Ratings based on 1,541 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Columbus, OH

Spectacular Customer Service, Great Food & Drinks

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: The food, the staff, the view from the room, the private balcony.
Cons: The selection at the buffet. Also, the hot tubs would be more comfortable if they were warmer.
Location: The El Rey and San Miguelito Ruins are very close and were very interesting to explore.
We traveled to Cancun as a couple and spent four nights of our trip at the Omni. It was a spectacular resort, and it surpassed my expectations in every way possible. I noticed other reviews before my trip of people complaining about the food, so I started to get nervous. However, when I arrived and sat down for my first meal, I was very pleased. We attended all restaurants that were included - there's a buffet, a pool restaurant that serves bar/cafe food, a Mexican restaurant, a sushi place, DaVinci (Italian food), Pina Colada, and Deva (Indonesian food). We did not go to La Vista, which is an extra $39 per person. We were satisfied with the other options, so there was no reason to. The best restaurant is definitely Pina Colada (which also turns into Deva for dinner). We went there every day for breakfast, and some days for lunch. If you're extremely lucky you'll be waited on by Francisco. He was an absolute delight, and had us smiling and laughing at every meal. We tried the buffet for breakfast once, and again for dinner, and it was sub-par. It's OK for quick snacks, but you're usually better off trying one of the other restaurants. Deva provided my two favorite meals of the entire trip. Wonderful food, even if you're not a huge fan of Indonesian food. The view from the room was spectacular, as was the layout of the beach. There is plenty of room, and lots of beach chairs and umbrellas up for grabs. If you want to take full advantage of the all-inclusive drinks, the numbe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Colorado

Loved this hotel!

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: staff, views, beach, pools
Cons: a little outdated
Location: tons of activities nearby
We loved this hotel. The staff is great, incredible views, wonderful pools, beach great... The bathrooms, Villa kitchens and some other areas are a little out dated. However, that did not matter to us. We had a great experience! Everyone was so nice- staff and guests. The staff went out of their way to take care of us. We usually stay at much 'higher end' hotels, but like this one better. It is more relaxed, people are nicer (no 'snooty guests or staff')... We plan to return next year. We traveled with our 2 young children (ages 9 and 10) and they also loved the hotel. It is great for both families and people traveling as a couple etc.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

The worst All- Inclusive Resort I've Ever Visited

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: The french toast at breakfast.
Cons: Too much to list in 150 characters
Let's start with the construction. During my stay there was construction going on all over the hotel, including the room right above ours. From 8:30am until about 8pm there was contact hammering and electric chisling directly above our room. This construction was extremely loud and literally shook our room. It was impossible to sleep during this and difficult to talk. When we talked to the hotel staff they offered no solution besides saying that they were sorry about it but they had to perform the construction. I understand the resort needs to be updated but the work shouldn't be done at the expense of my vacation. Next the resort had 3 resturants. Indonesia, Italian and a steak house along with a buffet. The steak house was closed for reservations and the italian resturant was impossible to get reservations at. Indonesia and the buffet were mediocre at best. Nobody told us prior to the trip that the steakhouse would be closed. Finally the pools were very small and the didn't have enough chairs on the beach. I've stayed at many resorts in the Dominican Republic and Jamaica. This was by far the worst. DO NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT. Pay the extra money and stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New York

wonderful stay!

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Friendly staff good food
Cons: hot tubs not hot most of the time
Location: Right in the middle of the hotel zone, aqua world close by. shopping and night life also close by. perfect location.
hotel very nice and clean,although an older hotel it is very well kept. grounds and pool area are very nice pools are also very clean, plenty of lounge chairs by the pool area and also on the beach with palapas for shade. 2 swim up pool bars, one with a jacuzzi,very nice. bartenders were wonderful especially martin and Frank at the main pool bar and Jose at the Jacuzzi pool bar at the beach, all were very friendly and entertaining making special drinks just for us! all waiters outside and in all the restaurants were also very friendly and very hard working. food was very good also especially in the pina colada by the beach the mexican by the pool area the sushie place also by the pool very good too. special Italian restaurant very good. buffet was great for breakfast. the only complaint was the hot tubs were not hot most of the time.some room renovation noise also. but overall a very nice resort right on the beach, would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Jersey

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed in!!!

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Everything. The staff especially.
Cons: The strength of the drinks.
The Omni met and exceeded my expectation to say the least!!! The staff was friendly, outgoing, entertaining, courteous and right there whenever you needed anything. The food was very, very good. We ate at DaVinci's 2x and both nights were EXCELLENT. Breakfast was a little boring with the same things day after day - but there were so many choices and the food was consistent...but a little cold which is the norm for buffet. The bonus was the champagne they offered everyday!!! There were activities at the pool everyday which was fun. Not a lot to do at night if you stay on the property, but we were tired every night so that was fine with me. Our adult children went into town one night and had fun. We actually became Omni Vacation Members that is how much we loved the trip. We are going back again next year and the year after that!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

All inclusive wie es sein soll

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: schöner Strand, schöne Anlage, top Service
Cons: Achtung bei der Buchung: Es gibt keine King-Size-Betten, sondern fast nur Zimmer mit 2 Queen-Size
Location: Cancun Downtown mit dem Bus (R1) in 5 Min erreichbar ca 60 Cent pro Tour. Aktivitäten wie Dschungel-Adventures sind zu empfehlen (ca 150€ pp)
Essen und Drinks sehr gut! Gute Qualität, gute Auswahl, Sport und Animations-Angebot auch sehr gut. Extrem freundliches Personal, nicht aufgesetzt, schlicht natürlich freundlich.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from San Francisco

Old hotel but in nice location with a nice beach

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Restaurants and the beach
Cons: Renovate rooms. Fix air conditioner. Reduce noise
Food and restaurants are good. The beach is amazing. The hotel is very old and haven't been renovated for a while. Right now they are doing renovation and level of noise is extreme.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

harassed by vacation club

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Expedia
hotel staff and food were top notch the vacation club would not take no for a answer considered changing hotels because of it bed was hard as a rock da vinci was a experience of great pleasure to the tastebuds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from rhode island

Service is great!

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Service,service,service.
Cons: How they present their shows.
We stayed at he Omni from Oct19 to Oct26. We have an ocean view and nice size room. We were greeted and welcomed with a drink of our choice and checked in quickly. The service at this hotel is incredible. You are constantly being looked after and catered to. Because we go in low season we are well aware that some of the restaurants might be closed so that is no surprise to us. We never wanted for anything. The grounds are very well kept and the pool and beach area are very clean. If I had one complaint it would be the way they set up their shows. I don't enjoy sitting at a table trying to watch the show with people up and down trying to eat. The staff is amazing and do what they could to make us happy. A special shout out to Arturo at the pool. This man was constantly running and catering to everyone's needs. People complained that they were bothered by the sales people but you only had to say no once and were never bothered again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from DCC

Excelentes atenciones y calidad del staff del Hote

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Expedia
Instalaciones externas muy buenas, albercas, playa y los shows. La atención del personal muy amables, atentos, alegres. Las habitaciones viejas, muy limpias y amplias pero viejas. Falta variedad en el buffet de la cena. La comida no nos gustó mucho. Falta un restaurante con buena vista para cenar, El Davinci se ve viejo y la vista es a la alberca.