Ratings based on 15 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Diasppointing

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Staff was nice, lobby was nice.
Cons: The room needs a serious renovation.
Location: Location is very centrallay located. Easy access to museums, theaters and art venues.
Let's see our beds squeaked loudly every time you shifted, the pillows were uncomfortable, the shower was broken (was fixed while we were there but we were only there for 48 hours), the carpeting was dirty and the heater was so loud we couldn't hear ourselves think, also the heater adjustment was broken so our only options for temperature control were off and on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from iowa

Loved this hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
We loved the staff and the location. The street was fairly quiet considering we were in a downtown hotel. The bellman to front desk staff were always helpful and cheerful. We will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Gem Find

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Never had heard of this hotel; found a great rate for a great room thru Travelocity. The hotel was quiet, rooms very comfy, clean and spacious, very friendly and helpful staff. Liked the fact that it is an independent hotel with a history. The building is really cool. Close to everything, the neighborhood is a little sketchy at night, but that would be true in any major city. Decor was a bit dated, but in decent shape. Great in-room coffee (Lavazza) and bath products, and free WiFi. Only thing that would have made it better would be more easy-access power strips in the room for charging stuff, and a better work station. If you're coming downtown for business or pleasure, this is nice little gem for a reasonable rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Will return

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Great experience, staff and location. Will return. Enjoyed eating at Meli. They serve breakfast all day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Huntsville, AL

Great location...close to museum campus.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Beds and pillows were super comfortable!!! Temp in room was perfect.
Printers row has restaurants and central to shopping and museums, millennial park, lake Michigan. Concierge, Showtime was awesome as was the rest of the staff. Café Meli (sp?) was great for drinks, breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Very comfortable and clean. Only complaint was doors seemed to slam loudly in order to close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Houston, TX

Perfect Chicago hotel.

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, size of room, good restaurant and service
Location: Walking distance to Art Institute, Grant park, Chicago architectural foundation/walking tour
A great location for this first time visitor to Chicago. Convenient walking distance from the blue line (from the airport) and to/from the city attractions - the Art Institute, Grant park and restaurants. Great view of the library from our room window. Very pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Easy check in on a busy Chicago street. Great central location to many attractions. Front desk very helpful. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ohio

The Hotel Blake was a comfortable stay

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: It was convenient to attractions and also to shopping.
Location: There was plenty of shopping nearby. Shedd Aquarium, Willis Tower and Millenium Park were all within walking distance.
I loved this hotel. The staff were friendly and informative. It was easy to get to and close to everything we wanted to do. We were able to walk to everything we had planned to do. I would definitely go back to Hotel Blake and have already recommended it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Two Harbors mn

Week long museum crawl

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Everything really, from location to the room and view to staff and convenient and wonderful cafe/restaurant. Next time I will change nothing.
Cons: Better TV remote
Location: Art Institute, Shedd, Adler, Sci ? Industry (8+ mile cab ride), Field Museum, CBOT, Sky Deck, restaurants and many others.
Blake is located within walking distance of many nice attractions, short cab to all others. So easy to get places. The Meli Cafe in the building is fantastic for BLD, never had a bad meal and had several custom breakfasts. All staff at cafe and hotel were pleasant and willing to help, I felt right at home. Biggest surprise was the very low window sills in the huge picture window in my room, giving me a wide angle view of the neighborhood while sitting in one of the chairs in the room. Rarely find this anywhere, and it allows for a time to relax and just enjoy where you are.