Ratings based on 3,669 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
If you're going for relaxation it is perfect. If you're going to party and drink alcohol not your place. No shots after 3pm
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Kansas

Great Place for a short Romantic Getaway

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Public area was well kept.
Cons: Food was so-so. The show at night was too close to our building (building 7), if you'd like peace and quiet, ask to be away from the nightclub.
Location: It is pretty darn far from Cancun, which was fine with us, as we didn't plan on leaving the resort.
Check in was quick and easy. We arrived at 2, check in time was at 3, so we were given a beeper while they watched our luggage. I wish I had put my swimsuit in my bag that I carried around so that I could have changed earlier; as it was, we got a drink and went to sit in a lounge area by the beach that was very relaxing. The hotel public areas were very nice and well groomed. Pools were everywhere, bars were frequent. Our co-vacationers were varied, some older empty nesters, some honeymooners, lots of 30 somethings, mainly heterosexual. From the accents, I'd guess that many were Americans with a sprinkling of other nations. We were in building 7 in a Junior suite, the cheapest accommodation available. The room was huge, (the balcony alone was bigger than some rooms we've had on cruise ships!) and very clean. There is a incense burner which gives the room a characteristic odor (that bit's for asthmatics that may be influenced by these things). I'd not ask for a swim up suite, as these appeared to be ground floor rooms that had a ladder out of the pool 15 feet in front of the room's sliding glass door, which nobody used to get to their rooms. Building 7 was right next to the evening's entertainment, so it was noisy on the balcony (and, honestly, in the room, too) until the evening's show was over. Food was above average, but not stupendous. This didn't bother us, as we are happy just to not have to cook dinner, but may bother you foodies out there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Teresa, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres. We are very happy to read that you had relaxing and memorable experience in our resort and the gorgeous facilities were able to exceed your expectations. On the other hand, we are disappointed to read that we fell short on your culinary expectations. We take great pride in providing the freshest of ingredients and creating both simple and also creative dining experiences. We also would like to remind all of our guests that if you want to eat something that is not in our restaurants, please let us know, and our Chef will be more than happy to prepare a special meal for you if the ingredients are available. Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Boston, MA

Second stay, can't wait for the third!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Second stay with my husband and I was nervous it wouldn't live up my expectations from the first time. How wrong I was! This place just does things right, they pamper you from the minute you arrive but not to the point of overwhelming you. The staff is polite, very knowledgeable, helpful, and extremely professional in all their fields. Take advantage of all Excellence Playa Mujeres has to offer, volleyball, dance parties at the beach, cocktail classes, Hibachi dinners, they really know how to get everyone together to have an amazing time. I'd recommend being part of the Excellence Club for the added little luxury that comes with it. You have the option of more private pools and an exclusive beach area as well as upgraded liquor selections and a beautiful bar/concierge area to relax in. You won't be disappointed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Candice, Allow us to thank you for choosing once again Excellence Playa Mujeres as your getaway destination and for sharing your experience with all Expedia users. We are delighted to read that you had a relaxing and memorable experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres. Thanks for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and also for mentioning how satisfied you are with the excellent and attentive service provided by our staff, as well as the activities encountered. Our guest’s happiness and enjoyment are always our priority! We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future for another amazing experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Not perfect but close

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The staff are well-trained, energetic, friendly, caring, warm, and as professional as it gets.
Cons: Some room service items occasionally not being replenished on a daily basis.
Location: The trip to the Mayan Temple at Coba including rapelling, canoeing, swimming, and touring Mayan ruins was awesome.
Lat year we stayed at the Finest Playa Mejures and this year a the Excellence Playa Mejures. Both are amazing and worth the money. We did notice a few small omissions like the wine in the room not being replenished on two days or the hotel newsletter not being delivered on one day. However when brought to the attention of the hotel staff, these anomalies were quickly corrected. Honestly, out of let's say 1,000 items that need to be done, the hotel staff makes 999.9 of them happen with great care, warmth, and professionalism. We'll be going again next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jim & Kris, Let us thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as host of your getaway and for taking a time to write this review. We are very pleased to know that the friendliness and the outstanding service provided by our colleagues were able to exceed your expectations. We also appreciate your feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. Your inputs help with our continuing efforts to provide an excellent service and a great stay. It will be a great honour to welcome you again and provide another amazing experience. Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Oklahoma City

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Expedia
Great experience! Would definitely go again! Very first class experience!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Vancouver BC

Excellent Vacation. We will be coming back!

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Staff, Food, Staff, Nice Hotel, Pools, The Beach,Saff, overall atmosphere of the hotel because of type of people staying
Location: 25 min to the Airport. Isla Mujere Island is also very close.
The room was amazing and had a very convenient location with the calm and relaxing lazy river view. Every hotel employee we had to deal with during our stay was amazing. Food (over all): Excellent in our opinion. We compare it with non-all-inclusive 5 star hotels and restaurant we have been in the past; the food here is Excellent. Quality, variety and taste are all excellent.None of the restaurant require reservation. My wife and I really like this as we don't like to have an agenda for our vacation.We loved the type of people who stay at EPM. I think they are also part of the reason we love this resort. We simply love EPM's beach. The water was very clear most days and the white sands beach couldn't get any better. Also hotel staff had a scheduled to clean Seaweeds from the beach at least couple of times a day so it was never bad during our stay. We had hotel staff checking on us every 30/60 minutes or so to make sure we don't need snacks or drinks. There are always free beds at the beach, but if you want to be in the shade you would need to come earlier or wait for someone to leave. Lazy river is one of the best things EPM has in our opinion. You can swim or float on a relaxing river for hours (It looks like a river goes around the Hotel) surrounded by Palm trees
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mehdi, Allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your holiday destination and for sharing your experience. It is very gratifying to read your words regarding your stay with us and know that Excellence Playa Mujeres was able to provide you such a memorable and romantic experience. Thanks for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the excellent services provided, the quality of food, facilities and amenities encountered that made your stay so relaxing and enjoyable. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future for another fantastic experience. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Tennessee

Fantastic resort with excellent service

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: I loved how clean it was and not crowded.
Cons: Food got better as we stayed but the first night we ate at Barcelona and that was absolutely terrible food. Breakfast wasn't my favorite either.
Location: Location was nice and secluded yet not too far from the airport. We went swimming with the whale sharks on a nearby tour and it was amazing.
Me and my boyfriend just returned from this resort yesterday and we loved it. I have been to Cancun 2 times prior to this trip but I didn't realize this resort was so far from the hotel zone I am familiar with. I LOVED that about this resort. We were away from all the traffic and party crowds. It was quiet and secluded. Staff was amazing and so are the rooms. The staff even helped my boyfriend with his proposal plans. I was so surprised!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lauren, Allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the destination of your romantic getaway and for sharing your experience with all Expedia users. We are delighted to read that you found a relaxing time at Excellence Playa Mujeres and the excellent service provided by our staff was able to exceed your expectations. Thanks for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, which is very important to us. Your inputs help with our continuing efforts to provide an excellent service and a great stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you another amazing experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Very clean and overall well-kept facilities

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: cleanliness
Cons: a bit more variety with evening programs
Location: chichen itza tour is a must in my opinion
Very nice place to stay, overall we had great experience, place for couples for sure
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Expedia
Stop looking anywhere else. This place is THE BEST.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Ontario, Canada

Beautiful hotel close to everything you need

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Expedia
Stayed here for 7 days for our honeymoon. We got spoilt! Champagne and cold clothes upon arrival. Just about everything is complimentary. Amazing and authentic restaurants and bars. Room always clean and fresh. Staff go above and beyond to ensure you are happy. Great pools and beach.