Ratings based on 820 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Mediocre

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Housekeeping staff was very nice and tidy. Fairly well kept hotel.
Cons: List of things included and excluded from 'all-inclusive' package both on the website and at hotel. English speaking staff. Airport pickup.
Location: Justin's ATV was right down the street The only decent breakfast spot I found was Salt and Pepper. Baby beach and the natural pool far but cool!
Very average hotel. Our first night, a group of us pointed to our "all inclusive" wrist bands and asked for several different drinks, Captain, Budlight, Cuervo. The guy said he only had some crappy aruban beer and well liquors. We handled it for a little then went out on the town slightly upset that we'd be losing out on the whole concept of all inclusiveness. Next day at the pool bar, the bartender says he has all those drinks. Not the end of the world but frustrating that staff didn't tell us to change bars or anything of the sort. Confusing and frustrating. This continued in small ways. We had no hot water the second day, told staff in the morning. Went out the whole day, came back and turned on the water...cold. Went down to the desk, different lady and asked if anyone came up to the room. She had no clue. Sent someone up an hour later and it got fixed. Food was ok. Some days it was fresh and good, other days it looked and tasted like it was leftover from the day before. I asked the front desk about a good place for breakfast on the island, she didn't have a single suggestion, she called over the bellhop, who also didn't have a single suggestion. I walked away going uuhhhh ok. Also, your front desk staff should speak fluent english at a resort like this. I'm fine with maids, security, even bartenders speaking little-to-no english, but the front desk?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2016 by Gueste Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your feedback is a jewel to us. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have send your survey to the management team who will sure implement changes based on your recommendations. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Boston, Ma

Do Not Stay Here

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The only bright spot was the kind kind woman who checked us in and out. Interestingly this was not a surprise to her at all.
Cons: Everything....or list this hotel as 1-2 stars because thats realistically what it is.
This was by far the worst hotel I have ever been to. I checked in and checked out within 3 hours. Its dirty, the amenities are poor, the facilities are run down, even the beach chairs were horrible. There is not enough seating for all the guests so you best be comfortable standing around. There were files in my food, theft itself was cold and sort of congealed. The drinks are served unman cups, you will need to bring your own full size cup if you want to avoid a trip to the bar every 10-12 minutes.The hallways and elevators are not air conditioned so imagine 2500 sweaty people when its 85 degrees outside-smells awful. Most of the restaurants are ala carte so don't expect anything but the buffet to be included in your all inclusive price. Oh and BTW - i was staying in the "royal club" which is extra. I can't imagine what happens when you are just a "regular guest"
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Melissa, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Boston, Massachusetts

hotel needs updating

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: the staff
Cons: rooms, buffet, casino, lobby bar needs to be enlarged
Location: location was fine
room had a musty odor, bathtub was disgusting, air conditioning poor-couldn't get new room until the next day. Food in the buffet was cold, although the Caribbean & Italian restaurants were superb. Staff was friendly & accommodating. Casino was disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Don, Thank you for submitting your post. We are glad to inform you that our resort is now being updated. Thank you for sharing the exceptional services that our staff offered to you. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the Caribbean and the Italian restaurant. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. We hope to welcome you again to our resort in the near future! Sincerely, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
2 out of 5
by A traveler

mediocre

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Expedia
The trip was saved by the beach. The welcoming committee was poor. Then, the room has a musty smell, and the floor was wet. When it comes to first impression, it was unimpressive compared to other resorts in the area. The food was okay; however, it was very unappetizing when you see flies flying around in the buffet area. It did not really matter in my case but free internet is only available in the lobby for one hour. Thus, this maybe inconvenient for some. Massage prices are ridiculously expensive . To be fair, almost all staff were friendly, and attentive. The resort was in great location. The mall was walkable, and restaurants, bars were just across the streets. The beach was great! The resort can use some renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We would like to thank you for submitting your review. While we really wish you had a better experience, it saddens us to read that you've encountered this inconvenience while you stay at our resort. It is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We would like to inform you that we are refurbishing our property to offer our hotel a higher quality of service. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have sent your survey to the management, who will sure implement changes based on your recommendations. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

All Inclusive hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: It was right on the beach, and it was a very nice beach, with the pool being adjacent to the beach. Very convenient in that regard.
Cons: They need to do something about their food on the buffet. They need to update their facility a little. It was outdated; not dirty, but outdated
Location: Our stay was short, only 3 nights, so we did very little "off site".
Typically we do not like "all inclusive" as we don't like buffets. This was okay. The buffet, both for breakfast and dinner, was terrible. Food is overcooked, both at the breakfast buffet, and the 2 nights we ate dinner. DId not have a chance to try the other on-site restaurants, as our stay was short, and when we called for a reservation they were all booked. So, that was disappointing. Also, for the price of an all-inclusive resort, we did not have wifi included. Guess we weren't on the upper floors enough for them to include in our level room. This also was disappointing, as the price for wifi access is expensive at this hotel, and I could not communicate easily with home. Overall, I give this resort a middle of the road rating, a 2.5 out of 5. Our reason for booking there is that our friends were getting married at this resort. The wedding was beautiful, but again, the food was not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with the food that you have encountered at our buffet restaurant and the disappointing with the dinner reservations. I would like to take the opportunity to inform you that our hotel is being refurbished. Thank you for sharing your experience tat our resort. Our management team will sure implement changes based on your recommendations. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from New Jersey

All Inclusive is a great value.

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: All inclusive
Cons: Less noise.
Location: Great location, near many shops and restaurants.
Hotel is nice, food is okay. Beach is clean. Pool is small and has a lot of activities, not very relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2015 by Guest Experience Mnanager, Hotel Management
Dear Chrissie, Thank you for submitting your post. We can assure you that the management team will sure implement changes based on your recommendations. Thank you for sharing your experience about our hotel, the food, the beach and the pool activities with us. We would really like to welcome you again at our resort and show you the improvements at the resort and delight you with our exceptional service. Warm regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from LI, NY

10 year Anniversary Aruban Style!

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The restaurant options were amazing and the food was very good and fresh. The bars were good. well kept grounds/beach access and pool
Cons: Had to call down for washcloths several times which was annoying.
Location: the location was good. Was good to be able to get a tour of the town from the ground transportation on the way to the property. Bustling on main road.
My hubby and I were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and we were greeted with a letter that entitled us to Breakfast in bed and a chilled bottle of bubbly in our room. The room was nice and had a great view of both the pool and the beach. Beach Access was wonderful. Figured out very quickly that we had to get to the beach early to secure a Palapa, which we did day two. Enjoyed the hammocks and comfy outdoor beds. Loved the on-site casino and availability of non motorized sports. Hubby and I did kayaking for the first time. Great shared experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear SRW, We would like to thank you for sharing your great Experience at our resort. On behalf of the Occidental Grand Aruba Management team we would like to send you our belated Happy Anniversaries. The management team will sure implement changes based on your recommendations. We are very pleased with your Anniversary vacation and great experience. We hope to welcome you again to celebrate many more Anniversaries at our resort. Warm Regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from atlanta

Average for a mid priced all inclusive

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Expedia
Don't set the expectation bar too high and you will be fine. Food was OK in buffet. The Oriental and Italian were excellent but hard to get reservations once we arrived. The Mexican restaurant food was good but took 2 hours for apps, dinner, dessert and drinks. Service was even worse at Caribbean Desire. The drinks at pool bar are very watered down but hit the spot on a warm day. Best bar is in lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear White sox fan, Thank you for submitting your post. It saddens us reading that the quality of the resort did not meet your expectation. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have send your survey to the management who will sure implement changes based on your recommendations. I would like to inform you that our resort is in remodeling process and we can assure you that we are implementing changes in the services and quality of hotel. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again to our resort and offer you the improvements and exceptional service that we work hard to provide.Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from OKC

Terrible hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Expedia
We stayed there for 10 days. Moved 4 different times from one room to another. Not being able to unpack fully and to move your own luggage a from floor to floor was not very fun.. It prevents you from enjoying the beach and makes you hang out in the Lobby more than anyone would like to! The pictures for the rooms ARE NOT correct! Please review that very carefully!!! I was amazed as to the amount of people also complaining about their room. Seems we weren't the only ones with problems with their hotel rooms and service. We didn't receive our chocolate covered strawberries, nor our welcome drink... But truthfully that didn't matter anymore after spending days bouncing from room to room. I don't plan to ever go back to this hotel nor recommend anyone. It was terrible to say the least.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, We would like to thank you for submitting your review. While we really wish you had a better experience, it saddens us to read that you've encountered some unwanted drawbacks. It is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have sent your survey to the management, who will sure implement changes based on your recommendations. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Philadelphia

Best beach location. Wonderful service. Good food.

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: I liked the beach location, good food, and great entertainment.
Cons: The casino needs remodeling.
Location: Best location on beach
I arrived with multiple leg fractures and wore a soft cast. I was given the use of a wheelchair for my entire stay. Everyone did their best to make me comfortable. All the workers were very caring and pleasant. The nightly entertainment was excellent. I recommend this hotel to everyone seeking the best beach location, combined with good food and entertainment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sylvia, Thank you for submitting your post. We are really happy you experience the exceptional service our team provides to our guests. Thank you for your recommendations. We hope to welcome you very soon again to our resort! Sincerely. OGA Management.