Ratings based on 5,194 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler

GR Solaris

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The hotel was great. The shuttle service was horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler: The hotel does not provide shuttle service, nevertheless we are happy to read that you had a great time with us. Thank for your comment and we hope to see you soon. Warm regards from Cancun! Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Utah

Overall Great Resort

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Phenomenal staff and service. Clean and spacious rooms. Great ocean view. Great all inclusive plan. Awesome beach.
Cons: Better quality food and more extensive menu to avoid the food becoming repetitive.
Location: Short trip from airport. Far from downtown area
We went to Cancun from April 6 to April 13 2016 and ended staying at the GR Solaris after there was a mix up with the other hotel we had originally booked with and were very satisfied with our stay. The staff was great. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and well set up. We had a spectacular ocean view with a balcony. We had the All inclusive which not only included drinks and food at the restaurants and bars, but the minibar in the room and room service. The minibar was restocked every morning. The food wasn't the best. It was decent, but definitely not the best. And even though they do have 5 restaurants and a snack bar we found the food got pretty repetitive to the point where we ended up heading downtown a couple of times to eat at restaurants there. The exception was the Marco Polo restaurant which does different themes everyday. Marco Polo does require a one day in advance reservation though. One of the restaurants does have a stage and they do nightly dinners with a show. The room service menu isn't that extensive either and the pizza was bad, however, the burger they do for room service was surprisingly pretty good. They have 3 bars. 1 swim up bar in the main pool, 1 bar in between the 2 pools, and 1 bar in the lobby. The lobby bar had a pool table and did karaoke on a couple of the nights, and actually brought in a good crowd. The bartenders were great and made some good and strong drinks. There's 2 pools. The biggest one
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marcelo: First of all, thank you for sharing a very detailed review about your experience at GR Solaris. We are glad to read that you had an overall nice stay with us and that you enjoyed the services given by our valuable staff. About the food ,in order to provide new varied options in our restaurants, we are always working to change and renovate our selection of meals, to give our guests more alternatives to enjoy. Once again we really apreciate your feedback on Travelocity, we look forward to receive you in a nearest future. Warm regards from Cancun! Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Salem

Best Hotel in Cancun

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Staff and the service
Cons: More Mexican Food!
Location: The Beach is the Best - stay there for a relaxing vacation!
The staff is the friendliest we ever had on a nice trip to Cancun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2016 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dawapril: We are happy your overall experience was good and have felt an exceptional service from all the staff. Regarding mexican food, we have two restaurants that offer mexican options; Rosmarinus: A la carte and Salón Tehuacán: Mexican Buffet. Thank you so much for sharing your Solaris experience, we hope you stay with us again during your next trip to Cancún. Best Regards all the way to Salem! Hoteles Solaris de México. ^P
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Utah

Wonderful hotel with amazing, friendly staff.

Posted May 27, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: I love the proximity to the beach, the massage outside (which were extra but totally worth it), the food, and the overall atmosphere.
Cons: The area around the main pool can be a bit loud. Also, it's difficult to exchange money for get change for tips.
The entrance, the lobby, and the terrace overlooking the ocean are gorgeous. This was my third stay and I was again blown away at how friendly the staff is and how wonderful the food options are. I had multiple experiences with servers like Honorio that really impressed me with their professionalism and friendliness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jasna: We are happy your overall experience was good and have felt an exceptional service from all the staff especially Honorio who impressed you with his professionalism and friendliness. Also, we appreciate your acknowledgments about our food and spa services on Expedia. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another memorable Solaris experience. Best Regards! Hoteles Solaris de México. ^P
5 out of 5
by A traveler from California.

My trip to Paradise

Posted May 26, 2016 on Expedia
We take a family trip every 2 years and for the last 5 vacationswe have chosen this hotel. The service is fantastic. Rooms are very clean and rhe beds are comfortable. But more importantly, we keep coming back because we love the service in the restaurants. The waiters are incredible. Very amenable and cordial. The only thing we noticed is that seevice at the pool or the bar is not quite as good. There are only a couple of waitresses at the bar and u have to go look for your drinks. Othee than that we love. Already planning for 2017.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Familia Mendez: We are happy your overall experience was good and have felt an exceptional service from all the staff; it is one of the highlights of the Solaris family: to offer an exceptional service to every single one of our guests. Regarding the remark that you had with our service at the pool, we will keep it on mind and will inform to the department involved to improve on this matter for the benefit of our future guests. Similarly, thank you for your feedback and for choosing us among all the hotels in the are, we look forward to your next trip with us. Best regards from Cancun to California! Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Nevada

Nice hotel, great beach access

Posted May 23, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The wonderful beach and view, friendly staff (outside of pushy sales concierges) and great activities planners.
Cons: Softer beds, less push to sell their second vacation property.
Location: There is really nothing near by and the closest bus stop is at least 2 resorts away. This hotel is located at the far end of the hotel zone.
Great beach right off the back of the hotel, and being all inclusive the drinks were endless, as was food. The reason this has a 4 star instead of a 5 is for a few reasons. The first is because for the first 3 days we were there, any time we walked to the front of the hotel the concierge would grab us, trying to get us to take an hour tour at the other vacation property. We were told if we did this, we could get a free trip to the island with the dolphins and there was no pressure to buy a vacation property. It was border line pushy and made us avoid the lobby as much as possible. The second reason for this rating is the rooms. The rooms were nice, but there were a few things that were less then 2 stars. The box spring on our bed had the bottom ripped open and you could always see the loose cloth hanging under the bed, very dingy. Additionally, the beds were much harder then expected for a 4 star hotel, and if you took a shower longer then 5- 10 minutes the water trickles off and takes a minute or 2 to come back on. The final reason is that the hotels location to the main strip is a bit farther then expected and we had to take a 5 -10 minute bus ride (have your will up to date, lol) to get anywhere we needed to go, i.e. shopping, activities, bars and restaurants . If this is your first time in Cancun its a decent hotel. I am a 4 -5 star resort kinda girl and will be staying closer to the center of the hotel zone at a newer hotel the next time we visit in Jan 2017.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kristina: Please accept our most sincere apologies for all inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We can assure you we always try to do our best for that reason we care about your feedbacks. Regarding the perception you had from our in-house department, we like to inform you that we do make an invitation to our guests to join our membership program; we apologize if you felt harassed, it wasn’t our intention. Nevertheless we have talked with the department involved to take immediate action and make the proper adjustments with the concierge’s services towards our guests. In the other hand, regarding the beds The mattresses at the resort are orthopedic; mostly used in hotels especially design to offer a goodnight sleep to all our guests. Please try to consider it depends on the different preference that each person has; however we offer a pillow top to any guest who still finds it hard. We apologize for not achieving your standard, nevertheless we have already informed the General Manager about this matter and the other remarks that you have written. Thank you for your remarks on Expedia. Sincerely yours: Hoteles Solaris de México ^P
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

This hotel should not be rated 4 stars.

Posted May 19, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Breakfast Buffet and pizza.
Cons: Customer Service at the front desk and rooms need to be updated.
We were only here for one night. We missed our flight so Expedia recommended this hotel. This hotel was a disappointment. The outside of the hotel looks nice but my standard room was old and run down. The bed and the pillows were very uncomfortable. Our sliding door had a old film on it so we could not enjoy our view. The hotel needs to spend money on upgrading all the rooms. Breakfast buffet was surprisingly very good. Dinner buffet had a lot of poor quality food. The two mixed drinks I ordered at the bar were not good. The pizza made by the pool was good. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2016 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Leticia: We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Thank you for sharing your Solaris experience at TripAdvisor. This helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests. Regarding the mattress inconvenience please try to consider that it depends on the different preference each person has; however, we offer a pillow top to every guest who feels uncomfortable with the bed. We apologize for not informing you about this amenity. We regret haven't met your expectations and the perception you got about the service. We listen and care about the experience of our guest, once again we offer you an apology for haven't made your stay memorable. Sincerely yours: Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Las Vegas

Let's hit the beach in Cancun!

Posted May 18, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The location is great, right on a nice beach. It's not too far from the airport and downtown is a nice ride on the bus for only $1. Fabulous staff!
Cons: Although the food was good, it could be better. Very few items, even in the Marco Polo restaurant, really made me say wow. Improve the bacon please.
Location: The location is great, right on the lovely beach. It's not far from the airport and downtown Cancun can be reached on the bus out front for only $1.
My overall rating is a solid four but would consider giving it more. I worked in the hotel industry in Las Vegas for 46 years and know how difficult it can be to keep the staff and guests happy. Overall, my experience was really good. It's a lovely hotel and I would not hesitate to go back and would certainly recommend it to my friends. There's not room to write much about the items listed below, so I'll touch on them here. The staff is really incredible, a solid 10 on my scale. Great beach location. Convenient to airport and downtown Cancun. Room was fine, clean, plenty of room, and very clean, with a nice view of the beach. The food is about a 7.5, not bad but not fabulous, even in the Marco Polo. The bacon in the breakfast restaurant could be improved. I'd like to tackle that item myself. First of all, cook the bacon separating the pieces. Don't overcook it. When it's done, place it on some paper towels top and bottom to absorb most of the grease. Then place it carefully in the serving tray and carry it out to the breakfast buffet. This way every piece will be edible and delicious. The only downside to this is that the hotel would have to buy much more as the guests would eat so much of it. Is it really necessary to have the loud disco music playing most of the day with the DJ person out by the pool? That was a bit of a downer for me although I was under the weather during my trip and spent a lot of time in my room. I should have been at Chichen Itza.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2016 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bobby: First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to write a very detailed review! We are glad you enjoyed our services and facilities; it is one of the highlights of the Solaris family: to offer an exceptional service to every single one of our guests. On the subject of the bacon, we will take into account your opinion, this types of remarks helps us so much to improve our food for the benefit of our guests. Your feedback is really important to us therefore we can improve our services, especially the ones you mention. Thank for recomending us on Expedia and we look forward to welcoming you back once again to your now paradisiacal getaway and create many more memorable GR Solaris experiences. Best Regards all the way to Las Vegas! Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P
4 out of 5
by A traveler

I love it, the beach and the pools are amazing

Posted May 18, 2016 on Expedia
it is a bit far from the dt area but the the bus only 90cent you can reach there in 30-40min. The room was nice but the lights were broken and we asked for repair. Otherwise the hotel is highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler: Thank you for sharing your Solaris experience on Expedia. We will ask to Maintenance department to be carefull on this matter. We look forward to welcome you soon and provide you a once in a lifetime experience. Best regards! Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Indiana, USA

Ten days in Paradise 2016

Posted May 16, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The amazing staff always make you feel welcome and it is very important to them to try and please the guests.
The caring staff is the best. My husband and I have been here over a dozen times, and have always been treated like old friends. The resort is very well kept. The pools are crystal clear, rooms immaculately cleaned daily, gardens well groomed, restaurants spotless, and beach free of litter. The restaurants offer great food variety especially the Marco Polo with its gourmet cuisine. Captain Tony and Salaya, the best waiter ever, make dining there truly memorable. Captain Vermon in the café Solaris greets everyone and checks on their needs throughout each meal. We were at the opening night of the oriental restaurant, Zai. It was good and sure to become known as fabulous. An awesome deli is open from 4:00PM until 6:30 AM daily for carry-out or eat in sandwiches, salads, and desserts. Delicious drinks are a GR specialty at the swim up bar, walk up bar and cocktail lounge with Kevin, Edgar, and Hamilton as expert mixologists. Shows in the ball room are first rate, along with nightly entertainment in the lobby lounge and daily poolside fun provided by the entertainment staff. All common guest areas are air conditioned including lounge, lobby, and restaurants. Many other Cancun resorts are not. The bus stop is conveniently located right out in front of the hotel. The GR provides daily supervised entertainment for children including a large playground, kiddie pool, and games. It's all inclusive: drinks, food, shows as much fun as you want, just make a reservation and enjoy!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Judy: It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay, especially when you all are repeaters at GR Solaris. Thanks for taking the time to write a very detailed review! We are glad you had a blast and enjoyed our facilities and services. We are happy your overall experience was good and have felt an exceptional service from all the staff; it is one of the highlights of the Solaris family: to offer an exceptional service to every single one of our guests. Also thank you so much for recognizing the efforts of our staff on Expedia. We look forward to welcoming you back once again to your now paradisiacal getaway and create many more memorable GR Solaris experiences. Best regards! Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P