Ratings based on 4,241 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Wisconsin

The Finest Hotel Experience in Chicago

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: I like the staff, the beds, the overhead showers, the very commfortable lobby and the location.
Cons: Perhaps the breakfast offered in the coffe shop.
Location: The Knickerbocker is within easy walking distance of Rush Street, Oak Street, the Hancock Building and the shopping on Michigan Avenue.
While the ambience is both beautiful and comfortable, the jazz in the lobby is sublime, the king-size beds are outstanding and the overhead showers a huge plus, it is the staff at The Knickerbocker that makes it the premier hotel in Chicago. In addition to being among the best and most experienced, it is their genuine dedication to their guests that sets them apart. All of the staff I have encountered have been top-notch service providers who also seem to truly enjoy their jobs and working at The Knickerbocker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Urbana IL

Great Stay!

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere and the outstanding concierge service. Loved the carpaccio, and the burger at Nix was outstanding.
Cons: Weekend breakfast service at Nix, the hotel restaurant.
Location: Near 900 N. Michigan Avenue, Water Tower Place, and full access to Michigan Avenue.
Outstanding desk, concierge, housekeeping, bar and bell service. The food was excellent and well-priced. As a single traveler, I enjoyed eating at the lobby bar--twice; and in their restaurant. When the restaurant was not busy, the service was very good. About 20 minutes after I checked out (and checked my bags), I realized that I had left some gourmet cheese purchased at the "one of a kind" show that weekend in the room frig. After a quick call, I found my cheese with my checked bags when I returned to the Knickerbocker for my trip to Union Station and back home. Thanks to all for making my Christmas visit to Michigan Avenue memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Would Stay Again

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Room size, quality, fun lobby.
Cons: Elevators
Location: Awesome location at the top of The Magnificent Mile.
Only one of the 3 elevators was working on check-out which was unfortunate and a hassle. However, the room was clean and fresh and quiet. The shower was a waterfall shower which we enjoyed. Lastly, the concierge gave a great recommendation for breakfast which was an excellent plus (Tempo)!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Good price for the location

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: The location and the friendly bar downstairs.
Cons: The TVs are all very old.
Location: It's the mag mile, you name it, it's around. If it's summer, Oak St beach is a nice place to relax.
Nice bar downstairs, staff was very welcoming. Room is small but cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Awesome centrally located hotel, remodeled.

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Had a fantastic stay at the knickerbocker! The hotel is older but has been remodeled. The hallways smelled clean and everything in the rooms was new and clean. The layout of the king rooms is a little small, not uncomfortable at all, but if you have more than 2 people staying in the room I would definitely get a suite. The hotel is centrally located by the best shopping and restaurants, and if your visit takes you further than walking distance, a plethora of cabs are available right outside the door. This hotel also has a lot of great deals available so keep an eye out! Great find!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patti

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Older hotel. Great location!

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Expedia
Older hotel and needing updates but staff was exceptional. Was initially disappointed that all carpets, paint, etc were showing serious wear and tear. The electrical in our room was controlled by a light switch and the heat was not customer-controlled (we were very hot). Very old and fraying carpets, stains were noticeable. Bedding was perfectly maintained. Having said that, it's only fair to mention the good points...the hotel staff. We had cocktails at the bar in the lobby. We spoke to the bartender. He was awesome! Poured a great drink and gave some great suggestions. We spoke to the concierge, bellman, valet, etc. Each person was attentive and professional and provided great service. Not 100%thrilled about the aging decor and condition of carpets but the people made all the difference! Great stay! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kelly from Bogota Columbia

Bravo!

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
The staff made me feel safe and at home. I had a broken foot and they took care of me perfectly! The bellman Craig was exceptional and I will tell everyone I know to stay there due to the service I received.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carlos from St. Louis, Mo

Awesome Hotel!

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I loved this hotel. We even had an enjoyable breakfast at the onsite Nix restaurant. The proximity to the Magnificent Mile was convenient and made for a fun filled weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anna from SLC

Will Stay Again

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
It was a lovely stay. Would I stay again is always the BIG question, absolutely! The bed was comfy, room over all was extremely clean. Great location. You can walk to any place you'd like from the hotel. Make sure if you are there on a Friday to check out the hotel history tour.