Ratings based on 127 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Loved it!

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Close to beach; Amazing food; Strong drinks!
Cons: Entertainment.
Location: Shops just outside the resort as well as nightlife. ATVs were a blast and the beach is perfect!
The resort is beautiful and the beach is amazing! If you are looking for a wild time, this is not the place for you. The beach is peaceful and quiet. Some music may have been nice but I just brought my Bluetooth speaker. Make sure you get your chairs by 7am or you are out of luck. The palapas and little tables are great and there are plenty rafts daily. Take a catamaran ride for free with your all-inclusive package! Jared, our guide, was amazing! We were able to book dinner reservations same day and the food was AMAZING! Even the buffet was above what we expected. Fresh fish and so much to choose from! It would have been nice to have a restaurant open for lunch (all of them are just dinner outside of the buffet) but we didn't mind. We visited all of the restaurants during our stay and I have zero complaints! The bar on the beach had Jack Daniels, which made my husband happy, but I would have liked to see Bacardi and a top shelf tequila. Even still, the drinks were good and not watered down. Some of the bartenders could have been a little more excited about their job, but they we were always able to get a drink in a timely manner. The room was nice, always clean and stocked daily. The only complaint I have about this entire vacation was the entertainment and wifi. The shows were not much more than what you would see at a high-school. The free wifi you get in the lobby is one hour, every 24 hours. We will go again!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Good Place To Be

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Very clean place.
Cons: The hotel advertised its casino, but it there was no casino in site. I was advised that the casino will be back in operation within a few months.
Location: This hotel is in the heart of the area. Tons of shopping and eating choices.
I loved this hotel. Everything from the food and drinks are great. Be sure to make your dinner reservations each day before 8:00 am. The "mess hall" food tastes good as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for your review. We are constantly working towards providing our guests a memorable and enjoyable experience. We apologize about the casino but we are certain that the next time you come back you won't be disappointed. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by A traveler from ny

Wifi,

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: More international drinks
Cons: Wifi
Location: Riu hotel
Work terrible Need router to each room, this not cost allot of money
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Oleg, Thank you so much for writing us a review. We have taken notice of your suggestions regarding the drinks and your note about the Wifi. this service is from an outsourced service, however we will forward your concern to the service provider. We look forward to host you again some day in the near future. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
4 out of 5
by A traveler from North Carolina

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Hotel was great. Great staff, they were always friendly and willing to help you out.
Cons: There was construction going on and Casino was closed but it didn't interfere with our exciting vacation.
Location: Location was excellent. It was within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Couldn't ask for a better location.
First time in Aruba. We had a great time and I couldn't ask for a better vacation. We did couple of excursions and the drivers were excellent. Shout to Chico at DePalm Tours. Safety - We felt very safe walking around and it doesn't compare to other places we've been to. I would recommend Aruba to anybody, great for families.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Thank you so much for your review. At Occidental Grand we take great pride in providing our guests with a wonderful and memorable experience. We look forward to host you again in the near future. Management Occidental Grand Aruba
5 out of 5
by A traveler from RIDGEFIELD PARK, NJ

AMAZING HOTEL!

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: EVERYTHING. IT WAS VERY EASY TO MAKE RESERVATIONS FOR DINNER EACH NIGHT.
THIS HOTEL WAS AMAZING. STAFF WHEN ABOVE AND BEYOND TO MAKE SURE WE HAD AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE. FOOD WAS EXCELLENT. THE ROOMS WERE CLEAN, COMFY AND QUIET. WILL BE BACK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to host you again in the near future. Management Occidental Grand Aruba
5 out of 5
by A traveler from virginia

4th visit at this hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The shower has been modified to where you don't have that 3 foot wall to climb over to get in.
Cons: Comp me a few days. lol
Location: Easy access to the night life across the street and just a walk to various beaches
We just left from our 4th visit at this hotel. We enjoy everything about this hotel and look forward to coming back in october. The staff is very friendly and i can tell the new owners are taking pride in the hotel by all of the renovations taking place. The hotel isn't too big and everything is easily accessible. We have never had a problem with the room or any staff at this resort. I guess you can't please everyone based on some of the negative comments on here. Keep up the good work guys. We are counting the days down to our visit in october.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Aurelia Croes / Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and we really look forward to be able to host you again in the near future. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Baltimore, MD

Excellent Honeymoon

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Wish I could give this resort even higher ratings! We chose the Occidental Grand Aruba for our honeymoon. We stayed at the resort the first week of May and we had a incredible week from the moment we checked-in. This resort thrives on honeymooners and is super accommodating to make sure you have an unforgettable experience. We selected the "Grand Romance" package when we booked, which included champagne in our room, breakfast in bed, private beach dining experience, beach massages, and most importantly... honeymooners t-shirts! The concierge even provided complimentary Wi-Fi. The resort has a variety of dining options to fulfill most appetites. Each night we made reservations for different restaurants. They have Italian, Mexican, Asian, and Seafood restaurants. The Palms is the dining restaurants with buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you go, please look for Renato! He was the friendliest and funniest person we met. Lucky for us we also had him as our servers for our private beach dinner. He really made our trip unforgettable with his positive attitude and angelic voice (yes, he sang to us every time we saw him!). The Occidental Grand Aruba exceeded our expectations and we cannot wait to return for an anniversary trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, On behalf of the whole staff and Management of Occidental Grand we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure and an honor to have been part of such an important event in your life and we look forward to host you again for your next anniversary celebration. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
2 out of 5
by A traveler from New Jersey

Wanted to love it...but

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Expedia
So this was the 3rd time I've stayed at this hotel and it has been at least 10 years since the last time I stayed here and the hotel looks like it has had zero maintenance in 10 years. I remember having such a great experience here but unfortunately the places looks like it's falling apart at the seams. I was very disappointed with the food at all the restaurants. The breakfast and lunch buffets were full of subpar food. The best thing at breakfast was the egg station. It just seemed like the buffet options were an after thought. The beach was great though and kept clean. The pool area was kept clean as was the pool water. Not the same place I remembers it was unfortunately.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Aurelia Croes / Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear FebruaryMom, First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time and for writing us a review. At Occidental Grand we take great pride in providing our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience. We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations however we would like you to know that we take your comments very seriously and are diligently working on your comments. At the moment we are working on the face lift of the resort and we would love you to come back in order for us to show you the new improvements. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
3 out of 5
by Rhonda from Indiana

Nice hotel, but go elsewhere food & free wifi

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
This was a nice resort with very courteous staff. However, the casino was not open, the only free Wi-Fi is one hour per day in the lobby, the food in the buffet was well below average. It was difficult if not impossible to get reservations at the all-inclusive restaurants. Therefore, we had to spend additional money to eat out every night! What a BIG disappointment! Not worth the money!! We went to the sandbar one night and were back at the hotel by 1:20 AM. We were looking for food, and even though the bar area was supposed to have snacks from 10-2, it was closed. The lady at the front desk advised that we go to the hotel ACROSS THE STREET and ask their front desk for crackers! She indicated that they gave away all of their food. No snack machines on sight. How do you have an all inclusive that doesn't even provide food?!! Drinks at the pool bar were watered down. The pool area was well kept and fun during the day with a DJ, etc. - but that doesn't negate all of the other shortcomings. I won't be choosing this place again...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Hotel Management
Dear Rhonda, On behalf of the staff and management we would like to thank you for taking your time to write us a review. The casino is indeed closed for renovations and we hope to have it open an operational very soon. The Wifi servce is from an outsourced company that charges for the services however we do offer free Wifi in the Lobby Area one hour per device on a daily basis. We are sorry we have not met your expectations and have forwarded your comments to the concerning department in order to take corrective actions. We apologize for any inconveniences these may have caused you and we look forward to be able to host you again in the future to provide you with a wonderful experience. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management
4 out of 5
by james

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by Aurelia Croes, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you so much for your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back anytime soon. Kind regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Maagement