Ratings based on 292 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Great pool, bad location, fire the decorator!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Despite being told on the phone that the Rio's pool would open for the season during the second week in March, it actually opened at the end of the week. So, on our first day we had to take the hotel shuttle to Bally's to access a pool. Though having that option was helpful, the extra running around wore us down. In general, having to shuttle to get anywhere tired us out and prevented relaxation. However, once the pool opened it was incredible! Sand beach! Waterfalls! Three hot tubs! Highly recommend. (Pro tip: We discovered that none of the pools checked room keys, so you could just head to the Rio for the pool and stay someplace more convenient). The bizarre Cosby-sweater meets Donysian decorating scheme was truly bizarre. However, the room was clean and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

Smoker's Paradise

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Once inside Rio's large Convention facilities conditions were smoke-free, and meeting rooms / ballrooms / accommodations were good.
Cons: Changing the Culture. Money can't buy class.
Location: Rio is out of the way. Took a taxi to anywhere I wanted to go.
My "non-smoking" room and walks to Rio convention wing was a step backwards to the atmosphere of a 1970s cheap tavern. Heavy cigarette and cigar smoke permeated my hair, skin, clothes, burned my eyes, and even gave me a nose bleed. Smokers threw cigarette butts onto the floor and ground them into the carpet with their heels. No class here unless you're a beer-guzzling, high-rolling gambler, chain-smoker -- and the days of good food in Nevada for attractive prices won't be found here; unless you're OK with a $48.78 (before tip) Room Service charge for breakfast of two scrambled eggs, sausage link, potatoes, toast, juice, and coffee.
3 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Portland, OR

Meh

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Resort fee of $28 per night not included in the room price. At check in, I was told they didn't have our room, and then eventually got the room originally reserved. EVERYTHING is a surcharge, even coffee in the room. What seemed like a good deal ended up costing more. Spend a little more and go with a better, newer hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Best room ever

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Everything
Our room was up graded to a sweet I have never had a room so nice anywhere. It was very clean. The bathrooms were so large and had a jacuzzi tub.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Birthday Trip

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: I liked that the rooms were large and the free shuttle from to the strip.
Cons: Everything needs improving. This hotel is old and very outdated.
Location: This hotel is located off the strip, but there is a free shuttle that will take you to the strip.
This hotel is old and is in need of major upgrades.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

In town for a convention.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Fun atmosphere. Convenient shuttle service to the Strip.
Location: Close to small ethnic restaurants.
Great fun. Multiple restaurant choices. Very convenient as the convention was at same place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was excellent...wait line too long.
Cons: More check in people
Location: Gamble, restaurants, shows
Nice accommodations. Rooms very nice. Check in line way too long-30 minute wait!
2 out of 5
by A travelerfrom the Carolinas

The room furniture were old and dirty

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Entertainment, slots machines, restaurants.
Cons: Quality check rooms to ensure furniture clean,window treatments not broken. Nonsmoking rooms are nonsmoking to include the halls
The room were ok, somewhat disappointed of my stay at this hotel--past visit were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom lancaster ca

Very nice.. very roomy..very comfortable..

Posted Mar 24, 2015
I loved everything about it ...i could be locked down in it for a few days w my husband... the one thing i can only complain about is the shower curtain it smelled a little but i know its not something to dwell on...expecting to go back in a few weeks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
28.50 a night resort fee is the highest in Vegas, other than that loved it