Ratings based on 4,806 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Michigan

Good all inclusive

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Drinks very very easily accessible. Whoever says otherwise is crazy.
Cons: Some people complained about food in their reviews. We thought it was ok. It wasn't great, especially is you're a picky eater. But its tolerable.
Location: We took a tour to Chichen Itza. It was a 14 hr day (they tell you 10). It was worth it. Hotel is on south end, most entertainment is 5 miles north
We walked the beach on the south end, GR solaris looked the nicest. Multiple pools, an adults only area, easy access to drinks. Watch out for the hawks at the airport when you arrive. Don't stop for the people just before the exit. They claim they are from your shuttle company, but they are actually scam artists (or attempted ones). They talk you into going to visit their "mexican resort." They offer tequilla, tourist tix to an attraction, and a Mexican blanket. The resort we visited on our 2nd day was called "El Cid." They give you a tour, wine and dine you, and then try to force you into joining their elite club. The first offer is for more then $150,000! Then they want you to pay it back in 5 years. Once you say no, they send other people over who try to lower and/or sweeten the deal. They don't take no for answer. We said no easily 25x. Honestly, it wasn't worth the hassle. They also say tell you during the initial scamming it will take only 90 minutes. It took nearly 4 hours out of our day. We finally got out there w/out giving in. Save yourself, don't take their initial offer at the airport
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Joe: Thanks for taking the time to write a general review about your vacations. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your tour to Chichen Itza and our services and facilities in overall. Once again thanks for your comment! Sincerely. Hoteles Solaris de México ^P
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Ohio

Look elsewhere for better food.

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and staff.
Cons: Food. Food. Food.
Location: Excursion to Los Mujeres was beautiful
Hotel staff was great. Hotel was clean. Food was terrible. Show was good and I liked that they had food theme nights but once again, the food was bad. We started leaving to go to restaurants outside the resort for better food. Grab your lounge seats at sunrise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Great location on the beach

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: All inclusive, staff is attentive to its guests
Cons: The food could easily be improved
Location: 15 min from airport, 10 min taxi ride from the downtown/nightclub scene
Pleasant experience staying 5 nights at GR Solaris. We really enjoyed all of their amenities and services they had to offer. We were sometimes disappointed with the buffet food, but the staff at GR Solaris is amazing, they are kind and hospitable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from broken arrow oklahoma

good bang for the buck

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: location and bar
Cons: keep with the maintenance program
Location: beach front, anything and every thing
3rd time to this property, always delivers . top features would be service, property amenities, and location, best feature has to be the bar staff, can't say enough about them, shout out to my friend Adair, see ya soon my friend.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from houston

Very loud and not so restful

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: One very nice restaurant. Nice to have drinks from the bar and walk on the beach. Room service breakfast excellent, staff friendly
Cons: Sound insulation.
Location: Beach was fine. Kind of crowded, though.
We had neighbors that were loud on both side of us. I could hear the persons talking in the room next to us. Thin walls and a locked door between us and the next room didn't block our neighbors noise. This really made the visit very disappointing for us. Our neighbors were up chatting, laughing, etc... until 5am. If you're in your 20s, want to have a great time drinking, and laying at the pool, hanging with friends, then this is the place for you. If you are a couple looking just a little bit of romance. Steer clear! We paid and booked for 2 nights, but decided to leave after 1 night (with a one night penalty). So happy that we found another place. Perhaps we didn't expect the quality of guests to be so low at this 5 star. My fellow American guests made me feel ashamed of my nationality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
Excellent hotel with a very pleasant staff. The entertainment was great and the facilities were very clean and well taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

So happy with this choice!

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Everything
Cons: The only downfall was that the walls are not soundproof but that was minor compared to all the fantastic things about the hotel.
Location: Great shopping
This was our first time in Cancun. We chose this place based on previous reviews and it exceeded our expectations. The place and location and set up of the hotel was amazing! We went with another couple and enjoyed every single minute of our stay! Gorgeous beach with plenty of chairs that offer sun and huts for shade. Beautiful pools as well. You will appreciate the friendliness and warmth of all of the staff. The quality of the food is great. They are very generous with both food and drinks. While at the beach wonderful Matilde did not stop asking us if we would like a drink and always with a smile. The restaurant staff Obilia Jair and Nunez . If you want to venture into town for shopping there are city buses right in front of the hotel that pass continually. We already decided we are going back. You will not be disappointed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Expedia
Staff was very hospitable and tended to our needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Good for the $$

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Expedia
It's a good hotel for price. Wish they had more good options.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Iowa

not what I paid for!!!!

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Staff member Frank
Cons: Be polite and more accommodating!
Check in staff extremely uncooperative. Expedia asked prior to our arrival what our room preference was. We asked for 2 beds, easy acess as I have a knee injury, there was no available wheelchair and was taken to our room with King size bed. So had to call and was informed only room available was facing another hotel. This was Not the Deluxe room I paid for!!! But at this point we were tired and just accepted the room Facing another hotel!! A very kind staff member, Frank, brought up our luggage and saw my difficulty in getting around and found a wheelchair for me. I feel I did not get what I paid for!! I still have the email Expedia sent me assuring me of deluxe room with 2 beds and easy acess. Hotel staff did not believe me and said no email was sent !!!! I even asked if I was in the correct hotel and this did not go over well, at this point my husband and I wanted to get on plane and go home or find another hotel to stay at.