Ratings based on 57 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Good Place To Be

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Very clean place.
Cons: The hotel advertised its casino, but it there was no casino in site. I was advised that the casino will be back in operation within a few months.
Location: This hotel is in the heart of the area. Tons of shopping and eating choices.
I loved this hotel. Everything from the food and drinks are great. Be sure to make your dinner reservations each day before 8:00 am. The "mess hall" food tastes good as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for your review. We are constantly working towards providing our guests a memorable and enjoyable experience. We apologize about the casino but we are certain that the next time you come back you won't be disappointed. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A traveler from New Jersey

Great all-inclusive resort!

Posted May 15, 2016 on Expedia
We had a great time at Occidental. The hotel was clean. The pool and beach are beautiful. We would love to go back again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Aurelia Croes / Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Emily, Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcome you back anytime soon in the near future. Occidental Grand Aruba Management
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Long Island, NY

Great all inclusive hotel. Nice beach and pool.

Posted May 4, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The employees, the proximity of the beach and pool. Availability of chairs and lounges at both. Food was overall good.
Cons: Open the Casino. More nite life.
Location: During the day various island trips. Beach and Pool
Staff all around was excellent. Very attentive and personable. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Aurelia C. / Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Eileen, Thank you for your review. At Occidental Grand Aruba we are constantly working towards improving our premises and our services. The casino is currently under renovation and we hope to have it open and operational very soon in the near future. Once more thank you for your review.Warm regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Brooklyn, NY

condition of the hotel

Posted May 2, 2016 on Expedia
I purchased deluxe Oceanview room, when I arrived the staff have the view to the pool. I changed the room times as one had a pool view, the next one had a leaking ac, the 3rd room smelled terrible. overall almost everywhere there is a smell of mold. the renovation of the upper floors was going on. it was inconvenient. the food was okay. yes the plus was the beach, that was very close to the hotel Next time when i am at Aruba I won't stay in Occidental Grand Aruba
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2016 by Aurelia C/Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Galyna, Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. At Occidental Grand Aruba we take great pride in providing our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience. We apologize that there was some problems with your room assignment. We are working diligently in improving our facilities and that can sometimes bring some challenges. We hope you will reconsider and that you will give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future to show you the new improvements. Warm regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
4 out of 5
by A traveler from LI, NY

Nice all inclusive hotel on Palm Beach

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Expedia
Have been several times. Found out it was bought by Barcelo since my last visit. Some changes made with more to come according to those with whom I spoke. Hope Barcelo doesn't change it too much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Aurelia Croes / Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dee, Thank you very much for your review. At Occidental Grand Aruba we pride ourselves in providing our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience and we intend to keep it that way. With the transition to Barcelo you will experience only improvements and we look forward to welcome you back soon to share these with you. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
4 out of 5
by A traveler

frrat vacation

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Expedia
Hotel management and front desk staff were fantastic. They let me extend my stay free of charge because I was 3 days late getting there. Very rare for an all inclusive. Bartenders and wait staff also very nice. Food at buffet was good and excellent at restaurants. Nice clean beach and pool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Aurelia C. / Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for your review. At Occidental Grand Aruba we pride ourselves in providing our guests with a memorable and enjoyable stay and wanted you to experience this too by extending your stay. We look forward to welcome you soon back to our island and resort. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Expedia
Hotel was nice, however, food was just so so, and they never told us about the restaurants. We picked this location due to being an all inclusive and having 5 restaurants. The breakfast & lunch were always buffet, and when we went to sign up for dinner we were told we could not get into 2 of them due to closings. The internet that we paid for in our room was spotty at best. However, the beach was wonderful and our rooms was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Aurelia C. / Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review. At Occidental Grand Aruba we pride ourselves in providing our guests with a pleasurable and memorable experience. We apologize that you wee not able to experience all of our restaurants due to scheduled maintenance to the restaurants. Regarding the internet service we will have the provider look into that. We hope that we can welcome you back soon in order for you to enjoy all our restaurants and other facilities. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Staten Island, NY

Close to perfect for regular folks like me!

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The hotel staff is amazing - genuinely kind and considerate. The hotel itself is clean and neat and well taken care of.
Cons: Much like my last review of this same hotel - it would be ideal if they served more than one kind of beer. Also, the casino was closed - bummer.
Location: Prime location - smack in the middle of the strip so you can go left or right and be at a different bar, hotel or restaurant in minutes!
This is my third time staying at the Occidental Aruba in 2 years. It's a great place to sit back, relax and enjoy life in the moment. It's not fancy or stuffy - regular people stay here and know how to have fun. The swim up pool is fabulous (though can be dangerous if you don't watch how much you are drinking and you don't re-apply sunscreen lol). I went with my best friend and my guess is that the median age is 35/40 (I'm 53) - I saw young folks, older couples, families (some children but not the annoying kind) and everyone was soooo nice. It's a slice of heaven right here on earth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Aurelia C. / Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jay, Thank you very much for your review. At Occidental Grand Aruba we pride ourselves in providing our guests with a memorable and pleasurable experience. We think we nailed it with you. We do offer a variety of beers at our bars at an upgrade, so you might look into that for your next trip. The casino is under renovation right now and we hope to have it ready and running soon. It would be our honor to welcome you back soon to our hotel. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Expedia
Food was great Top shelf liquer Beach was great I liked it all
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Aurelia C. / Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. At Occidental Grand Aruba we pride ourselves in providing our guests with a pleasurable and memorable experience. We look forward to welcome you soon back to our resort. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Expedia
Love the warm welcoming from Renato and everyone else at the dining rooms. Wish my stay was a little longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Aurelia C. / Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for your review. We agree that our Renato is very warm and welcoming. We look forward to welcome you back soon to experience our hospitality. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management