Ratings based on 10 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Colorado

Very budget friendly hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
To be honest, if you are looking for a very budget friendly hotel in a nice location, then this hotel is for you. I will start with the positives; great location close to taste of chicago, lake michigan, restaurant's and a beautiful fountain. Now the negatives; When walking into the hotel it looks super fancy, however thats not the case. After arriving to our room on the 12th floor, it had a very musty odor. The hallways were dirty and wallpaper was ripped and missing in some spots. One of the sliding shower doors was broke amd woudnt slide, there was mold in the tile and the ceiling, there was even a disposable razor cover halfway out of the drain. There was no operational bathroom fan as the switch was located in the shower with a blank plate over the top. The toilet paper dispenser was broken and toilet definitely was not bolted down properly, plus neither the front door or the bathroom door closed without having to slam them. Lastly the TV in the room was so small maybe 25" with a horrible picture that was so dark you could hardly watch anything. I even spent 20 minutes adjusting the picture with no luck. It's obvious the hotel spends more money keeping the front reception area looking nice instead of putting money into the rooms. Oh and I also forgot the electronic key system sucks... had to get new keys made everyday as they wouldn't work once I left the hotel each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Collinsville, IL

Very conveient location. Great atmosphere.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Besides the grumpy front desk, the support staff was superb. One man stopped what he was doing to help me find my room and the niceties kept coming.
Cons: Supply one person at the desk to help guests who have are already stood in your line. A way to control the room temperature would have been nice.
Location: The hotel seemed to be within walking distance to many attractions and a short to other places.
The hotel is very nice and conveniently located. The rooms do look dated but I think that was much of the charm of a very old, historic building. My room had a fantastic view of Grant Park to the east and Sears tower to the west. The room had a fan control of low, normal, and high but there was no temperature control and I thought it was a little warm. The front desk staff seemed stressed and rude. When I got to my 11th floor room, the electronic key didn't work. This was no big deal as it has happened many times to me in other hotels. The problem happened when I went to the front desk for a new key. The lady wouldn't even hear what I had to say but directed me to the end of the check-in line that I had just stood in to get the key card that didn't work.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Horrible

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Cons: Everything. Rooms, Entire hotel needs to be updated.
Location: Walking distance to great museums, park, local attractions
Several problems. Gave us the wrong room, changed us to a room with no sheets on bed. Exercise room , almost all equipment old and broken. Hotel dingy with random closet doors in Hallway held closed by screws with over half the screw still exposed. The list goes on. Actually cancelled the rest of my reservation and changed hotels.Other hotels within a block on same street are essentially the same price but 1000% better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great location and value.

Posted May 25, 2017
This hotel is walkable to the museum campus, restaurants, and the L trains and blue line to O'Hare. It's not as modern as a new hotel, but the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Front Desk , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We hope to have you as a guest again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Illinois

Good Location

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Old charm, beauty and history. And location!
Cons: Hotel is in need of some updates but this would most likely raise the rates for customers. Prefer this hotel remains more affordable.
Location: Chicago theater is within walking distance, as long as weather is good. Buckingham fountain is literally right across the street.
Overall this hotel was good for the price we paid. (under $250) Location was great for seeing a show at the Chicago Theater. Area felt safe. Bedding was clean and our view of the city from the 13th floor was great. The shower did leak all over the bathroom floor making it very slippery! I notified the front desk of the issue so hopefully it will be addressed. Lady at the front desk when we checked in was great! Lady at check out, not so much. Do not recommend eating at the restaurant in the hotel for breakfast. Very pricey and the food was not that good. I plan to stay at this hotel again in the near future. I really love it's old charm, beauty and history. The positives out weigh the negatives. For the right price, book the room. :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from SF

Great Location

Posted May 12, 2017
Cons: Shower heads
Nice hotel, will stay there again. Did not like the shower. Restaurant was just OK. Rest was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NYC

Good for the price

Posted May 10, 2017
Pro: location and price Con: wifi in room terrible. Too few outlets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Older hotel that has character and charm. High ceilings, marble stairs. Large room and a great view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and location of the property. We hope to have you as a guest again soon!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Key Largo

Ugh, don't bother.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Wifi seldom works, continental breakfast is pathetic, and worst of all, a man from the hotel staff burst into my room at 8:00 AM the day I was due to check out because nobody checked to see I had extended my reservation by a day. That was after they deactivated my door key card and I had to go to the front desk and show my receipt that I had booked an additional day. Poor communication all around. Not impressed, and wouldn't stay with them again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Lexington, Ky

Convenient to where we wanted to go.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Hotel room was clean and comfortable. Staff was wonderful.