Ratings based on 1,864 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Md

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Great experience... Most of the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Relaxing, Clean and Neat room, food was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Evansville IN

Wonderful beach hotel with great staff

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The food at the Asian restaurant was fantastic. Very nice staff. The massage was great.
Cons: More water bottles in the room. More servers at the beach. Grass canopies or beach umbrellas would be nice.
This was my 5th visit to Cancun, but my first visit to the Gran Caribe. The hotel is very nice. The lobby area is beautiful with a very nice lobby bar. They had a live band playing on Saturday evening which was very enjoyable. The food in the Asian restaurant was the best food I have ever had at an all inclusive hotel. The food at the Mexican restaurant (I think the name was Maria's) was very average. We usually grabbed a quick lunch at the 24 hour snack bar and the food there was good/hamburgers, hotdogs, nachos, etc. The bar service was very nice. Drinks were served quickly and they certainly don't short change you on the alcohol. I do wish that servers would walk around the beach area more often serving drinks. In 3 hours on the beach one morning, we were only approached by one server. He brought us drinks and we tipped, which usually means you get frequent service. However, I think there was only one server for the entire beach. Our room was nice, but very hot. The air conditioner is motion sensitive so the room only cools down when you are in the room and moving around.. It wasn't miserable but it does take a while for it to cool down. Plus, the room would warm up again once we fell asleep. The walls are pretty thin. Our room was at the top of the stairs so we could hear people coming and going during the night. I took advantage of the spa services and had a wonderful 80 minute massage. The spa area was very nice and the massage was outstanding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Cons: More trees needed. Cancun is tremendously hot.
Location: Great area, near shopping, restaurants, easily accessible
Nice hotel. Good amenities. Great service. Very good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Tennessee

2015

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The hospitality .. they treated us very good.
Location: The location was great... The snorkling tour is great. You get you own little boat for 2 and go out to a coral and snorkle
I purchases a massage and Maria was the lady that did it and she was awesome... Best massage ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Boston, MA

Great Staff

Posted Aug 7, 2015
My family loved the Gran Caribe Resort. The place is beautiful! The service was terrific. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The staff went out of their way to make sure we all had what we needed/wanted. For example, we had an early flight out the last day. We had to leave the hotel at 5AM. We were looking for some fruit to have before we left. The man in charge of the 24 hour snack bar went to the kitchen and brought us a beautiful fruit plate. The food was good. We especially liked the mexican restaurant, Marias.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Too Hot

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Beautiful hotel, very clean and the food was great, only down side was the open air lobby, with no air conditioning. I like to escape the heat, and there is very little shade. The staff could not have been more pleasant and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from new york

The hotel was nice since its on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2015
The staff was excellent but too many ants . They should consider reservations for dinner. Hotel itself can use some updating. Not enough activities
1 out of 5
by A traveler from San Antonio Tx.

No man land place.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
This hotel has old furniture, small pool, They have like 22 shaded places with 2 beds to be at the pool but at 7:00 AM All of them have towels and fake belongings, the same at the beach, So you have to be at the pool or beach at 6:00 AM to get a nice shaded spot. what?? yes Sr. Lack of security personnel there can be people having loud conversations in the hall way at 3:00 in the morning. The restaurants slow service not enough waiters. They did not gave me the room that I paid for the first night until the second night. Then a personal told me that if they did not gave me the room I have to talk to Travelocity to get reimbursement because they are not committed to the reservation on Travelocity. This place is not 5 stars. The food is bad. don't go there look for a better place. Don't recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Virginia

All-inclusive at Caribe-in July

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The employees - excellent service regardless if the person was entertaining, bartending, serving food/drinks,cleaning the pool, trimming the grass.
Cons: Lobby needs to be air conditioned at least in some areas where people can visit without the humidity. Possibly floor fans to circualate the air?
Location: Hotel zone -We took a bus to Wal-mart, got our barrings and then were able to walk to the Flamingo Mall, which is between Forest Gump and Outback.
We traveled in July 2015, and didn't realize the humidity was so HIGH and the resort was open air lobby so unless you were in the water, your room, or a restaurant, it was close to miserable. I had not packed enough outfits to change 3 times a day! We met friends there and were constantly trying to find a cool place to 'visit.' The hotel staff were excellent from people mopping the floors constantly, adult activity/entertainment (Jonathan, Aldo, Mike), and to the bartenders & servers (Lobby: Enrique, Tony, Norma and Violeta, Zambia?). We ate in Gaviotas most mornings and the wait staff were excellent, as well as the 'pool bar' people were soooo good. I visited this bar and the lobby bar the most and you would think I could remember the bartenders, but.... . The upstairs restaurant (how soon we forget names) with Carolina as our seater. She was so nice, patient and always smiling. I liked this restaurant as it was air conditioned, looked out over the pool, beach and food was good. Fernando at Sunset Grill was awesome, friendly and attentive. WE also ate at Maria's - Mexican restaurant which was good but I guess I am too used to American/Mexican so this was 'fancy.' We did not try the Italian restaurant but looked at the menu and it looked good too. I also found nachos at the 24 hour cafe. Cheese was more runny than I am accustomed but it was good. I walked around to the children's area and it appears there is supervised children activities from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 8, 2015
The hotel was beautiful and the staff was awesome. My sister got married at the hotel and had her reception on the beach, the ceremony was beautiful the food was delicious. I had a wonderful time. The food at the hotel was delicious and the restaurants looked real clean.