Ratings based on 212 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Fantastic location on Michigan Avenue

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: The location is fantastic.
Cons: New towels.
Location: It's right across the street from Grant Park and there's easy access to all modes of public transportation.
The hotel has great character and old-world charm. The bathroom was clean and modern. The room was very small but I wasn't there much so I didn't mind. The carpet was old, the floor was lumpy and uneven, my pillow case was stained and the "white" towels were dingy. It was only a block from my meeting location so I didn't mind it but I wouldn't pick this hotel for a vacation. The desk was directly under the television so I couldn't have it on while I sat at the desk. I used my own private hotspot so I don't know how well the internet worked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Classic hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 27, 2015
The Congress Plaza is a beautiful old hotel that is a little frayed around the edges. The location is fantastic - just across the street from Grant Park and the Buckingham Fountain. Right downtown near the Loop, and multiple CTA lines. The old ballroom - the Gold Room - is a beauty. The room was comfortable and clean, with high ceilings harking back to yesteryear. The old girl has some nicks and shows her age in some places, but overall we had a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Puerto Rico

Historic and very centric hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2015
We stayed for 3 days in Chicago and the Congress Hotel was a good place to stay for the weekend. The best part of the Congress is its location. It was very easy to walk everywhere from the Hotel. The building is old and could use some repairs, but the room was clean and had a good view of Grant Park. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from chicago

Wow never again

Posted Aug 23, 2015
I would just say for $196 a night it is def not worth it unless u plan on staying in the VIp suit section of the hotel. This hotel is so old and crusty from the elevators to the inside of the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Pensacola, FL

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Too many to list. But, the greeters could use some training, or maybe they should just find a different job.
Location: Great location. Great foods and tons of things to do. No need to plan. Way too much available.
Valet saw me getting a cart to load luggage and ran up and took it and said guests cannot use the carts. That started a little back and forth and I just ignored him and went in to check in the hotel. He came in and said move your car you are in the valet area. I told him I had to check in and to get away from me. I checked in and moved my car to the parking area. Pretty sorry greeting. The room on 13 was dingy and old with a view of the parking garage. We asked to be moved and did get a better room. Not the charming old hotel I expected. All rooms and hallways are a little dingy with broken things everywhere.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from detroit

It's o.k. but nothing special

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: I thought I would like the price but I can't say that I did.
Cons: It's hard to improve on a very old hotel
Location: The hotel is conveniently located to the subway so you can get anywhere you need to go. This is also a bad thing because you hear the subway.
We came in for a game at Wrigley. The hotel was o.k., you could hear the train from our room which was troubling at night. It seems to me that everything in Chicago is overpriced so it comes with the territory. Nothing special and nothing horrible. I was worried about bedbugs due to the bedbug registry report, but did not encounter any.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Can't be the location for lake front fun

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: location location location. and price.
Cons: wish there was a pool/hot tub.
Location: Lake shore, River walk, sears tower, navy pier
We had stayed there before with all of the kids for a wedding several years ago, and for that it wasn't all that great due to room sizes...but for just my wife and I it fit the bill nicely. So great to walk out and the river, lakeshore, etc are all in walking distance. For the price it was a great deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Served the need.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The location is terrific. The staff was awesome. The restaurant was very nice. The beds were comfy and A/C worked well.
Cons: The poor place is quite run down and in need of some real TLC. Simple things such as paint, wall paper, drywall work, and replace the missing wall pl
Location: The parks, the museums, the stadiums, the observation towers, all the culture that I so miss and remembered being in Chicago.
The location is terrific. The staff was awesome. The restaurant was very nice. It was quite a busy little place. I wish they would take some of the funds and start performing some renovations. The poor place is quite run down and in need of some real TLC. Simple things such as paint, wall paper, drywall work, and replace the missing wall plates on the outlets, install curved rods in the shower/tub, the TV and remote NEED to be updated. The CRAZY parking fee needs to be disclosed!!!!! $40.00 a DAY!!!! The beds were comfy and A/C worked well. All in all it did serve the need, I would pay a little more just to see a nice place.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

A lot of history but in need of repair

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: The location of this hotel is wonderful
Cons: I think the staff could be more helpful and easy to interact with, and the furniture and linens all need replacing.
Location: The hotel is on Grant Park, close to all public transportation, and in an incredibly convenient location.
The staff were not welcoming, wifi did not work the entirety of my stay (it is not user error- I travel often and never have this issue), the towels were scratchy somewhat discolored, and the furniture was in poor condition due to age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great hotel on the lake

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: All
Cons: No
Location: Downtown and convenient to many items of interest.
Nice facility, close to items we wanted to see. Very convenient.