Ratings based on 30 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
2.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by brickpf2010 from Hyattsville, MD

the Hotel is beautiful!

Posted Feb 13, 2011
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
My husband and I stayed AT THIS BEAUTIFUL Hotel for two nights and we loved it! People treated us very well and the bell man were really kind and helpful. I will definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SFearthquake from Boston, MA

I had a good nights sleep, what more can one ask for!

Posted Feb 8, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
I travel a lot for business, so check in, customer service, room size, location, etc all matter to me. It was an easy process and a good night sleep overall.
2 out of 5
by evirtuality from Chicago, IL

Decent low-to-mid range hotel, with a fine location, when the air conditioning works.

Posted Feb 7, 2011
The hotel is reasonably convenient for tourists; it is only a few blocks from both Georgetown and stops for the tourist buses, The rooms are good-sized with traditional furnishings, although somewhat dimly lit. We visited during a heat wave (90+ degrees every day), and the air conditioning was out of order the entire time (4 days). The staff offered portable fans and, eventually, free ice cream in the lobby, but that was scant consolation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bettylu from Ohio

Great location and service

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Located on edge of Georgetown, walking distance to sites and/or subway, staff very attentive, restaurant excellent breakfast,
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Location is nice...that's about it.

Posted Dec 14, 2010
First the pluses....this hotel has a great location. Steps from the metro station as well as Georgetown. Now the minues....everything else. The hotel is in abysmal condition. The staff were friendly and helpful but I have to say that the condition of the hotel was beyond overlooking. The minimal food that we at from room service was just as bad...nothing redeeming about staying here other than location. Pay a little more and stay in a hotel where you won't feel like you're going to "catch" something.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

quaint but not all much else

Posted Oct 19, 2010
Stayed March 09-business trip was very quaint staff were great location perfect-Food pricey-But I would more than likely stay there again as long as my job paid for it- If I had to I would probably pick somewhere else- The carpet was worn drapes old
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

Family Vacation

Posted Apr 11, 2010
We were very happy with this hotel. Great location ( easy walk to subway and monuments, and Georgetown shops and restraunts), very friendly staff, and large rooms. Bed was comfortable. AC was out when we checked in, but Hotel gave us free breakfast and internet service and offered free ice cream in the Lobby. We have stayed in DC before, and this was the most friendly and helpful staff we have ever seen. I would stay here and recommend it to others.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Think again

Posted Apr 9, 2010
This hotel needs some major TLC. Good location, but management needs to make an investment in general maintenance. A bit dowdy and drab. On last stay there was no air conditioning during the hottest April on record. All they offered was free breakfast and internet service, no discount.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Melrose Hotel Washington DC

Posted Oct 23, 2009
We loved the Melrose, there were 4 of us ....2 rooms each with 2 beds the staff were pleasant and helpful the hotel is in agreat location we got full breakfast and it was great hope to visit again sometime and we all enjoyed the city so much Wahington DC is very beautiful doesn't feel like a city more like a park with all the wonderful flora
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Two star at best

Posted Oct 22, 2009
I had seen this place touted as a four star property and actually is would struggle to be a 3 star property and is probably closest to two. While the employees were nice, there weren't necessary a lot of them, which is one of the biggest differences from a higher rated property. The restaurant, bar, room service, etc. all seemed to be short staffed to everything seemed like an ordeal. The room was pretty but definitely in need of some reinvestment of $$. Carpeting worn, curtains had stains and worst of all, although I didn't see any mice, there were certainly "remnants" of mice that they had been there....YUK. The hotel seems to be in a "no mans land" between Georgetown and the rest of the city. Since then I've done the research and there are comparably priced hotels in better, more convenient locations.