Ratings based on 91 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Doha, Qatar

Central location and great views

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, pleasant room, great view.
Cons: Breakfast and dining choices
This hotel is an excellent choice if you want to be in the centre of Chicago. Walking distance from many Chicago attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by MartPlaza, Hotel Management
Dear Allwyn, Thank you for sharing your 5-star review and recommendation of the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North! We look forward to your next stay with us!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Houston, TX

Awesome

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: The people, the view.
Location: Location was great! It was literally near every touristy thing you want to do!
Really nice hotel and the staff was super nice. When checking in we mentioned it was our first time in Chicago, so she changed our room to make sure we had a skyline view which was awesome and really nice of her. The only slight problem is that it was a little confusing to get to the lobby because it was on the 15th floor and the building is sort of hidden in a corner. But besides that it was really great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2015 by Mart Plaza, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, Thank you for sharing your review and recommendation on Travelocity! We are so pleased you chose us to host your first experience in Chicago and your stay at the Mart Plaza was awesome! We hope our friendly staff, scenic views, and central downtown location are reason for you to continue choosing us to host you when visiting Chicago!
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Would not recommend over better options to choose.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Only stayed here for work conference at that gave reduced rate. Hotel layout causes excessive walking to just get to your room; again have to wait for 2 elevators spread out from each other plus walking long hallways from elevator location and lobby, just to get between front entrance and your hotel room. I would choose a hotel not as far west as this is located in downtown and also one closer to a train station (especially to a transfer station to make ease of travel even better). There was no room safe or mini fridge and the shower water pressure was very weak it barely rinsed out shampoo!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2015 by Mart Plaza, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, It is with great regret we fell below your expectations during your stay with us. We agree our location and lobby, which begins on the 15th floor, are indeed unique, but the views overlooking the Chicago River and downtown skyline afford our guests spectacular views! We do want to share that guestroom safes are scheduled to be installed in every guestroom in 2016 and the hotel is indeed situated near three public transportation train stops. The Purple and Brown line trains can be accessed through the Merchandise Mart, which the hotel is directly connected to, so guests do not even have to step outside to get to the train station! In addition, the Blue line train is located 2-1/2 blocks from the hotel which services O’Hare International Airport as a reliable, inexpensive option for guests coming into Chicago! Thank you and we hope you grant us another opportunity to host you in the future.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

The area is Surrounded by construction

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Parking was extremely expensive, City parking structure was used. The construction made it hard to navigate. The hotel staff was excellent. The building itself was ok. The beds were to soft for many liking.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Philly of course

Good Time

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The location & view.
Cons: Nope
Location: See above
It was our first trip to Chicago. We were visiting with family and friends for the holiday weekend. Our room overlooked the river and was spectacular. I was totally surprised by the number of terrific activities that were available. The River Walk, the boat tours, the old Sears Tower, the beach and the Navy Yard. The restaurant selections were endless. It would take a year to try them all. Our favorite was the Purple Pig! Quite a unique selection of foods and drinks and the staff was most accommodating. I thought Philly pizza was good~~ NOTHING like Chicago deep dish!! HOWEVER I still like ketchup on my hotdogs. Can't wait for a return visit.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Pleasantly surprised

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Although good coffe was in shirt walking distance on the street or at the Merchant Mart. It would be great if the had a Brand named coffee & snacks
Location: The location was awesome. You are within walking distance to everything. If not, public transportation close and taxis were easily found.
I had never been to Chicago before, so had no idea about the local. Was pleasantly surprised at how conveniently located this gem was to all the spectacular sights. Great views from the room, wonderful staff.
1 out of 5
by TravelBug1990 from San Diego, ca

I will never stay at a Holiday Inn anywhere again!

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Cons: Nothing close, Noisy, Poor breakfast, free internet but it didn't work, under construction and didnt post that on website, rude staff, housekeepers walk in without announcing themselves
I am thoroughly unimpressed with my stay at The Mart Plaza Holiday Inn. Unfortunately, we have to stay here for another night! My expectations weren't sky high, because we had a very competitive rate, but I expected much more out of an established hotel chain. The room was very basic, but I was off put by the cheap linens, and the temperamental shower control, which went from freezing to scalding with even the slightest adjustment. The biggest inconvenience was the noise. The offseason is a good time to pursue ongoing renovations, but using power tools next door to occupied rooms at 8 AM is unacceptable. The service standards are very interesting at this hotel. I called the operator and asked for extra pillows. Instead of having a dispatch system and relaying the message for me, I was connected to housekeeping and had to ask someone who wasn't too familiar with the english language. Also, after we had our thermostat worked on, which ran out of batteries, the operator called our room to see if somebody had ever shown up to fix the problem. I understand follow up is important, but disturbing the guest should be a last resort. There should be an open and closed call system so employees can follow up with each other as opposed to trying to get that kind of information from someone who is trying to enjoy a vacation. The lounge in the hotel lobby had a great view and decent daily specials, so we stopped in for a couple drinks before we hit the town. The atmosphere was quite dark and uninviting, and it took forever to be greeted, which is odd considering it was dead in there. When our server finally arrived, she was extremely cold and emotionless, and our simple vodka sodas didn't even have a hint of alcohol in them. Needless to say we did not order another and hoped to get the point across that she was terrible by offering no gratuity. I work in hospitality, so I am quite familiar of the ins and outs of the industry. I also understand the phrase "you get what you pay for" but for us, that wasn't the case. The only thing positive I can mention about the hotel was the view and the price tag. We had other options in the city for a similar price, and if we are ever in the area again we will be sure to pursue those options. Furthermore, I will think more than twice before staying in a Holiday Inn or Doubletree on any other getaway.
5 out of 5
by HappyHoliday from Hoyleton, IL

Exceptional desk staff! And the concierge = TOP NOTCH!

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, pool amenities
Cons: free continental breakast would be a plus
The Holiday Inn Mart was the perfect location for our vacation - close to the Pier, the Mile, Grant Park, Millenium Park - a central location. Excellent food courts at the Center. All of the staff are 5-star employees. The accommodations were some of the best we have experienced. The pool was clean and refreshing. An all-around plus to our needs, our rest, and particular appreciation to allowing us a late check out so that we could see 'one more site.'
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Beautiful View and Great Location

Posted Aug 12, 2012
Our room was nice and clean with an updated bathroom and decor. The bed linens were comfortable, but the pillows a bit too full. The pool was nice. Best of all we asked for a room with a view and were quite pleased looking south onto the river toward the Willis Tower. The location was great once you get used to the area, great restaurants if you cut through the Merchandise Mart building onto Wells and Kinzie. Convenient to the Brown Line train and buses to Navy Pier. Staff was friendly and always said hello as we were coming and going. Enjoyed our stay!!!
3 out of 5
by myambura

Great location, still a bit expensive for a "Holiday Inn"

Posted Apr 18, 2012
Cons: price
Great location, but the price was about $50 more than it should be for a Holiday Inn. (compared price to other hotels in same vacinity). When trying to get a room at the hotel over phone, the lady was rude, quoted us a price higher than the Holiday Inn website, and told us to book online, and then hung up. The only reason we stayed at the Holiday Inn after that poor customer experience was b/c this trip was very impromptu and were not on a computer to do more research.