Ratings based on 9 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LaLasPeoplefrom Florida, USA

The entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly

Posted Oct 11, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, very clean, very helpful friendly staff
Cons: can't think of anything!
My husband and I came to Washington, DC for a medical appt. The Topaz Hotel and all of its staff went out of their way to help my husband with his walker and to make sure that he was comfortable and able to get to his destination. The room itself was a terrific find! Very clean, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was small but there was an adjacent dressing room complete with full length mirror and dressing table with mirror, and with plenty of room to stow our luggage and his walker, as well as various other bags. We would definitely return to this hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BillyRayintheGA

Comfortable stay - I will return

Posted Nov 21, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: no coffee maker in the room.
Although I was only here less than 12 hours, I was very comfortable and felt welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by sabasfrom Portland, OR, USA

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Posted Nov 15, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: Poor breakfast
This is a great place to stay and is in a good location. The rooms are nice and fairly spaciuos for a hotel in a large city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

Always Enjoyable

Posted Apr 22, 2010
We stay here every time we come to DC. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and pleasantly decorated. The location is terrific...close to the Metro and a major thoroughfare, but on a very quiet street. In fact, the entire hotel is also quiet, which is great. I can't imagine who would be sad enough to eat in a hotel restaurant in a city filled with good restaurants just outside the front door (unless it was Citronelle), so giving a hotel 1 star based on that seems extremely silly. We've never had problems with the service, but we ask very little out of hotel staff besides the basics. Valet service, housekeeping, etc have always been fine, people at the front desk are always nice.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Topaz Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2008
It was a relaxing experience, staff was friendly and helpful. They welcomed you back every time you left the building..Rooms were roomy and tastefully decorated..Extra clean. Good location and not far from metro.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 4, 2007
This hotel is in a great location on N St. and fairly close to a Metro stop. Felt pretty safe there and it was a great room. I only had to talk to the people at the front counter a few times and they were very helpful and friendly. I was able to check in a few hours early too. The only complaint was that it was a bit pricey. I had never been to DC before, so I didn't know a good place to stay. \nThis is a good place to stay, but check prices first.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Good hotel, horrible restaurant

Posted Nov 10, 2006
While the the location and the ""theme"" of the hotel are nice, the staff are in need of a refresher course in hospitality. The front desk was fine and knowledgeable enough. However, dealing with the service staff in the hotel restaurant/lounge was terrible. Not sure if it's under different management than the hotel, but its restaurant portion is certainly not up to the hotel's service level.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice hotel, horrible service

Posted Oct 26, 2006
Had typically been a fan of Topaz. However, after they overcharged my credit card I contacted the manager who indicated he would correct the problem. After several weeks of waiting, no credit appeared on my account. Called the manager again -- still no response. Contacted Kimpton headquarters -- no response. What a horrible way to deal with customers - if this is the Kimpton standard I will never stay at a Kimpton hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

I'm in the mood

Posted Jun 8, 2006
Very relaxing hotel. Wonderful staff. Excellent location. I had lived in DC years ago and wish I knew about the offerings on this street...a great restaurant right across the street (the Gates). Also the bar was fun. Starbucks just down the street. Loved the free New York Times on Sunday.