Ratings based on 1,915 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from charlotte, NC

Nice and clean hotel.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The pool area was nice and clean and beach.
Cons: Food choices
Location: Close to the airport which is why we picked this hotel, prefer Playa Del Carmen, since this was a short trip didn't want to spend my time on the road
Wait staff was excellent, but the other staff was way too pushy , they tried to get you to attend a presentation and were relentless upon check in, we agreed only so we could get to our room and start our vacation and when we didn't attend, they called us again and said we could still come the next day. I would say the food was mediocre at best, even Di Vinci which was advertised as a upscale Italian restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Amazing experience!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The Omni was the best hotel we ever stayed in. Our room was gorgeous. The food was fantastic and there was so much variety. The beach was beautiful and there were huts with plenty of lounge chairs. The entertainment was very enjoyable. Lastly And most importantly, the staff was so wonderful and they made sure that our stay was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Winchester, CA

Cancun Paradise

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: The staff was amazing, I lost count of how many of them from waiters to lobby personnel to special arrangement staff knew our name throughout our stay
Cons: Only complaint floors are a little slippery when wet in different areas of hotel
Location: Catamaran trip to a local island, zip lining through a jungle, ATV riding through the jungle, snorkeling in Cenotes name off a few things to do...
This was our first trip to Cancun and we couldn't have asked for a better trip. The weather was awesome, the food was excellent and the accommodations were excellent. The beach was very clean, the water was unbelievable and the wait-staff was top notch.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel, disappointing customer service

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean and the beach was nice. Taxi's were very easy to get.
Cons: Customer service could use much improvement.
I recently traveled to the Omni Cancun with a friend. We were satisfied with most of our stay, however, we were very disappointed by many aspects of the restaurants on the property. First, we were told all of the restaurants were completely booked every night but they could squeeze us in. We tried each restaurant and all three times, each was 90% empty. The Italian restaurant told us they did not have our reservation, were extremely rude about it, and made us go up to get our reservation ticket to prove we had the reservation (even though the restaurant was 90% empty.) We were also told our outfits were not nice enough and requested to change. Both of our outfits were nice dinner outfits, not beach attire whatsoever. There were also people in the restaurant in much more casual outfits. When we tried to speak to a manager on the property, they were not helpful. Since I have been back, I have been trying to get a hold of a corporate manager and keep being told I'll hear back within 48 hours. It has now been over a week and have yet to be contacted back. For the lack of customer service, I would not recommend this hotel, or an Omni.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Last minute booking!

Posted Jan 7, 2017
We had cancelled a reservation at a horrible resort and were looking for a hotel. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. They were friendly and the property was excellent!
1 out of 5
by A traveler from New York, NY

Burglar entered our room while we were sleeping

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: There is a lot that I liked about the hotel including the service. However after the burglar incident I will never return even with a comp'ed room.
Cons: (1) increase security inside and outside of the hotel. (2) add video surveillance to the hallways, stairways and parking lots (3) add latched locks
Location: We took the Xenotes tour of the caverns
My wife and 2 children stayed at the Omni Cancun Resort & Villas Dec 30, 2016 to January 2, 2017. We were in room 1406. At approximately 1:15 AM on Jan 2, a burglar entered our room while we were sleeping. I was awoken and confronted the thief. He ran from the room. Hotel Security arrived to ask me some questions. I asked them to review the surveillance video of the floor, stairways and parking lot. They told me that they don't have video surveillance in those areas. About 30 minutes later, a security guard arrived to confirm if a key opened the door at 1:15 AM. The hotel reported that a key did not open the door and the guard insinuated that we left the door unlocked. There was no further investigation despite the hotel not knowing how the burglar entered. I also don't know why it would take 30 minutes to look at the logs. In addition, there is not a latched lock inside the door which would prevent anyone from entering the room. There is a lock inside the door that can be unlocked from outside the door with a key (I tested this -- this lock is useless) With the lack of security, anyone can enter the hotel through multiple entrances from the beach. No credentials or keys are needed to enter the hotel. ** I will always have the image of the burglar inches from my sleeping family in my head. The safety of my family is the most important thing. This burglar will stick again because of the lack of security at the hotel. * I would NOT advise anyone to stay at this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Colorado

Great food and service at Omni

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Food
Cons: Bed size
We just got back from our week at the Omni Cancun and had a great time. We traveled with our 2 sons (9 and 11). The food was excellent as was the service. The facilities were very clean and you always saw grounds and housekeeping staff working on the property. The pools were large and offered many options for sun and shade. The entertainment staff, specifically Benjamin, was excellent and had many activities for kids and adults throughout the day. The beach and sand are always amazing in Cancun. The only knock on this hotel was the size of the beds in the rooms. We had an ocean view room with 2 beds. The problem is that they are double beds, not queens, so this is tight if you are trying to sleep a family of 4. The rooms could use updating as well. Everything was kept very clean and the daily housekeeping service restocked everything very well. We would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Everything was excellent. Would stay there again.

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Expedia
Great service, accommodations, room, view, beach. Everything was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Tried to sell me time shares

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Expedia
The hotel was nice but all inclusive food sucked and the one good restaurant to eat at was always "booked". Pools and resort are clean and nice.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from US

Boring

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Expedia
Food is bad , constrution in progress made it depressing ugly, noisy .