Ratings based on 3,529 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Texas

Beautiful hotel, beautiful beach, excellent staff!

Posted Jun 4, 2016
The hotel was absolutely amazing from the second you drove up to the property. We were greeted with champagne, the friendliest of staff at the front desk and made to feel comfortable for the next couple of hours while our room was prepared (we arrived 3 hours prior to check in). The bartenders at the pool (Diego especially) were fabulous! They were fun, engaging, happy, and always had a smile. The food was fantastic at every single restaurant; even the buffet in the morning. The only complaint about the restaurants was the time it took to prepare your meal. We waited a minimum of 45 minutes for food every single time. But the taste did not disappoint. The room was great: huge Jacuzzi tub on the balcony, wonderful shower with plenty of room for two, separate sitting area. The beds were not the most comfortable; unless you are a fan of the hard, stiff type. If you're looking for a party hotel, this is not for you. However, there is a great mix of both party and relaxation. There was sufficient entertainment at night and wonderful fellowship among all guests. There are lots of honeymooners and couples celebrating anniversaries. But for those wanting a getaway complete with luxury relaxation and a bit of party at night, this is the spot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres once again as host of your holiday and for taking a valued time to share your experience with all Expedia users. We are delighted to know that our partners were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable as well as the quality of food, facilities and amenities which made your holidays enjoyable and memorable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. Rest sure we will share your words with the related departments and colleagues on the property. Our partners will be happy to receive your compliments. We hope to welcome you in a near future and provide once again an excellent experience. Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Virginia

Classy Resort

Posted May 27, 2016
Spent five nights here with my 25 year old daughter and had such an amazing time. We've been to several All Inclusive resorts in Cancun, Bahamas, Aruba, Barbados, and Dominican Republic and this is by far the best overall. The design and layout provides a lot of privacy while also providing lively atmosphere with music/live bands near the swim-up pool bar. Top shelf drinks, food, rooms, etc. Fun entertainment daily, super friendly staff as well as other guests. A lot of couples and a lot of groups, friends and family vacationing together, met so many nice people. We will be back for sure! Thank you to the hard working and tentative staff! I've never written a review but this place certainly deserves one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Debbie, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Expedia users. It is a great satisfaction to know that our friendly staff was able to exceed your expectations. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to the quality of food & drinks and facilities encountered. Will be a great honour to welcome you again and provide another amazing experience. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from San Jose, CA

LOVED IT!

Posted May 24, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Everything.
Location: Did not go anywhere.
No complains, loved everything about it, planning next trip. Thank you Excellence staff, management, everyone for making this vacation amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Tatyana, Thank you for recommend Excellence Playa Mujeres to all Expedia users. We are very pleased to know that you had an amazing experience in our resort. We are also looking forward to welcoming you again and provide another remarkable vacation! Warm regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Massachusetts

Perfect place to relax and be by yourselves

Posted May 23, 2016 on Expedia
Gorgeous resort, spread out, beautiful rooms. So spread out that you actually have to work a bit to meet others there. The night life was meager though. There was a DJ at 11 at the Sports Bar but the music was so loud that it seemed to be intended to drive out people and keep them from staying and dancing vs. the reverse. The shows were just ok (Iberostar Grand shows are WAY better). The restaurants were nice. Grounds are perfectly maintained. We love to play beach volleyball 2x per day and this is typically organized at all the resorts we've been to (Secrets, Iberostar, etc) but here they have so many competing activities and weddings that it is only offered once per day at most and some days not at all. That was a huge disappointment for us and not something that we could check into before we arrived. Pool VB is not the same at all. Overall a very nice resort for a quiet getaway but not a great fit for what we look for (vibrant night scene and beach VB).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Mary Ann, Thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Expedia users. We appreciate that you added remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us, mentioning that the quality of the food and facilities made your stay more relaxing and enjoyable. On the other hand, we deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the entertainment since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality of services provided. Each staff member shares our commitment to provide a professional service at all times for our guests’ enjoyment. Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Be aware that all the info you have raised has been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from conway arkansas

Great for couples

Posted May 21, 2016 on Expedia
This was our second time to Excellence Playa Mujeres. The first was for our honeymoon and this past time was for our one year anniversary. All top shelf liquor. Dining is excellent often with live music. Ceasar and Hugo work the Martini bar in the main lobby. They will create special drinks for the girls with out request. They are always delicious! Air conditioning could be a little better near the bed. It depends on the room. We did not have an issue on our first trip, but I slept on top of the covers confortably for most of the night despite that the thermostat said it was 64 degrease. There are enough pools to allow for privacy. The pool around the spa is normally quite secluded and quiete.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Brye, First and foremost, let us thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as host of your 1st-anniversary and taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that our colleagues were able to exceed your expectations. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our facilities, the quality of food & drinks and the excellent service provided. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. Rest sure we will share your words with the related departments and colleagues on the property. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another amazing experience. Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from northwestern PA

Wonderful experience

Posted May 20, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!
Cons: Of all the restaurant choices, we were disappointed with our dinner at the Lobster House. The lobster tail was small, dry and chewy. Should give 2.
Location: Took a side trip to Chichen Itza; well worth it. Glad we took the 5 AM trip as it was very warm when we got there. A Must See! Loved the beach!!
This is was our first vacation at an adult-only resort. Our experience far-exceeded our expectations. The staff went above and beyond to please us and made us feel very welcomed with our champagne and wet cloth upon our arrival to the easy checkout process. Our waiter, Florical, always greeted us with a smile at the beach and remembered our previous beverage choices and also suggested others he thought we might enjoy. You could choose to have lunch at the beach or one of other places close by, wearing a cover-up. There were plenty of excellent dinner restaurants and the presentation of our meals were well done. After reading reviews before we came, some said about dress code and having to change multiple times. You had a choice of remaining in beach clothes or changing but it was your choice--not a problem. We didn't pay extra for Excellence Club and couldn't see need to have it. Our room was always clean and returning to it in the evening, it was extra nice to see the turn-down service with candy and a sheet with the next day's schedule. We were on the 3rd floor in room 7304 and it was close to restaurants and beach. We definitely would return to this beautiful resort. You won't be disappointed coming here!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Allow us to thank you for taking a time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Expedia users. Thank you for adding remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the great services that made your stay more comfortable as well as the facilities and amenities, which made your experience enjoyable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to provide the best services to our valued guests. Please rest assured that all the info you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you another unique vacation experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Dallas, TX

Another great vacation at Excellence Playa Mujeres

Posted May 19, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Great resort. Peaceful. Lovely rooms. Nice beach. Great restaurants and bars. Decent entertainment. Service is EXCELLENT.
Cons: Perhaps the entertainment crew could be a little more energetic and creative (when compared to other resorts). Not a big concern though.
We spent 6 days at Excellence Playa Mujeres. This was our 3rd visit and we do not expect it to be our last. We love everything about this place, which I have stated in previous reviews. While the resort, rooms, food, bars, beach, etc. are all 5 star, the most impressive thing about this resort is the people who work so hard to make sure you have a great vacation. Jose and David in the Sol bar did a great job. Already looking forward to our next trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Wayne, Allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your holiday destination and sharing your experience with all Expedia users. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that our colleagues were able to exceed your expectations. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our facilities, the quality of food & drinks and the excellent service provided. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Wonderful vacation!!!

Posted May 19, 2016 on Expedia
This resort deserves the 5 star rating!! The grounds are immaculately maintained, the staff is wonderful, the beach is exceptionally beautiful!! Would highly recommend this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for recommend Excellence Playa Mujeres to all Expedia users. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic experience in our resort. We are also looking forward to welcoming you again and provide another memorable getaway! Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Amazing

Posted May 18, 2016 on Expedia
We had such an amazing time, we will definately be going back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for recommend Excellence Playa Mujeres to all Expedia users. We are happy to know that you had an amazing time in our resort. We are also looking forward to welcoming you again and provide another fantastic experience! Receive our warmest regards!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Connecticut

Third stay for Birthday- AMAZING

Posted May 17, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The staff, Cleanliness, decor, activities and basically everything.
Cons: We didn't eat any of the fruit given in our room for our stay and it goet wasted. maybe they should ask if guests want the fruit or not.
Location: Bike tour was great, Hobbie cat boat ride, paddle boarding
This place is like paradice! Grounds are beautiful. Staff goes out their way to make sure your stay is memorable and exceptional. Very clean in all areas. Food was amazing and everything you could possibly want was at the buffet. Restaurants were great especially Chez Isabelle and Spice. Pizza at Sol was the best pizza I ever ate. Pool areas go from lively to quiet depending on what you prefer.Special thank you to Caroline, our Concierge, for the amazing birthday table at Agave for my husband.. And Alonzo for the activies fun(volleyball). Angel was so great at breakfast (mimosas and balloons)and lunch. You all made my husbands Birthday a Special memory he will always remember.Definately recommend this Resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres once again as host of your holidays, birthday celebration and for taking a valued time to share your experience with all Expedia users. We are delighted to know that our partners were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable as well as the quality of food, which made your holidays enjoyable and memorable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. Rest sure we will share your words with the related departments and colleagues on the property. Our partners will be happy to receive your compliments. We hope to welcome you in a near future and provide once again an amazing vacation. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!