Ratings based on 321 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Banbury, England.

A noisy hotel with a sleepless night

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: The historical atmosphere
Cons: Soundproofing to bedrooms.
Location: Set in beautiful countryside, conveniently close to Bath for visits. (Use the Park and Ride At Odd Down.-free parking).
We were in an annex across the road from the main building, in a ground floor room. This is next to a busy road junction. The continuous traffic noise made sleep impossible until about 1:30am. The company needs to spend some money on effective soundproofing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chattanooga TN

Great historical experience!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Location: It was a bit further from Bath than I expected. We drove our rental car to a park and ride about 20 minutes was and caught a bus int the city.
The George Inn was more than we expected in every way. The historic atmosphere and character was very pleasing. We arrived late in the evening as the pub was closing so we did not get to enjoy an evening meal or a drink but the breakfast was fantastic. I would strongly recommend staying at the inn more than one night if possible.
5 out of 5
by Darren

Great location and service to boot!

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
The George is a wonderful historic building to experience. The service throughout was great and we were looked after from the minute we walked through the door. Lovely accommodation, clean & tasteful. Food was great with a good choice and a wide choice on the breakfast menu as well.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

wonderful stay!

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Expedia
Wonderful historic pub, fabulous room, great food and atmosphere, helpful friendly staff, close to bus stop to Bath. Really enjoyed our stay. Many Thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Vermont

Historical inn a few minutes drivie from Bath

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Expedia
The pub has been serving beer for over 700 years and has a lovely garden with a nice view. It is located in a small hamlet about 5 minutes drive from Bath so it was good we had a car. The nearby town of Bradford on Avon is great to have dinner in and there are castles nearby as well.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Close to beach and restaurants. Small room.

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Expedia
Our room was super small and the bathroom even smaller. But clean and friendly people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from british columbia., canada

Great Place To Stay

Posted May 24, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: The history and architecture as well as the picturesque countryside
Cons: Breakfast scrambled eggs were horrid!
Location: The surrounding area is so beautiful!
Interesting old hotel. Staff were good. Bed and pillows were very comfortable and nice bedding. Room was very clean. Views from outside garden are spectacular!
5 out of 5
by Phil

Historic sleepover

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Genuine historic inn, sloping floors spiral stairs, artefacts; great ale, great food. Stayed in the King Charles room - cosy and comfortable. Take the trouble to visit the church just down the cricket field from the hotel - magnificent angels in the nave's roof. Not even locked at 9pm - lights came on automatically!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from London

They stuck us in the Travelodge opposite

Posted May 1, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Staff, and restaurant
Cons: Don't assume moving people to a completely different lower standard room in another building for the same price is acceptable. It is not.
Location: Lovely old village a few miles outside bath. Hotel (if you get to actually stay in it) looks over an old 16th C church and green.
It's hard to review the George Inn as a hotel because they stuck us in the charmless Travelodge-alike across the road called 'The Plaine' without any warning. So imagine booking something ancient, historic and characterful, full of beams and crooked floors and then finding yourself in a modern, plain, tiny bathroomed, new build interiored box of a room. Extremely disappointing and a rummage through Tripadvisor shows others were similarly disappointed. The room we got should have been advised in advance and the room rate adjusted to half what it was. The staff in the hotel were lovely and the breakfast and restaurant were also great. But we were conned and misled about what we'd booked. Let the booker beware is my advice.