Ratings based on 67 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler from New york

very small pools, very limited sun exposure,

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: NOT MUCH
Cons: SEE ABOVE
Location: none, too far away from the town.
the food was very limited,bad. they lied about resorts credits, the buffet was extremely limited and small portions and old veggies, the very basics of a regular salad, was not there to be find!!,poor quality staff, seating around the pool was extremely limited. I think they should change the name to sun chasers, since we had to move to catch the sun, the restaurants or lack of, were poorly staffed and managed, the food was very bad, limited amount of top shelf liquor. very poor and old shows at night. they try to get you spend more money and they keep on pushing for you to visit moon palace. the spa was a joke. I was given a bill for $280.00 after a "deep tissue massage". (which should have been included in the resort credits, causing me more stress to dispute the amount with my CC) I have traveled all of the Caribbean resorts all over the Caribbean, and never saw anything like this. the sand on the beach is coarse and full of broken shelves, very limited snacks. basically, you are treated as a dollar sign and not a guest. the pools were a joke, and extremely small, i think this hotel has about 400 rooms or more, and the so called pools were just enough for 50 people at best. the activities around the pool was very primitive. I gave them 1 star. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Sun Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Danny, Thank you for choosing Sun Palace. It is with great concern we read your review as this is not the perception our guests usually have about our incredible Sun Palace. We work under high quality standards and all of our staff is highly trained and devoted to their job. We are very sorry about your perception and of course, apologize for the inconveniences it may have caused during your stay. Kind regards, Sun Palace Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from MINNEAPOLIS, MN

AMAZING VACATION!! CAN'T GO WRONG WITH SUN PALACE

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: ADD A DIET 7UP/DIET SPRITE OPTION AS MIXERS FOR COCKTAILS.
Location: WE NEVER LEFT THE RESORT.....THERE WAS NO REASON TO!
THIS IS THE FIRST ONLINE REVIEW I'VE EVER WRITTEN, BUT FELT COMPELLED TO DO SO BECAUSE THIS HOTEL IS AMAZING!!!! I LOOKED AT MANY HOTELS ONLINE AND READ THE REVIEWS, AND SETTLED ON SUN PALACE. OUR EXPERIENCE HERE FAR EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS. WE LOVE OUR KIDS, BUT WHEN THEY'RE NOT WITH US ON VACATION IT'S GREAT NOT TO HAVE TO SEE/LISTEN TO OTHER PEOPLE'S KIDS. FROM THE MOMENT WE WALKED IN, THE ENTIRE STAFF WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE US HAPPY. THE DRINKS WERE GREAT, SERVICE WAS QUICK, AND ALWAYS WITH A SMILE AND "IT'S MY PLEASURE". WE WERE CONCERNED ABOUT THE FOOD QUALITY, BUT IT TOTALLY BLEW US AWAY. EVERY MEAL WAS GREAT, AND THERE ARE NO UPCHARGES FOR FOOD. I HAD A GIANT RIBEYE THE FIRST NIGHT, COOKED A PERFECT MEDIUM RARE. OTHER NIGHTS I HAD LAMB CHOPS AND STEAK. THE PRESENTATION AND QUALITY OF THE FOOD WAS AMAZING. I HAVE A TERRIBLE ALLERGY TO FISH, AND THE STAFF WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO ENSURE THAT MY FOOD WAS SAFE, AND I FELT I REALLY DIDN'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT IT. THE BEACH IS CLEAN AND AWAY FROM HUSTLE AND BUSTLE OF THE REST OF THE BEACH STRIP. EVEN THE FOOD AT THE BUFFETT WAS EXCELLENT, NOT YOUR STANDARD DEEP FRIED GARBAGE. EGGS AND PANCAKES, ETC. COOKED TO ORDER. DON'T FORGET TO CHECK OUT THE VAPOR STEAM ROOM AND HOT TUB IN THE SPA AREA. IT'S INCLUDED IN THE RATES, BUT HARD TO FIND AS IT'S IN THE SPA AREA...JUST ASK AND THEY'LL FIT YOU IN AS AVAILABLE. WE FOUND THE RESORT CREDITS TO BE EASY TO USE, NO TRICKERY LIKE SOME OTHER PEOPLE NOTED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Sun Palace Cancun, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted by your words and will definitely keep working hard to make sure your next stay is even better as providing you an exceptional vacation time is our main goal. Thank you so much for the confidence, please be sure we will be honored to host you again at Sun Palace. Kind regards, Sun Palace Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Not as good as it used to be.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: The food is great, the beach is clean, chairs always available. Rest of staff was amazing- servers, bartenders. Upgrade to a ocean view-worth it.
Cons: The resort credit seems very bait and switch. The front desk/excursion staff needs retraining and processes improved.
Location: Tons of things to do nearby. Easy to get to downtown via bus or taxi.
We have stayed with Palace Resorts 7 times. This was our third stay at Sun Palace. It is certainly showing it's age, but they seemed to be working in various areas throughout our stay with projects and painting that did not interfere with our stay Cons: Resort credit is not what it seems. The Palace Resort App shows over a dozen excursions that you can take with your resort credit and the ones that are excluded from the resort credit are clearly marked. Upon arrival we were told that the app was wrong and there are really just 4 excursions you can take with the resort credit and the employee, Martin, who was helping us, didn't recommend 2 of them. This employee also was incredibly rude and actually stormed away from the desk when we pointed the app out to him. We also were told on numerous occasions that our room would be ready in 15 minutes, then another 15 minutes, then another 15 minutes. When we finally asked to be switched to a room that was ready, it was not clean when we entered the room. They were just getting started cleaning it from last guests. Also, you have to put a credit card on file for incidentals. They said ours declined, we called our card company and they said their charge went through with no issues. We only turned on one card for international travel, so we used my relatives card as the one on file, but upon check out, of course, they didn't have that card on file either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Boston, MA

Amazing!!!!

Posted Jun 17, 2016
The food was amazing!!! The staff was very attentive and friendly. Very nice hotel. Clean. This was my second trip to Cancun and both times I stayed at Sun Palace. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I'm a food lover and since I know the food is amazing at Sun Palace, I wouldn't take the chance of staying anywhere else and hoping for the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Best Honeymoon Ever!

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: It was so clean, the staff was top notch.
Cons: I was annoyed that everything was a sit down meal. Not everyone wants to spend an hour eating, for each meal.
Location: A lot to do but very expensive!!
A friend told us to visit Sun Palace in Cancun for our honeymoon. With this being our first all inclusive resort, we took the advice and booked a Junior Deluxe Suite with an Ocean View for our honeymoon. This was the best decision we made! The room and view was absolutely gorgeous, and was incredibly clean. Our room had a bottle of chilled champagne, a cake and rose petals scattered upon our arrival. Make sure to tell the resort if you are honeymooning! There are a lot of great perks included. The staff was professional and took their jobs very seriously. It was evident that each worker really valued the guests' satisfaction. Anything we asked, they took care of in a timely manner. Certain staff members knew our names, and started recognizing us fairly quickly. We loved how intimate the setting was for everything. The crowd that Sun Palace attracts are people from 25-65. The night life was sub par, but we weren't looking to party every night. There were scheduled activities and events for each day/evening. One night we watched a fire show on the beach, with served drinks. The next we watch a professional dance show. We met a lot of married couples from all over the world!! If you are wondering whether to go to Sun Palace or Moon Palace, consider this: Sun Palace is smaller,quieter,more luxurious setting that promotes relaxation. Moon Palace allows children, is more chaotic and is HUGE. You have to take shuttles EVERYWHERE. It's annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from phoenix

Exceeded my expectations!!

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Everything about this resort was amazing. The service, accommodations and food were excellent. The staff made you feel welcome from the moment you walked in the door. I highly recommend this resort. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Bluffton, IN

Amazing property, beach and service

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Beautiful beach and great service
Location: There were people doing parasailing and jetskiing near the beach. Shopping at the mall or flea market was not very far; short bus ride.
This was an amazing all inclusive resort. We only ate at three of the four restaurants on the property and they all had wonderful food. We only went to the mexican, steak and oriental restaurant. The italian restuaruant is the only one we did not go to. No reservations needed for any of the restaurants. The only restaurant with an official dress code was the italian with long trousers and a collared shirt. However, all the other dinner restaurants have an un-official dress code of requiring sleeves. No one told me this and I found out the hard way.. Service was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and no one ever stood around waiting for a tip when they did something for you. We received resorts credits that we were able to use for things like the onsite spa/massage, swimming with dolphins and tours. The room has a fridge stocked with sodas and juices as well as 4 full bottles of alcohol that was included in the room for no extra cost. Room service was 24 hours and they would even pack you a box lunch for excursions, if you asked. You could even go visit and use the other properties owned by Palace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by gian02c from Albuquerque, NM

Excellent service, fabulous food and beautiful vie

Posted Oct 18, 2013
I booked our tripat the beginning of the year for our 5 year anniversary. Little did I know that this was going to be one of the best experiences that me and my wife could have imagined. We renewed our vows on the beach and the attention to details were phenomenal. We had a blast and will definitely be going back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by janandhow from Livingston, CA

Sun Palace was great!!

Posted May 25, 2013
Great location...perfect beach...attentive wait staff..frendly...ocean view from our 2nd floor room was outstanding..watching the sunrise from our balcony was very nice...jacuzzi in our room also very nice...food quality and selection was very good! We also visited two of the sister hotels, the Beach Palace and the Moon Palace, all of which are very high quality resorts... Only negative part of our trip was the dredded 'Timeshare' presentation. First two salesmen were very polite, friendly guys. The 3rd guy was a real 'jerk'. We told all three guys we weren't interested in purchasing a timeshare plan, the first two were very understanding. The last guy was not so willing to listen to what I was trying to tell him. That part of the trip was sooo frustrating for us, and at that point I was telling myself we would NEVER visit any of the Palace Resorts again. After I cooled down a bit, I realized I would not let that episode ruin what turned out to be an awesome vacation!!! My wife and I were celabrating our 40th wedding anniversary and the Sun Palace was the perfect place for us...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cancunlovers4ever from South Dakota, USA

The Sun Palace is a wonderful getaway!

Posted Mar 16, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
This was the second trip my husband and I took too Sun Palace. They take such good care of their guests, from the great food to the wonderful massages. We loved the view of the ocean and hated to leave again!