4.3 out of 5

"This hotel is very nice. It's also easily located right across from the Central Station, so if this is your first visit to Amsterdam, as it was mine, ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 25 Nov 2016

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam puts you in the heart of Amsterdam, within steps of Sexmuseum and St. Nicholas Church. Highlights at this hotel include 2 restaurants, 2 bars/lounges, and an indoor swimming pool.

Flat-screen TVs with cable channels are featured in all 306 soundproofed rooms, and you can enjoy free WiFi, coffee/tea makers, and safes. Minibars provide refreshments, and 24-hour room service makes dining in an option. Premium bedding and down comforters invite a comfortable night's sleep, and you'll find nice touches like designer toiletries. Hair dryers, phones, and desks are also available.

The restaurant, Park Plaza Brasserie, serves international cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Lobby Lounge is the hotel's own cocktail bar, serving drinks along with light fare. 7050 square feet (655 square meters) of event facilities include 10 meeting rooms and conference space, and other business amenities include a business center. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a fitness center, and a coffee shop/café. Buffet breakfast is available daily between 6:30 AM and 10:30 AM. There's also the convenience of valet parking.

Sights within a 10-minute walk of this 4-star Oude Centrum hotel include National Monument and Madame Tussauds.

Superior Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$189 per night

Executive King Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Superior King Iconic View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Superior Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5

Disappointing.

Pros: Very close to train station.
Cons: Outdated decor, old stained carpeting.
The staff was nice, but my room was dismal. The price was way too high.

Posted by on Apr 9, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 16, 2017 by Social Media Coordinator

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am dismayed to read that you are disappointed about your stay. It is a pleasure to read that you do believe our staff is nice, but I regret that your room was not according your expectations. For future references, I do kindly advise you to always contact us if your room is not according your expectations, so we can take proper actions and move you to a different room, if available. Hopefully we may welcome you again do we can show you the level of services and standards you may expect from us. Sincerely, Marieke

5 out of 5

Excellent Amsterdam Hotel

This hotel is very nice. It's also easily located right across from the Central Station, so if this is your first visit to Amsterdam, as it was mine, this is a great place to get yourself settled and figure out where you're going. The City can be a little confusing at first, but everyone at this hotel was so helpful and friendly, and this is a great place to have as a central location. The front desk staff, the concierge, and the bar staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. It's also a beautiful hotel, and has been updated really well. My room was huge, and the architecture is older which is what makes it charming, but all of the amenities were up to date. Very, very nice. My only tiny, tiny issue was that when I first arrived, the bathroom had a sort of damp smell, but the door was closed and after I opened it up and aired it out, the room was great. Very nice.

Posted by , from New York, NY on Nov 25, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 7, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator

Dear Corey, Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to learn that you have had a excellent stay in our hotel. Your compliments are highly appreciated and shared among our teams, thank you very much. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon in Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam. Kind regards, Marieke

5 out of 5

Great Location and Staff

Pros: Location and staff were the best.
Location: All the usual sightseeing and shopping areas were right there or a short walk away.
Picked this hotel strictly due to location, since it's the end of a 3 week trip around Europe and we wanted to simplify things for our last 4 days. Close to cruise ports and next to the metro/train/bus station and in the heart of the sightseeing area of the town, it was a perfect choice. Expected it to be noisy due to where it's located, but really had no outside sound to speak of in our room. The staff was super helpful during the stay and the concierge staff (Igor being one) really helped us get around the countryside on our own without paying for expensive 'tours'. Will use that hotel again!

Posted by on Oct 10, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 14, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. It is a pleasure to learn that you had a great stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon in Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam. Best regards, Marieke

5 out of 5

Great Hotel

Pros: walk in shower, air conditioning
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: convenient to tram line...tons of restaurant options.....convenient to tour pick up place and dropped us right in front of the hotel......
This is the very best hotel I have stayed in while in Amsterdam so far. On the corner of the main street which leads to Dam Square and the Central Train station. The breakfast was so hearty that we didn't even need to eat lunch. We booked in advance daily and got it for 17 and 19 Euros....the selection was awesome...our room was comfortable with a walk in shower, two twin beds and air conditioning that I ended up have to turn off it was so cold.....the staff was phenomenal, very friendly...Concierge service was awesome....I would recommend anyone stay there......it's so convenient to everything.

Posted by , from Wiesbaden Germany on Jun 30, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 5, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator

Dear Vicky, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us. It was a great pleasure welcoming you and making your stay a pleasant one. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon! Hospitably Yours, Marieke

5 out of 5

Very Centralized and Convenient Location

Pros: See above
Location: The location is directly across from the train station. There is a place for great crepes called 'Pancakes'. Lots restaurants nearby.
The hotel staff was very accommodating and professional. I ate breakfast a few times for their buffet and unlike other reviewers did not find it expensive. If you travel a good amount, and enjoy a healthy breakfast and variety, then the price is very reasonable. I usually skipped lunch and then ate a late dinner. Ask the front desk for a discount the evening before for the brunch and they will provide you a coupon. They will charge your room so use the coupon. It was great to walk out the hotel right to tram stops and easy walking to almost anywhere. I travel in the US for business a lot and was very impressed that security called my room to check if I was okay as my DND sign always stays on my door when I stay at hotels. The shower water was always hot enough with good pressure, the beds comfortable, and it was quiet. I did not hear street noise and my room faced Central Station which is beautiful to see all lit-up at night. I would stay here again most definitely and recommend to anyone. One negative was the one night I decided to have dinner at the hotel after a very long day of hours and hours of walking and it was 9:45PM. The waitress (server) was very rude which surprised me. I asked if they were still serving and she seemed put-off as they closed at 10:30PM. It was expensive and the lamb was okay. She was scarce and I needed more water. She is the only hotel staff who was rude. I am very pleasant - always. Her problem not mine.

Posted by , from Austin, TX USA on Jun 29, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 5, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator

Dear Cindy, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to read your wonderful feedback and recommendation and it is a pleasure that we were able to make your stay most pleasant and enjoyable. I have also shared your feedback regarding your late night diner with our F&B Manager so he can take proper actions, and I do apologize for the inconveniences caused. We hope to welcome you again soon in Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam. Warm regards, Marieke

4 out of 5
Very closer to the central station and shopping area.

Posted by on Jun 16, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 21, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your most recent stay with us. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed our wonderful location which is indeed perfect to explore Amsterdam. It was a pleasure welcoming you and we hope we may welcome you again in the near future in Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam. Hospitably Yours, Marieke

4 out of 5

Great locàtion

hotel was right across from train station and centrally located to everything. We were able to take train to airport. Nice size rooms and reasonably priced. Concierge helped us with reservations for sights and recommending restaurants. I would definitely stay there again.

Posted by , from Los Angeles, ca on Nov 8, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 19, 2015 by Social Media Coordinator

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences regarding your most recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to read all of your compliments, which I have shared with our entire team, and is highly appreciated. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam. Kind regards, Marieke

4 out of 5

A bit old, we were upgraded once we got there. For some reason there is netting covering the building.

Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, close to public transit
Excellent location. Across from train station, all the trolleys begin their routes in same area so you can get anywhere in the city easily. Very easy walking to many of the major sites from the hotel. Lots of inexpensive, good places to eat. We didn't eat in the hotel, too pricey. Concierge services excellent. We got our museum tickets at the hotel - no service fees - and walked into all the museums without waiting in line. A great service.

Posted by on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

A pleasant and convenient hotel.

I've stayed at the Park Plaza on most of my visits to Amsterdam. The proximity to the train station, the canal boats and most of the sights of Amsterdam make it an ideal location. The buffet breakfast is excellent and not too pricey, even for those on a budget. The staff is very professional and helpful. The pool is not spectacular, but a refreshing convenience nonetheless. Surprising in this day and age, the internet access is only through an ethernet cable, which makes it relatively inconvenient. How quiet your room is depends on whether you choose the older front section (noisier if the windows are open) or the newer "garden section".

Posted by , from Sacramento, CA, USA on Nov 15, 2011

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

We were pleasantly surprised.

Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
The Hotel was very centrally located,about a 15 minute ride by taxi from the airport.We walked across the street to catch our train to Germany. The food included for breakfast was good, and the room was nicely furnished with antique looking furniture and the bedding was clean and fresh. The bathroom had been updated recently and the hotel staff all spoke english and understood english very well.We could walk to the Red Light District in about 5 minutes and catch a boat for a ride down the canal right across the street. Shopping and good resturants all around us in all directions. We stayed at 4 other hotels across Europe and this was by far the best for our dollar. Great Hotel!!!

Posted by , from Washington State on Sep 20, 2011

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Location Damrak 1-5, Amsterdam, 1012 LG

Property Features

Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers its guests an indoor pool and a fitness center. There are 2 restaurants on site, along with a coffee shop/café. You can unwind with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges. WiFi is free in public spaces. A business center and meeting rooms are available. Event space at this hotel measures 7050 square feet (655 square meters) and includes conference space. Spa services, tour/ticket assistance, and multilingual staff are also featured at the eco-friendly Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam. For a fee, parking is available. This 4-star Amsterdam hotel is smoke free.

  • 306 guestrooms or units
  • 7 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • 2 dining venues
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • 10 conference rooms
  • 7050 sq ft of conference space
  • 655 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1890
  • Coffee shop
  • Business facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Laundry facilities
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Valet parking (surcharge) , Offsite parking discounted rates available

Transport

  • Airport: Amsterdam (AMS-Schiphol) (23.3 km / 14.5 mi)
  • Train station: Amsterdam Central Station (1.1 km / 0.7 mi)
  • Metro station: Amsterdam Central Metro Station (0.3 km / 0.2 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking and self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and laptop-compatible safes. Beds feature down comforters and premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include designer toiletries, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Amsterdam hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Down blanket
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Climate control (air conditioning)

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.

Park Plaza Brasserie - This restaurant specializes in international cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Open daily.

Seasons Garden - This restaurant specializes in international cuisine and serves breakfast only. Open daily.

The Lobby Lounge - This cocktail bar specializes in international cuisine and serves light fare only.

Vics - Onsite bar.

24-hour room service is available.

Nearby Activities

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or near the hotel; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby

Spa Services

  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

If you are planning to arrive after 8 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for EUR 125.00 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property / stay dates).

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Breakage deposit: EUR 75.00 per stay
  • A 4.7149 percent city/local tax will be charged

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: EUR 24.00 for adults and EUR 24.00 for children (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: EUR 55.00 per day
  • Valet parking fee: EUR 30.00 per day
  • Rollaway bed fee: EUR 125.00 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Amsterdam Park Plaza
  • Amsterdam Park Plaza Victoria
  • Amsterdam Victoria
  • Amsterdam Victoria Park Plaza
  • Park Plaza Amsterdam
  • Park Plaza Amsterdam Victoria
  • Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
  • Park Plaza Victoria Hotel
  • Park Plaza Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
  • Victoria Amsterdam
  • Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
  • Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
  • Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel
  • Park Plaza Victoria

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.

Awards & Affiliations

Green / Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Key (nogle), a program that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: environment, community, cultural-heritage, the local economy.

National Rating

This property does not have a Netherlands Tourist Board rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.