Ratings based on 1,050 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Nice boutique hotel near lincoln park

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: It was unique
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms!!!
Overall very nice boutique hotel with a great coffee shop. Our room was in DESPERATE need of a deep clean. There were mystery stains on the carpet and the walls and baseboards were scuffed up (and that is not something I would usually even notice- this was very obvious).
4 out of 5
by A traveler from connecticut

Great hotel, great location.

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Expedia
Hotel was great overall. the restaurant is wonderful! Rooms are clean and large! The only issue we had was the drainage in the shower/tub and the sink. It took a long time for the water to drain.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Sophisticated(sometimes shabby) in Great Location

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Location, friendly staff, overall look(charm)
Cons: The obvious wear and tear in the room was disappointing. The bathroom look/layout.
Location: In Gold Coast which seems mostly residential. Short walk to Lincoln Park, Magnificent Mile. Moderate walk to Lincoln Park Zoo, Conservatory, Navy Pier
All of the staff was very welcoming, friendly and willing to assist with our requests and questions about the city. The hotel is located close to Lincoln Park and within an easy walk to the Magnificent Mile, and good restaurants/clubs, but also far enough away that you are surrounded by hundreds of people. However, a drawback to this is actually late-night dining. We arrived near midnight from CA and found very few options that were not also busy pubs/clubs.The location feels sort of like the upper east side of NY with beautiful homes (few other hotels seemed to be nearby unlike downtown). The lobby of the hotel is beautiful and constantly dimly lit. If feels like something out of The Great Gatsby with seemingly original features left from the past like mail chutes and older elevators. The room was a good size, we had a corner unit so the light in the morning was amazing, and the bed was comfy. At first glance it's a beautiful room. However, after being there you start to see it isn't in great shape. Some problem areas were: - thin carpet with several large stains from water and (possibly) bleach. - bathroom was (strangely) unnecessarily large, oddly set and sparse. Bathroom seemed more like something you would find in 2 star chain motels. - a few small-ish holes in the comforter - VERY little storage if you want to unpack While none of the problems were big enough for us to complain about as we spent very little time in the room, I would have expected more for the stars.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Old Hollywood Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Expedia
Rooms reek of mold or cat pee. Elevators are slow and sometimes don't work. I didn't get the room I paid for BC there was a wedding party that apparently took precedence. Soo I got a $50 drink credit. Close proximity to all the fancy stuff, Soo that was decent. I suggest choosing a hotel w updates and more amenities. I feel like the staff was always apologizing. No good. No microwave in room.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Expedia
Had a great time! Really close to al the places in the city we wanted to go to! The rooms are nice and staff has the best customer service I have ever had at a hotel!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Comfortable and stylish stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay at the Public - really stylish and comfortable hotel with great restaurant and bar attached. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Toronto, ON

Amazing hotel in a spectacular neighbourhood.

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: I loved everything, from the location. It was in a safe and quiet neighbourhood. To it's lobby bar and restaurant for breakfast and cocktails.
Cons: Nothing, it was perfect.
Location: Water is about 5 mins walk east. Best shopping and resto's within walking distance as well.
If you want to feel like you're living the high life while on vacation in the heart of Chicago proper, Public Hotel is the place to visit. The hotel nestles itself in amongst it's neighbours in Gold Coast, and is walking distance to all the best shopping, restaurants and CTA. About 20mins from Chicago River, I found it the perfect distance to soak in the morning sun walking with my coffee and coming back walking off a Chicago traditional deep dish pizza. Booked upon the recommendation of a friend, and will only ever be staying at Public Hotel Chicago for future visits.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels