Ratings based on 242 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Louisville, KY

excellent resort, lots of restaurant options,

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: proximity to beach, pools, all-inclusive options, entertainment
Cons: nothing
Location: the location is secluded, need transportation for activities. everything one needs is available at the resort
excellent resort for the all-inclusive experience. plenty of restaurant options, staff very polite and genuine. The evening entertainment each night was great. Will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Wade, Thank you very much for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your holiday destination and for recommending us to all Expedia users. We are delighted to read your enthusiastic words and the tasty food and our colleagues, providing and excellent service, were able to exceed your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and provide another amazing getaway. Please receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from s

Excellent food, drinks, staff and entertainment.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Greatvtime. Plenty to do or quiet to relax. Elegant meals, room was fabulous!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Robin, Thank you very much for recommending Excellence Playa Mujeres to all Expedia users. Is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres and our facilities and the excellent restaurants were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide another amazing experience. Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
If you're going for relaxation it is perfect. If you're going to party and drink alcohol not your place. No shots after 3pm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Kansas

Great Place for a short Romantic Getaway

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Public area was well kept.
Cons: Food was so-so. The show at night was too close to our building (building 7), if you'd like peace and quiet, ask to be away from the nightclub.
Location: It is pretty darn far from Cancun, which was fine with us, as we didn't plan on leaving the resort.
Check in was quick and easy. We arrived at 2, check in time was at 3, so we were given a beeper while they watched our luggage. I wish I had put my swimsuit in my bag that I carried around so that I could have changed earlier; as it was, we got a drink and went to sit in a lounge area by the beach that was very relaxing. The hotel public areas were very nice and well groomed. Pools were everywhere, bars were frequent. Our co-vacationers were varied, some older empty nesters, some honeymooners, lots of 30 somethings, mainly heterosexual. From the accents, I'd guess that many were Americans with a sprinkling of other nations. We were in building 7 in a Junior suite, the cheapest accommodation available. The room was huge, (the balcony alone was bigger than some rooms we've had on cruise ships!) and very clean. There is a incense burner which gives the room a characteristic odor (that bit's for asthmatics that may be influenced by these things). I'd not ask for a swim up suite, as these appeared to be ground floor rooms that had a ladder out of the pool 15 feet in front of the room's sliding glass door, which nobody used to get to their rooms. Building 7 was right next to the evening's entertainment, so it was noisy on the balcony (and, honestly, in the room, too) until the evening's show was over. Food was above average, but not stupendous. This didn't bother us, as we are happy just to not have to cook dinner, but may bother you foodies out there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Teresa, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres. We are very happy to read that you had relaxing and memorable experience in our resort and the gorgeous facilities were able to exceed your expectations. On the other hand, we are disappointed to read that we fell short on your culinary expectations. We take great pride in providing the freshest of ingredients and creating both simple and also creative dining experiences. We also would like to remind all of our guests that if you want to eat something that is not in our restaurants, please let us know, and our Chef will be more than happy to prepare a special meal for you if the ingredients are available. Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Boston, MA

Second stay, can't wait for the third!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Second stay with my husband and I was nervous it wouldn't live up my expectations from the first time. How wrong I was! This place just does things right, they pamper you from the minute you arrive but not to the point of overwhelming you. The staff is polite, very knowledgeable, helpful, and extremely professional in all their fields. Take advantage of all Excellence Playa Mujeres has to offer, volleyball, dance parties at the beach, cocktail classes, Hibachi dinners, they really know how to get everyone together to have an amazing time. I'd recommend being part of the Excellence Club for the added little luxury that comes with it. You have the option of more private pools and an exclusive beach area as well as upgraded liquor selections and a beautiful bar/concierge area to relax in. You won't be disappointed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Candice, Allow us to thank you for choosing once again Excellence Playa Mujeres as your getaway destination and for sharing your experience with all Expedia users. We are delighted to read that you had a relaxing and memorable experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres. Thanks for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and also for mentioning how satisfied you are with the excellent and attentive service provided by our staff, as well as the activities encountered. Our guest’s happiness and enjoyment are always our priority! We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future for another amazing experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Beautiful hotel, beautiful beach, excellent staff!

Posted Jun 4, 2016
The hotel was absolutely amazing from the second you drove up to the property. We were greeted with champagne, the friendliest of staff at the front desk and made to feel comfortable for the next couple of hours while our room was prepared (we arrived 3 hours prior to check in). The bartenders at the pool (Diego especially) were fabulous! They were fun, engaging, happy, and always had a smile. The food was fantastic at every single restaurant; even the buffet in the morning. The only complaint about the restaurants was the time it took to prepare your meal. We waited a minimum of 45 minutes for food every single time. But the taste did not disappoint. The room was great: huge Jacuzzi tub on the balcony, wonderful shower with plenty of room for two, separate sitting area. The beds were not the most comfortable; unless you are a fan of the hard, stiff type. If you're looking for a party hotel, this is not for you. However, there is a great mix of both party and relaxation. There was sufficient entertainment at night and wonderful fellowship among all guests. There are lots of honeymooners and couples celebrating anniversaries. But for those wanting a getaway complete with luxury relaxation and a bit of party at night, this is the spot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres once again as host of your holiday and for taking a valued time to share your experience with all Expedia users. We are delighted to know that our partners were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable as well as the quality of food, facilities and amenities which made your holidays enjoyable and memorable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. Rest sure we will share your words with the related departments and colleagues on the property. Our partners will be happy to receive your compliments. We hope to welcome you in a near future and provide once again an excellent experience. Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Virginia

Classy Resort

Posted May 27, 2016
Spent five nights here with my 25 year old daughter and had such an amazing time. We've been to several All Inclusive resorts in Cancun, Bahamas, Aruba, Barbados, and Dominican Republic and this is by far the best overall. The design and layout provides a lot of privacy while also providing lively atmosphere with music/live bands near the swim-up pool bar. Top shelf drinks, food, rooms, etc. Fun entertainment daily, super friendly staff as well as other guests. A lot of couples and a lot of groups, friends and family vacationing together, met so many nice people. We will be back for sure! Thank you to the hard working and tentative staff! I've never written a review but this place certainly deserves one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by Community Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Debbie, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres with all Expedia users. It is a great satisfaction to know that our friendly staff was able to exceed your expectations. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to the quality of food & drinks and facilities encountered. Will be a great honour to welcome you again and provide another amazing experience. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

5 Star

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Awesome trip, above my expectations for food, service and the specialty restaurants. Staff is extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful. By far the best all inclusive I've ever been to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago

Absolutely EXCELLENT!!!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Our stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres was outstanding in every way! We were so pleased with every part of the resort: the staff was unbelievably gracious and constantly made us feel like royalty, the accomodations were so luxurious, comfortable and beautiful, the grounds were impeccably groomed and landscaped, (even the pool had not ONE speck of algae ANYWHERE) the food was the ultimate in gourmet deliciousness and creativity...just EXCELLENT in every way!!! We want to recognize Antonio, Concepcion and Saturnino from Lobster House, Jonny and Angel from Toscana (Angel always brought my decaf in its own pitcher piping hot! Wonderful! He also did everything as quickly as possible), German and Raul at Spice, Astrid at the Café (just absolute perfect decaf every day!), Bertha the maid by the pool kept the bathrooms sparkling, Victor, the personal trainer, made workouts just perfect and challenging... keeping me energized, Sofia and elias were such warm and friendly entertainment staff and Nelson Calixto just made us feel so very special...there was no room for improvement!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great place

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Great all inclusive! We got an upgraded room with a huge deck and a pool. Facilities, food etc. are to notch. Staff is exceptionally friendly.