"Great rate - facility is showing age - but the shower was hot, the bed was comfy, the breakfast was good. Didn't use the pool, but was a great additi ... " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 22 Oct 2015

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near App State places you in the center of Boone, within just a 15-minute stroll of Boone Mall and Magic Mountain Mini Golf and Arcade. Highlights at this hotel include free continental breakfast, an indoor swimming pool, and free self parking.

You can enjoy flat-screen TVs with cable channels, and all 96 rooms feature free WiFi, coffee/tea makers, and free long-distance calls. Refrigerators and microwaves make in-room dining convenient. Additionally, free local calls, hair dryers, and irons/ironing boards are available.

Enjoy the fitness center, spa tub, and kids' swimming pool. Added amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area. Each morning free breakfast is served between 6 AM and 10 AM. There's also the convenience of free RV/bus/truck parking.

Sights within a 20-minute walk of this Boone hotel include Hickory Ridge Living History Museum and Daniel Boone Native Gardens.

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$99 per night

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Microwave

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near App State ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.2 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0
3 out of 5

Lousy Service

Cons: Breakfast Service
Overall Hotel is OK, I spent a night over there with my family. Coffee machine in the was dirty and seemed that hadn't been used in weeks. The breakfast was terrible, outside temperature was below zero and there was not even hot beberages for the kids, orange juice tasted rotten, and there were not coffee cups with lids. No variety and the muffing sandwiches were frozen in a box from the supermarket.

Posted by on Jan 9, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 7, 2017 by Manager

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the contential breakfast included in your stay. We always strive to provide our guests the most satisfactory experience possible when they are staying with us.

2 out of 5

Very ordinary

Older hotel that was very ordinary and nothing to boast about. The experience felt like a hotel with a very low budget. The room we stayed in was musty. The hall ways were hot and humid probably because the hallway units were not operating ( looked damaged) on 5th floor. Staff were friendly. I recommend finding another place and have this as a 3rd option.

Posted by on Aug 1, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Staff was terrible

I booked a room with 2 double beds at 4pm of the same day, when we got there about 11 they gave us a king size bed. I had the confirmation email to prove it but they said tough luck, literally. Made it pretty awkward for my buddy and I who were skiing for one day... The staff was flat out rude and everything smelled like smoke. Terrible place

Posted by on Jan 19, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 23, 2016 by Manager

I'm very sorry to hear that the type of room you reserved was not available when you arrived. The only reason that we would not have been able to move you from the king that you were given to a room with two double beds would be if we were sold out of that type of room that evening, otherwise my staff would have been more than happy to give you the type of room you were requesting sir. I'm sorry to hear that you had a less than desirable experience during your stay with us and should you wish to contact me at the hotel would be happy to discuss it with you further.

3 out of 5

Great Rate - Pluses

Pros: Rate and ammenities
Cons: cleanliness
Location: Boone is amazing - There were loads of sites and great restaurants.
Great rate - facility is showing age - but the shower was hot, the bed was comfy, the breakfast was good. Didn't use the pool, but was a great addition.

Posted by , from Raleigh NC on Oct 22, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 6, 2015 by Manager

Thank you for your feedback and comments, we always love to hear from our guests. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that we will see you again soon.

4 out of 5

Better than expected, would return here!

Pros: Allowed pets! And more extensive continental breakfast options than we are used to, that was a nice surprise.
Cons: The pet fee seemed high, also considering there were additional taxes required for it. Or, perhaps it could be a refundable fee.
Location: About 5 min from App's campus and King Street, about 15 from Blowing Rock, and 10-15 from the Parkway. Plus tons of great restaurants and breweries!
This place was better than we expected for the price we paid. It was a great location for anything you'd want to do in Boone/Blowing Rock, a really nice layout in terms of being a hotel with multiple floors and internal entrances rather than a motel with external entrances, and the look and feel of the whole place was very nice and reflective of being in the mountains. Really enjoyable experience here overall. The only surprising thing was that there was a state and local tax for having a pet outside of the taxes for the room itself, but that's not a fault of the hotel's.

Posted by , from Raleigh, NC on Sep 23, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 24, 2015 by Manager

Valerie, Thank you for your comments and feedback. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Baymont Inn & Suites in Boone, NC. We do have a pet fee but it is a one time fee and it is per stay not per per pet. Please come see us again the next time you are in Boone!

1 out of 5

Overbooked!!! Never got to stay there!!!

Pros: Lobby was nice
Cons: Customer service, maid scheduling.The guy at the desk said they had probably did the routine where they do the whole floor by task rather than by room
We got to the hotel around 2pm on Saturday 9/12. Check in is officially at 3pm. I thought well maybe they will go ahead and check us in so we can get to our reunion by 3. The girl at the desk said it would be a few minutes before we could check in they were still cleaning the rooms. We waited about 15 then I asked if she could go ahead and check us in and just let us pick up our keys when we returned later that night. She said she couldn't give us keys but she could hold the room with my card until we came back later. We came back in about 10:15. She said they were overbooked and that she was sending us to another hotel. I asked about my holding the room earlier and she said it was internet overbooking and that we would be sent to a sister hotel of equal or better quality. We were sent to the Sleep Inn about a mile down the road. I have no complaints with that hotel other than I would have preferred a hot breakfast ie eggs and bacon or sausage rather than just the cold cerelas, fruit, pastries and instant oatmeal/grits. My concern is that both hotels ran my card for the room. I'm guessing that the Baymont Suites charge will be reversed but I would think at the very least I would have been given a deep discount and not charged the same rate for a room that on-line doesn't cost what the room at the Baymont Suites charges. Very disappointed with the reservation, the hotel not honoring my hold when I was there in person the same day and not being given a discount for moving.

Posted by , from Wirtz VA on Sep 14, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 18, 2015 by Manager

Teresa, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry for the confusion and miscommunication regarding your reservation and your room here and I most sincerely apologize for all the trouble. This is most certainly not typical of our hotel. All charges from our hotel will be reversed to you.

4 out of 5
Pros: Easy in and out.
Cons: More ventilation in the pool area.
Location: We visited Tweetsie Railroad and several gem mines while in the area. Also, zip lining.
Hotel under renovations but was very serviceable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Easy to get around. Also enjoyed the pool area!

Posted by , from NC on Aug 1, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 18, 2015 by Manager

Becki, Thank you for your feedback and comments. We always enjoy hearing from our guests. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and am please to be able to tell you that our renovations are now completed! We hope that you will come back to see us again at the Baymont Inn in Boone.

1 out of 5

never stay at this hotel, dirty

Pros: not a thing,
Cons: replace staff and clean entire hotel, fix pool and hot tub, hire someone to work the breakfast area, be in the breakfast area during the ENTIRE time.
Location: snow skiing, Grandfather mountain, downtown Boone,NC
checking in was at 3pm and we were told no rooms were ready and with traveling with 2 kids made this unacceptable, our room was not ready until after 6pm. when getting into my room I found dirty towels from the guests before us on the bathroom floor, I contacted the front desk and was told they have no more rooms and they could give me my money back and I could check out, the issue was, every room in Boone NC was sold out, I had no choice but to stay, The pool was nice but the hot tub was dirty, the water had a yellow tent and the jets were broken, the water in the pool was warmer than in the hot tub. when we arrived down for breakfast in the morning, there was no one working this area, all the tables were dirty, I had to clean my own table off. 90% of the food was out, no orange juice, no cereal, waffle mix was out, banana's war so green they were uneatable. I have never been so disgusted about a hotel and will never stay at another baymont again, in fact I will not stay at a wyndem property.

Posted by , from South Carolina on Mar 2, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 21, 2015 by Diane

Thank you Daniel for leaving us your feedback. We use these as learning tools and see where we need to improve. We would love to hear more about your stay with us.

3 out of 5

A Place to Spend the Night

Pros: It's convenient to the App State campus.
Cons: If nothing else, switch to all non-smoking. Parts of the hotel are just musty.
Location: Good location for driving in Boone and App, but the entrance is poorly marked. There is little within convenient walking distance except 1 restaurant
The hotel is showing it's age, and in the competitive Boone market, that's not a good thing. Bathrooms need updating, carpets need to be replaced. Our bathroom needed a light switch replaced, the toilet sounded like a cannon when flushed. The bed was comfortable and the sheets clean, but the base sheet didn't fit the mattress. "Free breakfast" was the usual unimaginative fare, and with just one waffle iron and one microwave, lines were the norm.

Posted by , from Raleigh on Nov 10, 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 20, 2015 by Diane

Thank you for your feedback, we enjoy hearing from guests to see how we can improve and better train.

2 out of 5

A Trip to the Highlands

Pros: It was close to the shuttle buses that we used to attend the Games
Cons: New mattresses, more attention to detail on the part of the housekeeping staff
Location: Beautiful area, Grandfather Mountain and Appalachian State are nearby.
We traveled to Boone to attend the Grandfather Mountain Highland Games. We stayed at this hotel based on previous stays at this chain. Travelocity site did not tell us that their pool and spa were out of commission (which our grandchildren were counting on). The beds were old and uncomfortable, housekeeping was slipshod, and it simply was a disappointing stay.

Posted by , from Jacksonville NC on Jul 15, 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 17, 2015 by Diane

Thank you for your feedback. We use everything our guests say as learning tools to help improve

About the Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near App State

Location 1075 Highway 105, Boone, NC 28607

Property Features

Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near App State offers its guests an indoor pool, a children's pool, a spa tub, and a fitness center. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. There's an onsite 24-hour business center. Free breakfast is served daily. Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near App State also features a picnic area, coffee/tea in a common area, and a fireplace in the lobby. Free self parking is available. This Boone hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 96 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Children's pool
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking , Free parking nearby


  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near App State offers 96 accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. This Boone hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; local and long-distance calls are complimentary (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Long distance calls (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily from 6 AM to 10 AM.

Nearby Activities

An indoor pool, a children's pool, and a spa tub are on site. Other recreational amenities include a fitness center.


If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21


  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.


  • Pets: USD 50.00 per pet, per stay
  • Maximum 2 per room (weight limit: 30.00 lb)


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 50.00 per pet, per stay

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Baymont Inn Boone South
  • Baymont Inn Hotel Boone South
  • Baymont Inn Boone App State Hotel
  • Baymont Inn App State Hotel
  • Baymont Inn Boone App State
  • Baymont Inn App State

You should know

  • Pool access available from 10 AM to 10 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.