Ratings based on 12 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Amanda882234

Great location and very cool hotel.

Posted Jan 16, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
We stayed at the Monaco for a wedding and it was great. The rooms were very architecturally unique and the hotel's amenities were really nice. The staff was very helpful and professional. The location. Was perfect for walking around and within steps of the metro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by juulonline from Denmark

Super Service, great rooms

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
A spectacular hotel, with a lot of atmosphere. The reception staff was extremely helpful. Was even able to borrow 2 bikes free of charge. Did not eat at the restaurant, but sure looked nice.. Overall the location is super, close to the mall, white house etc. The hotel comes highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Excellent Experience.

Posted Aug 11, 2010
From our arrival to departure, the staff and accommodations were exceptional. I was greeted by a smile and sometimes by name at every encounter with a staff person; even my dogs were greeted with pleasure. Upon arrival we were offered an upgrade at no charge.. a very pleasant surprise. The hotel was well maintained, the rooms stylish and comfortable. The building has quite a history and I loved the architecture, especially all the marble steps. The front desk staff took a personal interested in what we had seen and offered suggestions for our next day agenda, they provided free tickets to some events and were readily responsive to all our needs. The location was perfect, medium and high cost dining available within a few blocks, a nice little jaunt to the Mall. Overall, I was very thrilled with my experience and will definitely stay there on my future visits. Regarding pets, the hotel was wonderful with my dogs, but keep in mind that area of Washington DC itself did not seem very pet friendly. Minimal outdoor dining available and no actual dog parks in that immediate area. Brueggers bagel was a great stop on the way to the Mall. Ella's pizza was great, seafood place 2 blocks away began with a Mc something was the best dining experience. The Chophouse was our worst experience; filet was just average, service poor. The hotel lobby had complementary drinks from 4-5pm ? every day and ice cold tea and lemon water during the noon hour which was very refreshing as the temps were in the 90s.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

We LOOOOOVED this Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2010
This location cannot be beat. Easy walking to anywhere. The Smithsonian Portrait Museum is directly across the street which I thought I would hate and it ended up being my favorite Smithsonian. The Metro is across the street. Lots of wonderful restaurants all around. The staff is composed of over-achievers. As in, "oh, you want flowers? I will pick them up on my way to work from Whole Foods". That kind of over-achieving. Over and above. It is an old and interesting, very DC-ish hotel. Room service is lacking. It took 3 hours to get a well-done burger for a teenager on a Saturday night but the hotel manager on duty comped wine and did his best to stay on top of the kitchen to get the burger. The failure was solely in the kitchen. The experience ended up being a blessing in disguise because that experience prompted us to eat all other meals at the nearby restaurants instead of our usual method of having room service for every meal. Everything you need is right there. A CVS pharmacy, A great Spanish Tapas restaurant, Fabulous Mexican food (not the Tex-Mex one), the kids were insane over the Red Velvet Cupcakery across the street, a Farmer's Market on Thursdays. Perfect location.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Very Nice!!!!

Posted Nov 20, 2008
My son and I stayed here for four nights. This is a great place. It's centrally located, clean, and the staff were all very helpful. We will stay here again on our next trip to DC. The room had everything we needed and more. Even the samples in the bathroom with first class.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Swanky

Posted Aug 15, 2008
typical kimpton hotel in great location, innaugurated by President lincoln, so you could say it is old. odd shaped room, but medium to smallish, nice 42 inch plasma, but no HBO, leopard robes and impressive minibar/mini mall. In the middle of everything touristy.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Incredibly Happy with my stay

Posted Feb 18, 2008
I stayed for the weekend with a friend and had a great stay! The staff was very nice and attentive, very welcoming. The wine reception is a great idea and the gentleman serving the wine was polite and kind. The National Mall is only about 4 blocks away. We were abel to walk everywhere. Many great restaurants in the area and Metro station is just across the street. The room was a little small but very clean and modern. Loved the bed and the high ceilings. I would recommend the Hotel Monaco to all my friends.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Hotel - Great Location - Worth staying!

Posted Aug 26, 2007
we decided to give this hotel a try. I have nothing but good things to say! X, the hotel concierge, was very knowledgeable and very friendly and helped us out tremendously. The room was the average size of a hotel room, but with the high ceilings, it was hardly noticed at all (we weren't in the room that much anyway). Daily complimentary coffee in the morning is a plus. The managers evening wine tasting/reception was perfect - and they kept our glasses full the whole time. The business center was a little disappointing ($* for 15 minutes of internet access) since you could not charge your business center computer use to your room (credit card required, so I had to leave the business center, get my credit card and come back) but I was able to log on and check email while in for vacation. The hotel does offer free wi-fi, but I did not bring my laptop- my fault! \n \nThe hotel is right across from a Metro stop, so location is great. We were a short walk from the National Archives, and the other museums as well. Many places to eat at nearby, including Teaism - which you must try! There are "greasy spoons" as well (the Waffle Shop) and another place called the 8th Street Deli. We love to eat breakfast, so these 3 choices were outstanding. \nOverall - I really like this hotel, and would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Hit and Miss

Posted Jan 15, 2007
The hotel is very close to the mall and monuments, and the train across the street was convenient. Going two blocks in the wrong direction leads you into a bad neighborhood. Staff were not knowledgeable at all about anything tourists would want to know; they had no recommendations about restaurants, did not know about a closed museum. Rooms small but clean. Wine reception was nice. Restaurant was overpriced and service there was so-so. Area kind of shuts down over the weekend; it was difficult finding a place to eat.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

A unique hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2006
Cute hotel in a convenience location right across from metro station & museums. Friendly staffs allowed us an early check-in & provided us with a free D.C. Map. Very unique & colorful decorations throughout the hotel. Room size is above average hotel. Complementary Coffee/tea in the morning & wine ,olives & nuts in the evening. Definitely I will stay there in the future.