Ratings based on 125 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful all inclusive experience!!!!

Posted May 19, 2017
My boyfriend and I came for a 5 day vacation and had an amazing time! When we arrived an hour early we were able to check in immediately and were upgraded to a family suite. There were bunk beds in the room and the view was towards the kids pool however we didn't spend much time in the room for it to be a huge issue. The room also came with a balcony and a hammock that was really nice. All of the food options were amazing, our favorite being Maria's. I definitely recommend going early because there may be a wait but it's well worth it! We sat in the lobby and had drinks while waiting to pass the time and there was always some form of entertainment, whether it be a live band or karaoke. The drinks were all really good and we had a good mix of margaritas, tequila sunrises, and many tequila shots during our visit. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to help out in any way they can. We also rode the jet skiis for about 30 minutes that cost about $65 and the gentleman running it was extremely nice and helpful. I would 100% return again and recommend this place to friends and family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Fantastic stay!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The great service, good food, beautiful accommodations and beach area.
Cons: the sales pitch by the person trying to sell us a vacation package for resorts around the world that took up 2 1/2 hours of our vacation time.
Location: We wandered into down town and did a day trip to chichen itza. It was good but the resort was fantastic as was the local shopping.
We were greeted at our taxi with a staff who picked up our luggage and guided us to a receptionist who directed us to the front desk while another handed us drinks. The staff escorted us to check out the room for approval and once the room was approved delivered our luggage. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean with an exquisite ocean view. The restaurants were all delicious. Encourage you to wander away from the buffet lines and settle into one of the fantastic dinners at Maria's or Il Pescatore. The breakfast buffet was delicious at the ocean side restaurant. All the staff were readily available and there to provide the best experience possible. Veronica was assigned to us when we arrived as a sort of personal concierge. She took care of everything and was simply a joy to work with. We have worked with concierge all over the world and have never me anyone so positive and helpful. She is one of the reasons that we will return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Polo, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great feedback, we hope to have the privilege of hosting you back very soon! Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york

Awesome hotel stay

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The hotel stay was amazing . Everyone there down to the maid made my vacation great. Staff is amazing and always with a smile it's my second time back and will definitely go back a 3rd. Hands down best hotel I ever been too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Polo, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great feedback, we hope to have the privilege of hosting you back very soon! Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Hubbard Ohio

Just got back and here is the truth

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Hotel cleanleness. Great tasting drinks. Rooms cleaned every day. Friendly staff.
Cons: Hotter food.
Location: 3 resturants across the street are nice with great views. $1 bus ride north or south for other sites and activities.
I have read over 200 reviews before choosing Grand Caribe and for the most part, they were spot on except for checking in. A lot of people bitched but it was fast and easy The hotel was as clean as possible. Staff always walking around cleaning something!!! They have 5 places to eat but in all honesty, my wife and I were not a huge fan of any of the restaurant style places because the menu was small. We both agreed with all the reviews about the food could be hotter at the buffets. Not sure how it gets to room temp so fast. The bartenders were fast and friendly and the drink girls walking the beach and pool area did the best they could but over tipping early didn't help. We got served just as fast as the people who didn't tip at all. The beach was beautiful like everyone says. Not sure if it was just the time we came but the waves were too powerful to relax in the ocean. It was a work out. Another disappointment was that 50% of the ocean was red flagged because of a undertow current. We had to stay within a 60 foot wide area and can only got 60 feet in. Boo!!! The staff at the pool tried like hell to keep everyone entertained. Hats off to them. We highly recommend crossing the street and taking the bus for $1.00 south to the outdoor mall. Only 1 mile if you want to walk but so much fun stuff to do and see. We stayed for 5 days but 4 would have been more than enough. PLEASE...put on SPF 50 or higher..twice a day if you are going to lay out. Sun burned everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Polo, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great feedback, we hope to have the privilege of hosting you back very soon! Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from DETROIT

Hotel very clean, Service was good.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Staff was very helpful and accomendating
Cons: Foods that should be served hot should be served hot.
Location: Hotel centrally located. Easy access by bus to mall or downtown Cancun. Buses were clean and safe. Fare to local destinations .50US each way.
Beautiful beach with the prettiest view. Service was excellent. Food was moderate. Variety lacking and was never hot only luke warm. Entertainment was not varied. Basically the same shows each night with different costumes. Family friendly hotel. Kids club with many activities and pirate ship and separate pool for kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Orlando, Florida

Hotel with lots of kids activities

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Their helpful staff and location.
Cons: Rooms need a face lift, they smell like mildew.
Location: There is a great restaurant across the street from the resort and a shopping mall close by.
The hotel has a great staff that is very helpful and seems happy to be there. There are lots of activities for children and the kiddie pool is very nice with a pirate ship and two great slides. Location is great and our room had a very nice ocean view. The food is ok, has a big variety pf items. There are big lines to be seated at peak time during breakfast and dinner but if you go early there is no wait or lines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

The staff is amazing. They go far and beyond!!

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Staff is corteous, kind and pleasant at all times
Cons: Marias restaurant and the italian restaurant the food its not as expected
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from san francisco

Nice hotel by the ocean

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Really nice place, with all inclusive, meals were delicious, beverages were good, friendly people helping you have a good time, nice pools, ocean front hotel with nice waves, only one thing they need to improve the 24 hour snack place with better snack selection, i will be coming back soon to this hotel, thanks to all the waiters for suggesting and recomending the best meals and for keeping my glass full of the drinks that i wanted.... Great service thanks!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Awesome place

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Staff excellent clean place .
Cons: Food choices . Same food seems everyday
Location: Coco bongo club mandala club I did pirate ship excursion also did romantic dinner on Columbus boat go
I been there 4x in month in half every week I flew back had great time. Workers remembered me and treat me as king. Spa massage great. Food choices could be better but overall it's great and I recommended people come who made reservations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Boston, MA

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The location, staff, food, pool, junior ocean front suite,
Cons: A properly working radio alarm clock, properly labeled food, and labeling all foods at the 24 hour snack bar, and a weigh scale in the suite.
Location: Everything is in close proximity. Public transportation is accessible. You can go shopping and dining in town.
My stay in the junior suite ocean front suite w/the window and balcony exceeded my expectations. The suite is exactly as pictured on Travelocity. Beautiful view of the beach from the balcony and window, absolutely outstanding! I enjoyed waking up to the beautiful sunrise. I slept in the very comfortable bed. Front desk staff was very helpful and catered my cousin and my needs. The beach resort staff was great, thanks for the excellent hospitality Violeta! Plus, I have to give props to Gaviota's waiters for excellent hospitality, and for the unexpected heartfelt goodbye hugs! I loved the location. The resort was close in proximity to mostly everything, beach, mall, and transportation.