Ratings based on 1,103 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Edmond, OK

Spoiled rotten

Posted May 30, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Super friendly staff, great service, good food and drink. A full bar in the room which is restocked daily.
Cons: Magnifying vanity light did not work in the room.
Location: The locations is absolutely beautiful, aquamarine waters on clean beaches which is thoroughly maintained by the accommodating staff.
One of the most relaxing and pampered vacations of my life. I like kids but not when I'm on vacation, this adult only venue nailed it for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Nice hotel, very clean

Posted May 26, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Cleanness, comfort, nice staff
Cons: Entertainment program
We stayed here for 7 nights. My recommendation would be to work on their entertainment programs. Our room was not facing the ocean but it was still ok. Some minor construction was being done just in front of our room in the yard which was a little bit annoying. We did not upgrade as we thought we won't be staying in the room too much. Front desk refused to give us an upper level room and claimed that all booked. One more thing was sea weeds in the beach. Some days those were being cleaned; some days not. Anyway, I think it is a very nice resort and I would stay there again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thiago from Santo André, Brasil

Muito Bom!

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Ótimo hotel para casais, muito conforto e tranquilidade. Perfeito para lua de mel, não é permitida a entrada de menores de 18 anos. Ótima comida, com 4 opções de restaurantes para o jantar. As únicas ressalvas que faço são em relação a piscina que possui uma área pequena e não acomoda muitos hospedes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Cottondale FLORIDA

Very nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 26, 2015 on Expedia
Very nice and relaxing and the staff is really friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ohio

Recommendation however with warnings

Posted May 25, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Pools and beach. Service of servers on beach and pools. The shower
Cons: Clear accurate transparency on the whole time-share high pressure sales gimmick and the actual investment of TIME by a VACATIONER & the bathrooms.
Location: Go to Fred's restaurant.
Not going to go into a long thing. Warning- the guest reps want to meet you and schedule a way to sell you what comes to a hybrid-time share in the resort properties. It is not a 10 minute meeting. It is not a 90 minute meeting. It run at 4 hours. This info gathered from first hand experience and conversations with other travellers when we were there. Lots of "credits" thrown at you to use on things. Warning - they charge you something around 16% for the credits you use. This quickly adds up. Food is average. On the whole it is eatable but nothing to rave about. Food service on the whole is quite good. Lobby overall service - quite poor. But if your willing to buy into their spiel they go out of their way to APPEAR friendly. The beach area and pools are tremendous. So if you want an all-inclusive and can navigate the attempts to increase your overall expense - it is good place. BTW - a pretty good restaurant was enjoyed one evening at our own expense, it is called Fred's. It is more than seafood. Best meal we had on our trip. Review is from experience in May 2015 at the Sun Palace. BTW we were able to not spend more than originally booked in our package via Expedia. What we experienced may be the norm for all-inclusive resorts, this was our first experience with such a thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Edmonton

Way better than the rest.

Posted May 23, 2015 on Expedia
The Sun Palace set a new standard for our travel accommodations. While the resort is beautiful (marble, stone, glass, etc...), it was the service that really stood out. The front desk staff, room service attendenants, entertainment staff, servers, managers, and even the cleaning staff worked tirelessly to provide excellent service. There was a good variety of restaurants (BBQ, Italian, Thai, etc...), so there was no shortage of good food. The first night, we had a problem with a shouting individual and a small group partying outside. We thought forsure that our week would be unpleasant, but one call to the front desk, and the problem folks were dealt with swiftly. The rest of the week was quiet. Yet another example of great service. The Sun Palace is really spectacular!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DENISE from São Paulo

Segunda lua de mel

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
A estadia no Sun Palace atendeu todas as nossas expectativas. O quarto era simplesmente maravilhoso!!! O restaurante que nós mais gostamos foi o italiano. Todos os funcionários são muito atenciosos. Infelizmente só não dei nota máxima pelo jantar na praia que foi decepcionante. Não gastem seu dinheiro no jantar na praia, pois não vale a pena. Assim como já comentado anteriormente (pena que não li a tempo) o jantar foi estramamente ruim, foi servido creme de couve flor, o prato principal foi uma carne doce e purê também doce com um pouco de camarão. A sobremesa servida foi a mesma que tem disponível a vontade no lobby bar. Para se ter uma idéia saímos do jantar na praia e fomos direto para o italiano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from USA

Great hotel to relax and unwind, perfect! No kids!

Posted May 21, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: clean, simple, great food, good service, relaxing, and fun!
Cons: communication about room credit usage,original explanation wasn't clear about "per room" usage
Location: great location, easy access to other properties and Cancun night-life
The mixed crowd ranged in age and diversity. We met people from all over the world which made for nice,interesting conversation. The hotel is clean and simple without much "fluff". We had a great time relaxing in pool, which had entertainment, but the activities weren't too much to ruin ones tranquility. Food and service was great!Views from room are beautiful! We visited other property for dinner, excellent experience and look forward to checking out other properties in future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Pennsylvania

Great Cancun Getaway!!

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
I can't say enough good things about Sun Palace. It was very well kept and the rooms well appointed. Staff was very friendly, always willing to go out of their way to appease. Food was wonderful, I would rate the restaurants in following order: 1. Italian (brie pizza was fantastic) 2. Mexican 3. Thai (best deserts try the tempura banana and ice cream sandwich) 4. Steak. We loved the adult/couples only atmosphere. There was enough to do, more if you want to venture to the sister resorts. There is a large “party pool" with swim up bar, and activities throughout the day. A few smaller pools are much quieter, but still have dedicated and convenient bar service. The beach had some seaweed, but didn't detract from the beauty of it. Waves were on the larger side, not calm, but fun to play in! Like most resorts, pool chairs go quick. Folks come down early and put towels on to hold. A little annoying, but if you want a chair, I guess play the game. Workers run day long on the beach to set out chairs and umbrellas, there seemed to be plenty of them to go around. The staff worked their butt off, and I was a little surprised that few people tipped them. I personally carried a few 20 Peso bills and tipped accordingly. It wasn't much, but something to show my appreciation for the excellent service. If you have questions about getting around, ask the bell men, they were always helpful! If you are a couple looking for a relaxing get away, book at Sun Palace- you won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by VIVIAN from Rio de Janeiro

Ótima opção de hospedagem

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
Minha estadia foi maravilhosa! Fiquei no quarto concierge que é extremamente confortável e limpo e os funcionários são muito atenciosos. Nota 10 para os garçons Mauricio e Mario. A Comida é de ótima qualidade, porém,as bebidas deixam um pouco a desejar. A localização não é das melhores para quem pretende curtir a noite, porém,o transporte público em Cancun é muito eficaz e isso não será um problema. Para quem procura conforto e tranquilidade este hotel é perfeito.