Ratings based on 2,639 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Orlando FL

Not the same as years before

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This was our second time at ME . Beside the fact that the resort needs to be remodeled and I know it will , I hope they put an effort to go back to the great food the used to have years ago when we were there for the first time , the food was not as good ,the water grill experience was really dissapointing, meat was so bad, dry and tough. No salad bar, etc. definetely a poor menu. Also, we stayed four nights and were disturbed by young intoxicated people screaming and running most hours of the night. Security was not available to help. Hope the new and improved Melia Cancun is better than our experience this past trip.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Hotel getting ready to CLOSE for renovations

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Let me start by saying I travel to Cancun several times a year and have been for the last 35 years and have stayed at various top rated resort such as Live Aqua, Secrets the Vine, Club Med, Westin, Sun Palace, Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Fiesta Americana Condesa to name a few. I am also a Priority Melia Rewards member but received no special treatment for my membership. If I had known they were getting ready to close for renovations 2 weeks after our departure, I would have selected another property as the staff was scarce due to finding other jobs and therefore service was not up to par. There is barely any air conditioning in any of the public areas as well as the spa. I had a 80 minute massage and sweat so bad that it took away from the service. We lost all the water to rooms and it was out for one entire day and they expected the entire hotel to use the 2 showers in the spa area. I waited over 30 minutes to take a shower only to be told there were still 6 people in front of me. Needless to say, I went to the front desk to file a complaint and got nowhere. I also burned my arm badly on a serving platter and again waited for about 15 minutes for security to give me burn cream to which they never showed up. They then said for me to use the aloe in the room & they would waive the surcharge but when I got to my room there was no ALOE to be found. I filed a complaint with the manager Edwardo and they are supposed to refund me 1 night hotel stay but still haven't seen the credit.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from WA

Beautiful beach and a lovely hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The resort was everything we expected after reading many reviews. The service was great and the food and drink service was amazing. Only complaint we have is that you could hear the club music in our room at night and also people being loud in the hallway. The only music we heard all week was techno, which gets a little old. Would have been nice if they changed the music up every night. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from California

Disappointing Trip

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Front desk people are not very friendly at all, so as the receptionist at the Salt restaurant. Servers, room cleaners, valet on the other hand were exceptionally great. Food is bland in general. I suggest management to consider revisiting this matter. Ambiance of the hotel is good I would say and cleanliness as well. I did expect a lot from this hotel, but I am exceptionally disappointed overall.
4 out of 5
by shilpi from Boston, MA

Nice place but beware of extra charges

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
I did a LOT of research reading reviews, etc online for hours before booking our hotel. We were looking for a nice, adult only, upscale all-inclusive resort. I had stayed at the RIU Cancun before and found it to be a louder, more rowdy crowd (lots of teens and spring breakers) so decided not to stay there again. Overall I had a good experience at Me, BUT it is not truly all inclusive b/c there are many "upgrades" to purchase extras. PROS: -Updated hotel, friendly staff. There was a bartender named Rogeilo who went above and beyond and made us special drinks. Everyone there greeted us and was respectful. -DJ by the pool on weekends with a good mix of music -Variety of restaurants (average food overall was OK but they had a nice variety at breakfast and the more formal options for dinner Silk, Salt or the Waterfront grill were good also) -Room cleaned twice daily -Good location, near City Bus stop which we took to our excursions and local Flea market CONS: Not truly all inclusive, lots of upgrades that you have to pay extra for: -Room facing ocean (extra $30/night) -Cabana by pool ($40/day) -Premium liquor upgrade ($60/person/day) -Bottle service by pool or ocean (starts at $100/bottle) -watered down liquor (they claim this was for a display of liquor bottles HOWEVER we witnessed bottles of liquor being watered down with distilled water, mixed then SERVED!!!) I was pretty shocked by this-- I was able to take photos
5 out of 5
by A traveler from London

Great hotel and location with amazing staff

Posted May 15, 2016 on Expedia
My boyfriend and I recently got back from ME Cancun and what an experience it was. For our first visit to Mexico we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. From the food to the staff to the location. There is just no fault in ME Cancun. I highly recommend this hotel. We went for his 24th birthday and saw plenty of young adults there. Not really somewhere for children as it has more of a young adults- mature adults vibe.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from small town USA

Great!!!! Please read.

Posted May 15, 2016 on Expedia
My wife and I stayed 7 days at ME and loved almost all of it. Food was great, staff was very friendly. Everything was almost perfect but... when we checked in (which was easy) they sent us with our "concier", he walked us over got us a drink and explained where restaurants and pools were, then told us about our appreciation breakfast aka timeshare breakfast, had to make sure we had a credit card so we could be hassled on our first vacation in 9 years. If I want a timeshare I will ask if you have one, don't ask me to go listen to one. I had to make it crystal clear we wouldn't be attending 5 times, which clearly upset him, he showed us to our bellhop almost without speaking to us. 2nd issue is the adult pool I am 31 years old which is old enough (obviously) but that doesn't get you in.. it costs $50 during the week and like $75 on the weekend to use just your standard sun chair (even the cabanas should be free in there). You can swim for free and drink at the adult bar but to sit in there after spending thousands of dollars to stay will cost extra??? We layed next to the ocean, you can lay next to a pool at a holiday Inn it's the principal. I do not in anyway mean to sound as if we did not enjoy our stay. The room, staff, food and location were all great, in fact we already have talked to 2 other couples about going with us to ME... but when they hear those negatives they are unsure, even when we say how great everything else was.
5 out of 5
by NATASHA from Brooklyn, NY

A 1

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel. Wonderful pool beach and bars. Just love the vibe at this hotel. Great for both adults and children. The silk Asian restaurant is amazing really good food. The beach house is cute overlooking the beach and great seafood. I love this place.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago

The Best Of Cancun

Posted May 7, 2016 on Expedia
Do research before you go! Place is wonderful. Yes they play electronic music. That's why we went there. Yes you need reservations for restaurants. I loved feeling like VIP. Food was excellent. Staff was more than great. Yes the charge $5 for room service. It's 24hrs and kitchen is far. You want them to walk for free to get your food? Only negative thing i will say : do not fall for excursion to their other hotel, lost a half a day listening to offers for time share. Oh well, we got $100 off for the spa, which is also great. Cappuccino in the lobby, pools, DJ , cocktails, Bali beds, white sand, room with a view .... A 10/10. Will be back next year for sure.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from South Bend, IN

Good Hotel - Mostly Pros/Some Cons

Posted May 7, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: All of the dinners we had were phenomenal! The breakfast buffet was about as good as a buffet can be. Lunch was alright, but dinners were great!
Cons: It felt like the resort did not have air throughout the lobby; had to go to our room to cool off, which was not very cool. No week day night life.
Location: The location is great. They is a pharmacy, mall, and excursions within about a 5 minute walking distance.
Overall, our trip was pretty decent. First the positives - The food was great (Dinners - Superb, Lunch - Decent, Breakfast - Very Good). The beach and pool were very nice. Service was very good, but servers could have come around a bit more. There were a lot of people so I will not hold that against them. Negatives - I am pretty sure the entire resort did not have air other than the room. Even the air in the room wasn't extremely cool. It was set on 65 deg. and set to high, but it did not feel that way. There is next to no night life during the week. That may change on the weekends, but we stayed Sun-Fri, so we didn't get to experience the weekend. There is not much going on during the day. Barely any music during the day, which is not all bad. A little something wouldn't hurt. The biggest negative would be the gray area between the complete ME package and the ME+. I stayed at Riu Palace previously and there were no "levels" of all inclusive, whatever you wanted, you got. The strange thing was that they asked for your room number when ordering drinks, food, etc, which made me very uneasy. I thought that was what the wrist band was for? 90% of everything in the room mini bar is extra. It all played out though. No extra charges when checking out. Personally, I would not go to this resort again, but my plan is to visit as many resorts as possible, so I will not be visiting any resort twice. I would recommend that you go to this resort though. The price we paid, can't beat it