tribune. I wanted a Diet Coke, but found that they don’t have coke products or any vending machines of any kind on any floor. The front desk directed me to the Library and Coffee Bar which has a breakfast service but they didn’t have any diet soda. They directed me to the Pump Room and I couldn’t find anyone there so I just went back to my room. I found that the Pump Room doesn’t open for brunch until 9:00 and I was there at 8:30.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jtowery from Los Angeles, CA

Great location and customer service!

Posted Jul 31, 2013
This is a great Chicago hotel. I'm currently staying here on business with a large group of associates. The location is a very clean and beautiful part of Chicago, with tons of great restaurants and bars to choose from. However, what stands out most is the hotel staff. In particular, Paul at the front desk is fantastic! He has gone far out of his way on multiple occasions to accommodate our every need. Where the hotel itself lacks, Paul exceeds. He's made my group and myself feel at home since we were handed our room key upon checking in. He's provided the upmost in customer service by taking care of our every need and beyond. I will definitely stay here during my next visit to Chicago and recommend to friends in the future.