Ratings based on 4,236 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Wisconsin

The Finest Hotel Experience in Chicago

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: I like the staff, the beds, the overhead showers, the very commfortable lobby and the location.
Cons: Perhaps the breakfast offered in the coffe shop.
Location: The Knickerbocker is within easy walking distance of Rush Street, Oak Street, the Hancock Building and the shopping on Michigan Avenue.
While the ambience is both beautiful and comfortable, the jazz in the lobby is sublime, the king-size beds are outstanding and the overhead showers a huge plus, it is the staff at The Knickerbocker that makes it the premier hotel in Chicago. In addition to being among the best and most experienced, it is their genuine dedication to their guests that sets them apart. All of the staff I have encountered have been top-notch service providers who also seem to truly enjoy their jobs and working at The Knickerbocker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Urbana IL

Great Stay!

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere and the outstanding concierge service. Loved the carpaccio, and the burger at Nix was outstanding.
Cons: Weekend breakfast service at Nix, the hotel restaurant.
Location: Near 900 N. Michigan Avenue, Water Tower Place, and full access to Michigan Avenue.
Outstanding desk, concierge, housekeeping, bar and bell service. The food was excellent and well-priced. As a single traveler, I enjoyed eating at the lobby bar--twice; and in their restaurant. When the restaurant was not busy, the service was very good. About 20 minutes after I checked out (and checked my bags), I realized that I had left some gourmet cheese purchased at the "one of a kind" show that weekend in the room frig. After a quick call, I found my cheese with my checked bags when I returned to the Knickerbocker for my trip to Union Station and back home. Thanks to all for making my Christmas visit to Michigan Avenue memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Would Stay Again

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Room size, quality, fun lobby.
Cons: Elevators
Location: Awesome location at the top of The Magnificent Mile.
Only one of the 3 elevators was working on check-out which was unfortunate and a hassle. However, the room was clean and fresh and quiet. The shower was a waterfall shower which we enjoyed. Lastly, the concierge gave a great recommendation for breakfast which was an excellent plus (Tempo)!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Good price for the location

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: The location and the friendly bar downstairs.
Cons: The TVs are all very old.
Location: It's the mag mile, you name it, it's around. If it's summer, Oak St beach is a nice place to relax.
Nice bar downstairs, staff was very welcoming. Room is small but cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Awesome centrally located hotel, remodeled.

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Had a fantastic stay at the knickerbocker! The hotel is older but has been remodeled. The hallways smelled clean and everything in the rooms was new and clean. The layout of the king rooms is a little small, not uncomfortable at all, but if you have more than 2 people staying in the room I would definitely get a suite. The hotel is centrally located by the best shopping and restaurants, and if your visit takes you further than walking distance, a plethora of cabs are available right outside the door. This hotel also has a lot of great deals available so keep an eye out! Great find!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jerri from Fort Wayne, Indiana

Great place to stay!

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
The location and the ambiance is great! We loved the food and the shopping in the area. The staff were very helpful from the doorman to the concierge to the front desk agent. Our room and beds were comfortable. Our only concern was the arrangement for the shower door and the controls. You had to get wet to turn it on or get adjusted. You had to get into the shower in order to reach around the door to access the controls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
This is a great older hotel. The staff was very friendly from start to finish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Columbus, OH

Reasonably priced, but nothing special

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Convenience to shopping
Cons: Free WiFi
All the extras cost extra as this location. $10.95 for WiFi.....really??????
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Nice

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
Nice but didn't appreciate that they charged for internet and their restaurant is too overpriced for guests.