Ratings based on 781 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Bronx, NY

Everything Nice

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: The staff in this hotel was overall GREAT!
Location: Easy to get to. You can walk or take cab even public transportation. My experience in Aruba was very safe and very easy going. I was very pleased.
I truly enjoy my experience at the Occidential Grand Resort in Aruba. I had a great time there. My five days went well and was very relaxing. The employees on and off the resort were very nice and helpful. I will be making another trip there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bronx, NY We truly happy that you've enjoyed your experience, five well and very relaxing days and that you had a great time at the Occidental Grand Aruba resort. We would like to thank you for taking your time to post your review. That our employees on property and off course also the ones off the resort were very nice and helpful. That's what makes us the One Happy island Aruba. We will waiting to warmly welcome back on your next trip here. Hide
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New York

We had a great time at the Occidental.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Overall, a great facility, kept clean and the staff has an excellent disposition.
Cons: The check in process was a complete mess. But, to their credit. It was a huge rush of people checking in and checking out. Otherwise the rest of the s
The hotel is a fun place. Full of daily activities planned. The staff is attentive and always happy. My girlfriend and I went with 4 other couples and we were all very happy with the Occidental Experience. The food at all but one reataurant was excellent. First time at an Occidental and will be returning. The room was spotless and nicely furnished. The facilities are excellent. Truly a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for such a great review we are happy to read that you have enjoyed the time you have spend here with us and hope to see you again soon on your next vacation to the happy island of Aruba
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from c

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Expedia
The staff was great and willing to tell you and help you in anyway with anything you needed on or off the premises. The building needs some upkeep but overall I would recommend Occidental to anybody who is staying in aruba
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for recommending our resort. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we are currently working on many project to improve to overall look of our facilities. Regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Aruba Trip

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The Beach.
Cons: The hotel is older and needs some repairs.
Location: We were right across of all the stores and venders.
We didn't receive a ocean view room. Had to complain until they finally gave us a new room. The room upstairs from ours air conditioning was leaking water into our room filling the light fixture up and causing the circuit breakers to trip. The hotel casino was dead, there wasn't any action. We went to the Hilton and that place was busy and fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Roger We would like to sincerely apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your recent stay with us. We can assure you that your feedback greatly helps us to improve our products and services. We sincerely hope you can provide us an second opportunity in the near future. Regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
3 out of 5
by A traveler from pittsburgh

occidental grande..all inclusive

Posted May 31, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: the location was great..right in the middle of the shopping and eating area and the beach was great
Cons: a lot actually..the internet policy is a joke in this day and age..see above..the excercise room was bad..if all machines worked would be ok
Location: shopping and plenty of restaurants if u want a break from the hotel
i booked a deluxe ocean view room.upon check in there was only a view of the ocean if u leaned out over the balcony..we paid an extra 600 dollars to upgrade to an acceptable room with an ocean view from the actual room..bad way to start.we got up at 615 am every day to get acceptable pool chairs.no way around it if u want good chairs.we only ate at the buffet so thats all i can review.breakfast was same every morning.standard breakfast fare.eggs,omelets,bacon,pancakes etc.luke warm at best but not bad..lunch we ate at pool.same everyday also.burgers,hot dogs,etc.dinner was a different theme every day.they always have spaghetti as an alternative.mexican,asian,continental,italian,steak,were all different themes.average dinner.we actually went across the street to eat one night.didn't use room service.internet is absolutely ridiculous.free for one device in the lobby for 1 hour a day.the catch is it has to be the exact same hour everyday.who even thought of that..20 bucks a day if u want to buy it.quality of internet was ok..excercise room was a joke.3 of the 6 cardio machines didn't work.and they couldn't fix them they said because the manufacturer had to do it.dumbells were ok.staff was ok also.overall a 3 star resort.location is excellent.time share people bug u all the time..just lie and say u already own one and they leave u alone.stayed a week and had a pretty good time because beach is phenomenal and they do give u free rafts which was nice touch.wouldn't stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by Guest Experiene Manager, Hotel Management
Dear roger Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. First of all, we want to thank you for naming Jessica and the good service she provided. However, we would like to sincerely apologize that your experience at our resort was not up to you expectations. We have noticed that your room category was a deluxe room, but you were upgraded to a deluxe ocean view. The construction of our hotel provides a partial view of the ocean from both every room. Some rooms overlook the ocean with the view of our neighboring hotel, and the other side overlooks the ocean with a view of the pool. We have taken note of the issues you had in your room, and can ensure you that the necessary measurements are being taken with our maintenance and housekeeping departments. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our main buffet underwent a complete renovation and our guests are very happy excited about the new changes. We would once again like to thank you for your review and ensure you that your feedback greatly helps us to improve our services. We hope you give us the opportunity to show you our improvements in a near future! Regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Mahopac, NY

Nice place; walk to plenty of shopping & nightlife

Posted May 31, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: I liked the value, being directly on the beach and the all-inclusive concept.
Cons: Rooms could be modernized, the Wi-Fi, since expensive, was slow and unreliable & staff could be friendlier. Pool/beach waitress service would be nice
Location: Great area, very safe feeling at night on street. Plenty of shopping, nightlife and all price restaurants within walking distance if you so choose.
Overall our stay was good. The value was good but the room was small, though included many creature comforts. A/C was inadequate, barely keeping the room cool. Good variety of restaurants and the food was pretty good, except the Sushi, which was fresh, but only offered Tuna & Octopus (seriously?). Staff seemed tired and bored, not really indicating "One Happy Island" as Aruba describes itself, but was not rude. Pool area could have been kept cleaner, but was not distasteful and there were plenty of chairs. Sports and other activities were fine and the beach was beautiful. The in-house nightlife / shows was amateurish, bordering embarrassing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Barry Thank you for your review. your feedbacks greatly helps us to improve our products and services. Hope to see you soon on your next trip to the island of Aruba. Regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from ny

Wonderful Aruba vacation

Posted May 30, 2015 on Expedia
This was our 2 nd time visiting Aruba. We stayed at same hotel as we did 5 years ago. The hotel has not changed at all and could use an upgrade . Paint and wallpaper needs improvement. Doors were difficult to close and loud. Bed was super comfortable. Staff was extremely nice and helpful! Food was excellent!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear anniversary Thank you your second visit to our hotel. We are currently working on various projects to improve our quality of services. Hope to see you soon on your next visit to the island of Aruba. Regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New York

Great Hotel, close to beach.

Posted May 29, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: All inclusive.
Beautiful honeymoon, staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We would like to thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your honeymoon here at our resort We hope to see you soon on your next trip to the island of Aruba Regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new Jersey

Beautiful getaway

Posted May 21, 2015 on Expedia
Aruba is a beautiful place! ! Occidental is a nice hotel . If you have the money stay at the Royal club, I did it and it was so worth it. When you get there you go straight up to the nine floor to a private check in!! dining is way better. You get first choice for reservations to their specialty restaurants,room service, your room is cleaned twice a day!!. For breakfast you go up to the restaurant in the nine floor with a beautiful view to the ocean!!. If they don't have what you want at the buffet they will make it for you. If you go to Aruba the Royal club at occidental is there way to go!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking part of our survey. Thank you for the great review of the Occidental Grand Aruba resort & Casino. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon on your next trip to the beautiful island of Aruba. Cheers, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Occidental vs. Riu Palace Aruba

Posted May 21, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: it was in aruba
Cons: Food in general and the buffet was tiny with not much to choose from
My husband and I stayed in Aruba last year at RIU Palace and this year we stayed at the Occidental with the kids. Since we only had the RIU to compare it to, this is our conclusion.... We found that the beds at the Occidental were much more comfortable than that at the RIU however we saw that the RIU was closed for renovations, hopefully they are replacing their beds :) The food buffet at the Occidental was very small in comparison to the RIU and we were not impressed with what the Occidental had to offer. I think they had rice and beans every day with not much more selection on top of that. When we stayed at the RIU, the food buffet was huge with lots to choose from and the food was good. Overall, the staff and the facility just did not compare to the RIU Palace. If and when we go back we will be booking the RIU again. We had a chance to check out the RIU's new resort, Adults Only Antillas... it's BEAUTIFUL :)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not manage to fulfill your expectations of us. We can assure you that changes will be made based on the feedback provided us Sincerely, Occidental Grand Aruba Management