Ratings based on 15 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel, close to Dupont Circle

Posted May 25, 2015
The bed was very comfortable. The hotel had nice features like fruit-infused water in the lobby, a yoga mat and plush robes in the room. The staff was very helpful, giving us up-to-date information on public transit options. The "free Internet" isn't - it's included in the mandatory "Destination fee" of $17.18/night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RonVfrom San Jose, CA

OK room, very good service

Posted Jun 14, 2013
The room is large enough, with a balcony over a busy street. It very close to Dupont Circle, many restaurants and the Metro station. The room did not have a Microwave nor refrigerator, did have nice flat-screen TV and safe. Wifi is free only if you sign-up as member. We signed-up though we are not likely to travel to DC in the future. Staff was very helpful and immediately helped us with any request. They offered to help us with a Taxi and to give us umbrellas when we were surprised by rain and did not want to go back to the room. The on-premises restaurant looks 'hip' with adventurous menu and is semi-expensive. I did not like the fact cancellation for a full refund was not possible and they charged the full stay in advance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Museumgoer

Terrific!

Posted May 28, 2011
Stylish hotel with clean and spacious rooms, attentive staff, and a convenient, quiet location. I look forward to returning.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2011
My friend and I were in DC for New Years. The staff at the hotel was great. Everyone was courteous and attentive to our needs. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. It's tough to beat for the price!
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Last Minute Weekend Getaway

Posted Nov 26, 2010
My boyfriend and I choose to go on a last minute weekend getaway and decided Washington D.C. would be the prefect destination since we had fond memories of visiting there in the past. This hotel was the prefect match. It is within reasonable walking distance to the National Mall and to many different restaurants and shops. If you need a suggestion of where to grab a meal that is close by or if you just need directions the hotel staff are very accommodating. The room was very nice and clean. The only complaints that I did have was that the TV and telephone did not work when we checked in. Thus, we had to walk down to the lobby to make the complaint since the phone was not functioning. Once the issue was brought up, however, it was taken care of immediately. The restaurant was beautiful but be forewarned that if you wish to eat there you must make reservations. When checking in we were told of the hours but not the need to think ahead. We were however able to get room service from the Firefly and found that the food was nothing less than exceptional. Overall I would recommend the Madera and would return for a future visit.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Bravo Service at the Madera

Posted Oct 26, 2009
The room was clean. Service at the hotel and Firefly was attentive, fast and helpful. We had a very pleasant stay here and both my spouse and I are pretty hard to please. Their customer service was greatly appreciated!! Keep up the great work!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Business, Pleasure...You can find it all here!!!

Posted Jul 20, 2009
I was here on business, and had plans to try to fit in some sight seeing! Well, I loved my room, which was in the front of the hotel with a tree-covered patio. It was also modern, and well-stocked. The staff was friendly, and one employee in particular went out of his way to be extrememly courteous. After coming in from a long day at a conference, I was greeted with a glass of wine! And, before I went to bed, my sweet tooth was taken care of by the cookies and milk hour they host in the lobby from 10:30pm until 11:30pm. In short, I would definitely stay here again...for business, and for pleasure!
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Location - Friendly staff

Posted Dec 31, 2008
My husband and I stayed here for 3 days in late December 2008. We usually stay in Alexandria and either drive in or take the Metro into the city. It was wonderful to leave the car in the garage the entire 3 days and walk everywhere. I felt we really got to know a little bit of the Dupont Circle neighborhood; it made our stay more interesting and enjoyable. The only 2 negatives about the hotel is that the lobby is small and dark and the valet parking is expensive ($35 a night). But our room was large, the bed was comfortable and we had a great view. DuPont Circle is a high priced area so it is understandable that the price for valet parking is higher than at other hotels.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Madera -V. nice aging a bit.

Posted Sep 1, 2008
Went to Madera 8/22-8/24. Great location -near food, shops , clubs, ect... Short metro trip to monuments and museums. Very hip-true to boutique -style. Rooms look just like online pictures -comfy bed. Cool dark finish on furniture . Wanted to take the lamps home! Some peeling paint/wall paper-robes looked a bit worn out. Place is pet-friendly but could not tell that there were pets lodging until seen at check out! The front desk staff was great. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice hotel - Good location

Posted Jul 17, 2008
The staff were friendly & helpful - room was clean & modern. Hotel location was great! Would stay here again in the future!