Ratings based on 248 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Our 35th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The staff members, through out the day are constantly attempting to make sure that each guess are comfortable and having a wonderful time..
Cons: None
Location: We go to the Resort to do nothing but relax and enjoy each other..
This was our 6th trip to the Resort. The Service and staff members were awesome once again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Fayetteville, AR

Best overall Inclusive We've Stayed at

Posted May 6, 2017
We've been to 5 other all-inclusives and this one tops the list. The rooms were beautiful and cleaned 2-3 a day (depending on how much we wanted). Dinner: Plenty of restaurants to choose from! I would highly recommend the Indian Restaurant (Basmati, the French restaurant (Chez Isabelle), the Tapas restaurant (Flavor Market) and the hibachi grill (Spice). We did not enjoy the Mexican restaurant nearly as much (would not eat there next time) and the Lobster House didn't impress us for dinner, but we didn't eat there til 10pm so it may have been less great because it was about to close. We did not eat at the Mediterranean (Barcelona) or Italian restaurant (Toscana) for dinner. Lunch: we really enjoyed our lunches at The Lobster House, The Grill, and the brick oven pizzas at Las Olas by the beach. Plenty of pool and beach space! This was an upgrade from overcrowded spaces at other resorts we've visited. The shows were ok, but the Michael Jackson show was awesome. If I were to make one recommendation I would call and request a room closer to the main part of the resort (the campus is very large). We were in building 4 so we had quite a walk to the beach each day. It wasn't so bad, it's obviously a beautiful place and was good exercise to work off the food, but it wasn't easy to quickly run back up to the room if we needed something.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Allow us to thank you for taking a valued time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Expedia users. It is very gratifying to read your words regarding your stay with us and know that Excellence Playa Mujeres was able to provide you the best all-inclusive experience. Thanks for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the gorgeous facilities and the delicious food served that made your stay so enjoyable. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future for another fantastic getaway. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

very nice

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Room services are very nice
Cons: the hotel sign on the way to the main entrance of the hotel
My overall satisfaction is very good. However, the only thing that I am concerned about is the hotel sign. I recognize that you have the sign outside, but you do not have it inside the hotel. Sometimes, we want to take picture of where we stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Expedia users. It is very satisfying to know that you had a memorable time in our resort. Thank you for the generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services which made your experience enjoyable. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We all look forward to serving you soon and provide you with another amazing getaway! Receive our warmest regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Missouri

Best resort we've ever visited!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything! Service, facilities, entertainment, drinks, food, location, spa. Everything is great.
Cons: My only complaint was the amount of "seat saving" that happens around the main pool and beach. This really needs attention.
Location: With all of the restaurants and entertainment at the resort we never had a reason to leave! Also the spa is top notch. The aqua therapy was very cool.
In short: This is a fantastic resort with unbeatable customer service, great food and entertainment, great location, the list could go on forever. Food: We tried a majority of the restaraunts at the resort and they were all very good. Chez Isabelle (French) was probably our favorite overall restaurant. This is an all inclusive so don't get stuck eating at one place. They are ALL fantastic! Facility: From the moment you enter the drive up to the front door it's pretty clear this is a high end resort. Everything is impeccable. There are a million pictures of the facility and I can tell you it looks even better in person. Staff: I can't say enough about the staff at this resort. All inclusive doesn't just mean free food and drinks. They take care of everything! The wait staff is spectacular. From the casual cafe by the beach to the fine dining inside, the staff took great care of us. One day we were caught by heavy rain at the lobster hours (open air). The staff pulled everyone's food in and replaced anything that got too wet. They did all of this getting themselves soaked in the process. The amazing part was that they all took it very well joking and having a good time with the guests. We had to run back to our room in the downpour. Some staff saw us and ran out with dry towels so that we could shield ourselves. Again, getting themselves soaked just to help us. This sort of service happened all week! They also provided great live music the entire afternoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Luke, Allow us to thank you for taking a valued time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Expedia users. It is very gratifying to read your words regarding your stay with us and know that Excellence Playa Mujeres was able to provide you such a memorable and relaxing experience. Thanks for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the excellent service provided and the delicious food served that made your stay so enjoyable. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future for another fantastic experience. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Mendham, NJ

1st time stay, and it was EXCELLENT in every way!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Staff and service were wonderful. We had a culinary adventure with the 9 restaurants, each of which had a different style, different decor, etc.
Location: We took a deep sea fishing trip which was a good time, and the concierge helped to coordinate it.
I booked a 3 night stay with my husband based on recommendations from two friends with very different travel styles. I had very high expectations because of their reviews and the cost. Every expectation was met - staff were really wonderful, genuinely friendly and accommodating, the pools were awesome, the beach was lovely, service was excellent, food was delicious, there was plenty to do (or not do). We stayed in the junior suite (non excellence club) and it was perfect - no need to upgrade on our opinion although many others suggest otherwise. I highly recommend this hotel for a short or long romantic stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Taylor, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Expedia users. We are thrilled to read your amiable words regarding your stay with us. We really appreciate the very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the friendly service provided by our colleagues and the marvellous beach & facilities that made your stay a relaxing and memorable experience. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future! Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Ohio

excellence playa mujeres.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: dinning options esp outdoor, shade and sun avail. service
Cons: draw space in rooms.
Location: most people don't leave the resort
outstanding service, very good to excellent food, great dining options both lunch and dinner w/ outdoor options. excellent bars and poolside service. top shelf available. very nice beach, EC good but not nec for a great time. lively and quiet areas, shade and sun available both beach and pool. main pool heated, not roof top plunge pools. mainly couples. 1/2 hr from airport. would return (and this is the 6th Cancun area resort for us)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Donna, Thank you very much for recommending Excellence Playa Mujeres to all Expedia users. Is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres and our facilities and the excellent restaurants were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide another amazing experience. Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Louisville, KY

excellent resort, lots of restaurant options,

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: proximity to beach, pools, all-inclusive options, entertainment
Cons: nothing
Location: the location is secluded, need transportation for activities. everything one needs is available at the resort
excellent resort for the all-inclusive experience. plenty of restaurant options, staff very polite and genuine. The evening entertainment each night was great. Will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Wade, Thank you very much for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your holiday destination and for recommending us to all Expedia users. We are delighted to read your enthusiastic words and the tasty food and our colleagues, providing and excellent service, were able to exceed your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and provide another amazing getaway. Please receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from s

Excellent food, drinks, staff and entertainment.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Greatvtime. Plenty to do or quiet to relax. Elegant meals, room was fabulous!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Robin, Thank you very much for recommending Excellence Playa Mujeres to all Expedia users. Is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres and our facilities and the excellent restaurants were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide another amazing experience. Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
If you're going for relaxation it is perfect. If you're going to party and drink alcohol not your place. No shots after 3pm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Kansas

Great Place for a short Romantic Getaway

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Public area was well kept.
Cons: Food was so-so. The show at night was too close to our building (building 7), if you'd like peace and quiet, ask to be away from the nightclub.
Location: It is pretty darn far from Cancun, which was fine with us, as we didn't plan on leaving the resort.
Check in was quick and easy. We arrived at 2, check in time was at 3, so we were given a beeper while they watched our luggage. I wish I had put my swimsuit in my bag that I carried around so that I could have changed earlier; as it was, we got a drink and went to sit in a lounge area by the beach that was very relaxing. The hotel public areas were very nice and well groomed. Pools were everywhere, bars were frequent. Our co-vacationers were varied, some older empty nesters, some honeymooners, lots of 30 somethings, mainly heterosexual. From the accents, I'd guess that many were Americans with a sprinkling of other nations. We were in building 7 in a Junior suite, the cheapest accommodation available. The room was huge, (the balcony alone was bigger than some rooms we've had on cruise ships!) and very clean. There is a incense burner which gives the room a characteristic odor (that bit's for asthmatics that may be influenced by these things). I'd not ask for a swim up suite, as these appeared to be ground floor rooms that had a ladder out of the pool 15 feet in front of the room's sliding glass door, which nobody used to get to their rooms. Building 7 was right next to the evening's entertainment, so it was noisy on the balcony (and, honestly, in the room, too) until the evening's show was over. Food was above average, but not stupendous. This didn't bother us, as we are happy just to not have to cook dinner, but may bother you foodies out there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Teresa, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres. We are very happy to read that you had relaxing and memorable experience in our resort and the gorgeous facilities were able to exceed your expectations. On the other hand, we are disappointed to read that we fell short on your culinary expectations. We take great pride in providing the freshest of ingredients and creating both simple and also creative dining experiences. We also would like to remind all of our guests that if you want to eat something that is not in our restaurants, please let us know, and our Chef will be more than happy to prepare a special meal for you if the ingredients are available. Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Cancun!