Ratings based on 235 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Moorhead, MN

First Trip to NYC -- Ever!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, great older/classic building, pricing.
Cons: Would have liked a hand towel holder on the wall in the bathroom. It ended up on the sink, and sometimes...on the floor.
Location: Great coffee/breakfast/lunch spots close by. About one mile to Times Square, less than that to Empire State Building. Cabs always easily available.
Picked the Stewart Hotel through Travelocity for my first ever trip to New York -- celebrating 60th birthday. I did well -- Great location for us in midtown, walkable to many of the spots we wanted to see. Staff was friendly and helpful, from the doorman to the front desk personnel to the housekeeping staff we met in the hallways. It was beautiful, older property with essential updates -- really said "New York" to me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Stewart Hotel to celebrate your 60th birthday! We hope you and your family come back for more celebrations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from dallas tx

Great NYC experience

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Pros: It had character instead of being a cookie cutter environment.
Cons: Better way to access the 24 hour mini store in lobby durin time desk staff is busy.
Location: Madison square garden and penn station just across the street. Great shopping and food within a few blocks.
From the beautiful lobby to the super nice and attentive staff, our visit was wonderful. The room was a cool oasis during an unseasonable heat wave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by Eugy , Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your positive feedback! Our team at the Stewart Hotel always strives to provide the best customer service in the Big Apple and we are excited to hear that we were able to achieve the Stewart Standard! With that said, we are constantly looking for ways to make accessing all of our hotel facilities a little easier and more efficiently and will make a note of your comment regarding the corner store. We hope that the next time you are in NYC, we can again be your cool oasis after a day of sightseeing! Safe travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from S

Yes I recommend!

Posted May 1, 2017
Centrally located, great price, very comfortable!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Stewart Hotel. We would like to know what more we could have done to make your stay a perfect 10! I hope that you allow us a second opportunity so that we can make the Stewart Hotel your hotel of choice in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from DC

Great Location

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The rooms are very spacey for New York and at great price! Great for our family of five. I also like that you couldn't use the elevators with a key.
Cons: Better water pressure but that's not a big deal,
Location: Madison Square Gardens and Penn Station is just across the street, Macy+HM one block away, Time Square 11 blocks and the subway is very close
Prom service, check in was a breeze and everyone that I dealt (staff) was extremely nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Stewart Hotel. We would like to know what more we could have done to make your stay a perfect 10! I hope that you allow us a second opportunity so that we can make the Stewart Hotel your hotel of choice in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

A great experience at Stewart Hotek

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Jenny at the front desk was wonderful. We had 2 rooms in our reservation - both exceeded our expectations. We had a beautiful outside patio off our room - but oddly, no patio chairs or anything on it so we couldn't use it. The room was large by NYC standards, and quite comfortable. I noticed the air vents had thick dust on them, which kind of grossed me out a bit. The bathroom felt kind of dirty. (Am I the only one who is so bothered by dirty light switches?) But overall, very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Stewart Hotel. We are excited to inform you that we are taking countless opportunities to improve our guestrooms and their overall aesthetic. I hope that you allow us a second opportunity so that we can make the Stewart Hotel your hotel of choice in NYC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Maryland

Okay Hotel - Middle of Everyhting

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The size of the room was great
Cons: Cleaning of the carpets and the A/C system needs and upgrade. 1 window unit for a near 20' long room won't cut it.
Location: Times Square - 7 blocks, Penn Station & the Garden - Across the Street, Subway 1,2,3 - about 3 blocks uptown
My sister and I were in town for a concert at the Garden and we had the Studio Suite. Ok room, but know that this hotel is clearly very dated. The room was ok, not amazing or pleasing. The closet had not been cleaned in quite sometime... and the room had a wet or humid feel to it. No bed bugs, but overall this room is a solid 3.0 in my eyes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Skylar s., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Michelle. We have shared this with our team to ensure no other guest shares in your same negative room experience. We hope that you provide us with another opportunity to show you the incredible strides we have taken.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from CT

VERY DISAPPOINTED THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR RATING AT A

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Remodel the hotel to make it look like what they advertise online and dont falsify anything
I was super excited to book a room at this hotel. I always do my research and this had a 4 star rating and when I did my search I make sure it had breakfast included. I never go anywhere and decided to book a room in NYC with my bff so we can go to Imats that weekend. I decided to spend a little extra of my hard earned money in order to get a good room. I started my search with 4 stars and up and breakfast included this one came up. I looked at a ton and rooms and fell in love with this one. I needed a double bed and they had one avaialble there is a section where you can click on the room option and look at the picturse for that specific room. I was very spacious looking and it was supposed to have a great view from your window. I had a tiny tiny room that was dirty and disgusting and a huge ac unit on the window. There were weird stains on the wall. The headboard had a huge stain, the toilet was tiny the size for preschoolers Im not kidding. I closed the door to in the bathroom and there was a huge pee stain on the door which did not slide closed all the way and the sink was broken. We went downstairs to the very noisy lobby and had to wait in line for a long time for the one attendant. We explained the issue and he gave us another room. That room was clean and a little bigger he said it had a great view. The only view I had was a big ac and it was hot and theheater was off. And the bathroom pipes sounded like they were going to explode. I was charged 60 breakfast for 2 peo
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Skylar S., Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Esmeralda. We are disappointed in your experience. We have shared your review with our Operations team to ensure no other guest shares this same negative experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Centrally located Manhattan Hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Very clean, friendly staff, located next to Penn Station with the A,C,E & 1,2,3 trains & less than a block 34-Herald Square Station with the B, D, F trains giving you access to anything you want to see in NYC!! Highly recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Great location to my venue

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Lobby and location to my venue as well as many other options - close to Penn Station for Subway travel
Cons: Rooms might need some updating but still nicely done.
Location: Had coffee across the street - NOT the Starbucks - and it was great. It was called Gregory's coffee. Had casual dinner at Black Iron Burger - good!
I was in town for the Sweet Sixteen and it was pretty hectic. The staff and team at the hotel were very accommodating and helpful. Zoe always had a smile on her face and wanted to help - as well as many others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great option for any event at MSG

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Nice hotel with old style charm. Right across from Madison Square Garden. Very clean.