Ratings based on 63 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by Bjramfrom Washington, DC

Verbally abusive doorman

Posted Aug 13, 2013
You would think that an Irish hotel would be hospitable but not the case with Phoenix Park Hotel.  The doorman/bellman, Charles, was mean and rude. Was spitting angry with me; literally, spit was flying out of his mouth. All over a miscommunication about parking. He started yelling at me as I entered and followed me into the lobby still verbally abusing me. I was traveling alone, so after my run in with Charles, I didn't go to bar as planned, instead I stayed in my room afraid to cross his path on the way.  I immediately emailed the hotel from my room and the next morning reported the incident to the front desk staff, asking them to please make sure the manager saw my email. They assured me they would make sure he saw it.  The general manager, David, has not replied to my email so he either doesn't care or his staff didn't share the email with him.  I visit DC often but will not return to the Phoenix Park. 
4 out of 5
by alyse5387from Los Angeles, CA

Super Comfortable Beds

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Short review: Hotel rooms are very small, staff isn't reliable, rooms are clean and in good condition with a good location, and they had the most comfy beds I've ever slept in. Good if you plan on spending almost literally no time in your hotel.  All-in-all, this hotel is just fine. Nothing spectacular, the staff is not attentive and the maid was kind of rude, the room was extremely small and the tub didn't drain correctly. No counters in the bathroom (with 4 people was a nightmare), no dresser space and limited hangers in the closet (that would be fine if the room was a bit bigger, but many times we were stumbling over things.) However, I will say that the beds are the best hotel beds I've slept on, and all 4 of us had 2 pillows with extra in the closet if we needed. Since we spent most of our time out of the hotel, it was fine that the room wasn't 5-star. We had 4 adults in the room, and I wouldn't want to have stayed in there more than an hour or two a day.  The hotel didn't have our reservation when we arrived, they had us arriving the next day. That was upsetting, 2 of us had to sleep on a pull-out bed. Sure the suite was cool, but again, we weren't there but to sleep so the pull-out bed was disappointing. We did get breakfast vouchers, so I'm not wholly disappointed with them but the point is to do it right the first time, isn't it? We had to move rooms (obviously) and were told that since we would be out all day, a bellman would place our things in the new room for us if we packed everything up and our keys would be ready for us when we arrived. The gal at the desk, however, didn't write any of this down, didn't put it into the computer or talk to the bellman on duty. Big surprise that none of it happened and we had to do it ourselves.  The maid was rude, she complained to us about having to move our stuff to make the beds. The room was so small there wasn't anywhere we could have put our things that was out of the way. Period. There was no dresser and barely any closet space and 4 adults with a full week's worth of things, where, prey tell, should I put my suite case so that you're not inconvenienced?? 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by seriomswfrom Laurel, MD

Beautiful Historic Hotel!

Posted Jun 2, 2013
My wife and I had our wedding reception at this beautiful hotel in May of this year. The staff was wonderful to us and our guests. The rooms were beautiful! The views were fantastic. Just a short walk to the Capitol and Union Station right across the street. Our wedding coordinator, Tracy Zahn, was amazing. Our wedding reception and our stay at the Phoenix was everything we ever imagined. They made such wonderful memories for us. If you are having a wedding or an event, Tracy Zahn, makes you feel like you are her only priority. She is passionate about what she does. Our guests just raved about the food. Everyone who works on the catering/event team really took care of us and our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 4LoveofArtfrom New York, NY, USA

Terrific, atmospheric hotel in a highly convenient location.

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: one channel on the tv didn't work
We were very enthusiastic about the Phoenix Park, which combined charming details--it is not just another plastic businessperson's hotel--with modern conveniences. The bed was comfortable (and because it is high off the floor, a footstool was thoughtfully provided). In the closet were bathrobes, extra pillows, two suitcase stands, an iron, and even an umbrella. The bathroom was up-to-date: I loved having the option of a tub, and the shower had an extra-large head. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Five minutes from Union Station; about fifteen from the National Gallery. We're going back: We already have our reservations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by fellowwanderersfrom Lanesville, IN 47136, USA

Great location, great staff

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, convenient to metro and circulator
This is an old hotel, a bit down on it's heels, but nonetheless gracious. The rooms are small. The staff is friendly, helpful and eager to please. Overall, this is a charming fine old hotel from a bygone era.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Room Small

Posted Mar 21, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: Noisy
Me and my girlfriend stayed for the weekend, it was in a great location to even walk to the monuments which we did, service was okay other than the valet driver not being able to take my car keys out of the ignition and making me walk a block to get my keys (he wouldn't listen to my directions about making sure the car clicked into park) and the bed took up about 85% of the room so there wasn't much to do in the room then shower, change and sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by There4businessfrom Massachusetts

Small rooms, awesome location, great staff.

Posted Mar 16, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
I stayed here because of the price and the location to Capital Hill and all the museums and monuments. I arrived early (about 11am) and was able to check in early. The proximity to everything was fabulous. The bathroom was normal/comfortably sized. The bed took up 75% of the room I had, the desk and the chair took up 20% and the remaining 5% was open space. The bed was super comfortable and I didn't even notice the tight quarters. I was able to use the free wi-fi to get some work done and watched some tv on the large flat screen mounted to the wall at the foot of the bed before going to sleep. The staff was incredibly prompt, friendly and couldn't do enough to help me out. The Irish Times is right next door, Union Station is just about across the street and their are numerous places to eat nearby as well as the restaraunt in the hotel. I'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Xosgulfrom Abroad

Old School Warmth

Posted Oct 23, 2012
Pros: comfy arm chair!
I had a very comfortable room overlooking the museum. The room had a comfortable arm chair, which was a nice touch. The bathroom was large and clean. There was a hotel restaurant and an Irish Pub next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014
We are delighted that youi appreciated our classic style and our excellent Capitol Hill location. Thank you for your visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Xosgulfrom Abroad

A comfortable old-school hotel.

Posted Oct 9, 2012
This had an old-school feel to it and I mean that in a positive way. Everybody working there was very pleasant. Comfortable room that included an arm chair. Good location near Union Square. There are two "Irish Pubs" nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014
We are delighted that youi appreciated our classic style and our Dubliner Pub. The team here joins me in saying thank you for your visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Reese124from Dc

Great location great staff cute hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
The hotel is in an amazing location, right off the metro in downtown. He staff holds the doors, takes your bags, and is prompt and polite. The hotel beds are plush and the decor is beautiful. It is a great historic hotel. It is very nice after a busy day to get a drink at the dubliner downstairs too. I felt safe an loved it! We stay there everytime we visit dc
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014
We are delighted that youi appreciated our classic style and our excellent Capitol Hill location. Thank you for your visit.